Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
20,277 ratings
3,093 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

2401 - 2425 of 3,072 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Robert C

Feb 6, 2020

Much of this was 5-star worthy, but a new video is desperately needed, as it does not match up with the current Watson environment and creates a lot of unnecessary confusion.

By David E

Apr 9, 2020

I felt like some of the information on tests was never covered. Same is true for some modules. Overall, learned tips though. The cheat sheet for coding is extremely helpful.

By Mekebeb T

Jun 20, 2020

Not very organized course, a lot of stuff plugged in a module and because of that frustrating to learn. On the positive side, I like module 2 on Git and Jupyter notebooks.

By Nora I

Dec 3, 2018

I liked the course, a good overview. Unfortunately, I had such a hard time with the last task: not because of its difficulty, but technicalities using IBM Watson Studio.

By Jonas F

Nov 12, 2019

The data platform's name and handling has changed, which makes it more difficult to create the accounts and follow the instructions. The instructions should be renewed.

By Jakub C

Mar 27, 2020

There are some videos which are not updated and IBM Watson doesn't really work as described in scripts and videos. Project parts completely missing for some settings.

By Nelson C

Dec 9, 2020

It is a course for very beginner to know what kind of tools that they may need to use for data science. And it is also an advertisement of IBM for their data service.

By Andy C

Jun 29, 2020

I am ready to have more hands on experience, the overview of IBM products seems much to long. I would rather learn about the products doing more hands on exercises.

By Ray C

Feb 22, 2020

The Watson studio training was poor and dated. The Watson interface was poorly constructed and not intuitive or user friendly. I prefer Pycharm and Rstudio to Watson

By Prachi S B

Apr 22, 2019

It was difficult to get Watson Studio working initially. Faced many issues. And created almost 3 different accounts to get it working. Lost 3 days of time in that.

By Xiangliang S

Jul 27, 2019

The DSX video is very out-dated, I was pretty confused and frustrated while trying to follow the video guides. The R-studio map function was pretty cool though.

By Chinami A

May 8, 2019

What tutorial video shows and the user interface (IBM Watson studio) look different so that it was confusing sometimes. The tutorial videos need to be updated.

By Charles K

Apr 7, 2020

Content is good. Videos need to be updated very soon. In the middle of the course I was confused because the videos are so much different than actual websites.

By Ashish D

Dec 22, 2019

Good course.

Unfortunately none of the opensource tools are leveraged in the subsequent courses.

All the subsequent courses will mandate you to use IBM products.

By Haitham M

Feb 24, 2020

The videos are a bit outdated, especially in week 3. There is no resemblance between the current version of Watson studio and what is explained in the videos.

By Robert I

May 1, 2019

It was fun to learn new data science tools. The third week was sometimes frustrating because the course videos did not match with the layout of Watson Studio.

By Sebastian T

Aug 7, 2020

Some of the classes seem rushed, especially during Week 2. It can cause confusion and some fear to attendants. Week 3 picks up the pace again, and was great

By James P

Sep 25, 2020

It was a good basic overview across a range of topics. The assignments were very, very easy however; I don't think it was particularly challenging at all.

By Everett T

Jun 30, 2019

The instructions are not very clear and also the interface for IBM Waston has changed a lot but the videos have not been updated, which caused confusions.

By Jay P

Sep 4, 2020

The content was not so much helpful for someone who is learning the data science, Rather it was more like the pitch of IBM Watson, especially 3rd module.

By Mingshu L

Mar 22, 2020

too basic... and it's really weird that I have to submit so many times for quiz until it feels less of a learning experience but more of a bug experience

By Katarina S

Dec 8, 2019

Not all learning materials are up to date. I needed to invest significant amount of time to understand how to create New Project in IBM Watson Studio!

By Cole R M

Dec 4, 2019

A little too easy (only took an hour or two) and navigating IBM's Watson is confusing at times. Overall though, this course delivers what it promises.

By Max C

May 12, 2019

Ok intro - just light on underlying technical details and probably requires a background into coding to really get good insight into tools and uses.

By Александр А

Dec 22, 2018

Didn't like this module cause all this Open Source tools could be mentioned in 1 short video lection and then learners should learn the specific one