Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
18,747 ratings
2,760 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

RR

Apr 25, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

SH

Feb 01, 2019

All the tools required for ML kick starting was explained very clearly and it helped me a lot in building the understanding of what tools need to be learnt in the field of ML and Data Science.

Filter by:

2451 - 2475 of 2,734 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Tal H

Jan 24, 2019

The course provides some basic knowledge of the tools and platforms for a data scientist and how to technically use them. however, a third of the course is a technical guide for the use of an older version of the watson platform. basically a big portion of the course is a waist of time.

By Michael H

Jan 24, 2020

Course had a lot of content, that was great, but lessons and instructions did not match the software from IBM to be used. This wasted hours of time and added lot of frustration.

Please course owner, update these course so students can get the full benefit without wasted frustration.

By Shipra S

Jul 20, 2020

Very brief. Although it's meant to teach tools for data science but the explanations are too quick. Assignments don't really explain why we are using those commands. So many tool names to remember without any explanation and how to use them. Very dissatisfied with this course. Thanks

By Qianhe L

May 30, 2020

The videos introducing you to new tools like Jupyter and Github are SO BAD that it is basically just a man recording his own screen and rambling without a script. The video was not educational and not formal. It is worse than free Youtube videos that show you the exact same things.

By Sarvani R

Jan 20, 2020

While the course offers a good introduction to open source tools, this course and the whole specialization track is available for free on cognitive class.. And the badge issued by cognitive class doesn't say powered by coursera. So 2 stars for charging money for a free course

By Courtney M

Apr 21, 2020

This course was okay, but it definitely needs to be updated or redone. In the first lesson, there were a lot of spelling mistakes which makes me question the accuracy of the rest of the course. I did learn about the tools though, but will need to play around more on my own.

By Yoobin K

Apr 05, 2020

The content was informative. However, the page in the lecture was not updated, and it was not easy to follow the instruction since some instructions in the practice exercise was not clear enough. It will be better to have clearer, and detailed explanation and instructions.

By Jeremy H

Jan 22, 2020

First couple weeks are interesting to see but not overly useful. Week 3 videos are horribly out dated, links are none existent or not working. Website for application doesn't appear to work half the time and it can be impossible to even complete the course in full.

By Fedrizzi E

Jan 31, 2020

Material seems outdated, and poorly informative. Too many topics are just mentioned without details, which is frustrating: I got the feeling that to have a minimal real understanding of the subject I had to do a lot of personal research outside of the course.

By PETER G

Nov 27, 2019

Silly questions that is primarily throwing in negatives in the statements or trying to trick you rather than assessing skills. The course primarily shows the UIs of the tools and its scope/what it supports and very little about open source tools as such

By zhiyong w

Jan 07, 2019

It seems there is something wrong when try to get a promo code and use IBM cloud (watson studio) system to finish the assignment, which disappointed me and cancelled the rest courses. It is really a pity that I really want to learn the course .

By John L

Jun 16, 2019

Not that helpful. Too much like an an introductory article on 'data science' as well as an ad for Big Data University. 2 stars for introducing somewhat helpful tools, but this helpfulness could have been achieved in much less course material.

By Frances L

Apr 19, 2020

Very informative for someone who is looking to start writing in code. Week 3 was very messy. Nothing was where it was advised on the videos which made them very redundant. A lot of time wasting and looking at discussion Forums as a result.

By Jason L

Jun 25, 2019

The IBM platform website looks to be updated. it would help if the videos were also updated so there is less confusion for students when they try sign up for an IBM account. Looks like a few students had issues from the discussion forums.

By Saptarshi S

Nov 03, 2019

Content is pretty outdated and the user interface of the tools have changed a lot since then. Also it teaches nothing worth 3 weeks and only shows u different notebooks which could easily be taught while applying them in other courses!

By Marcelo Q L A

Dec 04, 2019

Course feels rushed and does not really provides good quality material or useful instructions other than very rapidly presenting IBM's tools. Last week evaluation is simply terrible and unfair. Other platforms should also be allowed.

By Jim C

Apr 10, 2019

This course isn't as well organized as other courses I've done on Coursera. Several of the quizzes ask questions about things that aren't covered until much later in the course. I had to skip those quizzes, then go back to them.

By Tim D W

Oct 15, 2019

Videos are out of date and hard to follow on IBM Watson Studio. You have to read though pages of comments trying to figure out each piece since the screens look completely different now. They need to update the videos ASAP.

By Megha G

Feb 20, 2019

The videos don't align with how the Watson Studio is operated. It took about 3 hours of complete wastage to get to know how the account works on IBM cloud. Kindly update the videos in accordance to the new interface.

By Xavier R A

Jul 09, 2020

It focuses too much on what IBM can offer and not so much on other, also effective, free tools that could help a data scientist, also i think this course would fit better later on the Data Science Certification.

By Oliver U

Sep 14, 2018

While the Course provided an Overview of available and popular Tools it provided Little actual experience of actually applying them and at Points almost looked like an advertisment for IBM's Cloud offerings.

By Dantuluri S V

Jul 23, 2019

I had a major problem while using Watson Studio as its interface and features are completely different from what is shown in the videos and moreover it is showing various errors while choosing a project

By Dmitry B

Mar 24, 2020

I appriciated the course in general. Nevertheless, for me the main issue was that the video lectures concerning watson are outdated. The information provided does not correspond to the real platform

By Yannick R

Nov 08, 2019

Very much feels like an IBM commercial. You HAVE to sign up for IBM's cloud service and use a clunky tool there, and on top of that the videos are so out of date that the UI has completely changed.

By Taner A

Sep 08, 2019

This is a paid course so update your videos regarding IBM Watson Studio. I wasted a lot of time to figure out the steps. Also the course is very high level and doesn't teach any practical skills.