Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
21,038 ratings
3,238 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

Filter by:

2476 - 2500 of 3,211 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Tom H

May 11, 2020

The content of this course was quite good, i enjoyed large parts of it. However, there were quite major problems with accessing different areas of IBM Watson that weren't intuitive enough and weren't signposted very well.

By Santhosh V

Feb 11, 2021

A course that specifically focusses on IBM products. Somehow i was able to navigate with the interface but sure it could have been better. But understandable, its part of certificate and that the course is from IBM.

By Thomas F

Sep 28, 2019

Not a bad course if the student is brand new to data science / computer science / programming.

I felt I could have easiliy skipped this excepting that accounts needed to be set out for other course dependencies.

By Stamatios G

Mar 17, 2020

Although the core material is very interesting and well-explained, the fact that many of the tools needed in week 1 and 2, is making this course pretty frustrating if you don't know how to overcome this issues.

By Aowuu

Oct 26, 2018

The course are good, but in China I can't get connected to IBM Watson Studio, even creating a normal account because I can't click my account [confirm] link.

What a pity to give up my whole certificate for that.

By Julia M

Feb 6, 2020

I think that this course needs to be re-engineered. The videos are outdated and the videos jump right into the programming without explaining why you are typing out this code. It is not a course for beginners.

By Nanthakumar N

Jun 23, 2019

This course needs update. The current IBM environment and Tutorial examples are not matching and confusing. It also leads to crate multiple account with IBM.

Otherwise good intro to the tools and environments.

By Anderson F J B

Feb 4, 2019

Interesante porque dan un panorama general acerca de Jupyter, compilación y lenguajes que soporta como Phyton y R. Al ser un curso ofrecido por IBM la herramienta para las tareas es de ellos, Watson Analytics.

By David J H

Mar 29, 2020

A good overview of the various open source tools available. The videos, however, did not always match the material which made it confusing here and there. I am aware they are currently working on fixing this.

By Mitchell L

Aug 24, 2020

this course had a lot of items that I did not feel were beginner level. Most of the labs involved some coding, or language that was not discussed prior to the labs. I felt lost multiple times in this course.

By aniss L

Dec 7, 2020

Good course and training however it gives huge information about many tools, beginners could be easily lost in my opinion, the course should focus on the main data science tools such as : Python, Sql, R.

By Zareef J

Sep 12, 2020

Please try to make more details lecture on specific IBM data science tools and short brief for others rather than short brief for every tool. Six to seven week video lecture will be better in my opinion.

By Eugene N

Mar 20, 2020

I think the tutorial for the IBM watson studio needs to be updated. The tutorial was on data science experience (DSX) which isn't available on the website. This made this part of the course hard to follow

By Eduardo d M R

Jan 3, 2020

Course needs an update: still working with the old platform. It gets you confused when you log in and see that they now work with IBM Watson on one screen and screenshots of the old platform on the other.

By J. D C

Jun 20, 2019

The video lectures are outdated and are in dire need of updates. I found myself lost at times, as the current version of Watson does not match the version shown in the lectures. It was a bit frustrating.

By SHAONI C

Sep 25, 2019

videos are someway useful. But I have faced difficulty to find IBM Watson Studio. The Link that was shared in the videos are not directing to the actual watson studio link. Please add the actual link

By Daria G

Jan 19, 2021

This course is announced as a course for beginners without previous background in programming but it contains information related to the list of programmes that we are supposed to be acquainted with.

By sarella c p s

May 7, 2020

the course need to be updated. some of things are explained easily but as a beginner it takes lots of time for to understand things. It will be beneficial to the beginner's if the course is updated.

By Sanzio G N

Mar 2, 2020

It is just a marketing for IBM's cloud platform. Plain and simple. However they introduce someone who NEVER seen anything in programming to start looking for available tools. Very shallow knowledge.

By Cristhian S

Aug 13, 2019

Sometime I feel that I am lost in those videos about R and Zeppelin. One video starts doing something like uploading a file and the next one makes the overview of the tool when it should be first.

By Xin W

May 31, 2019

Introductions are quite brief and assignments are not challenging. You may need to spend quite extra time to really get to know how to use there open source tools. But still a good way to start.

By Peter F N

Aug 28, 2018

Very useful course, great way for anyone to familiarize themselves with open source data science tools. The videos are outdated, however, which made it difficult to do the assignments at times.

By AB

Jan 28, 2021

This is supposed to be a course for beginners but the amount of advanced concepts and tools they throw at you with no explanation is staggering. A pity because otherwise this could be useful.

By Rheannen M

Dec 5, 2020

I found the majority of the videos to be pretty boring. I think more practical exercises, with actual goals, rather than purposely importing or copying random code, would improve this course.

By Colette C

Jan 14, 2020

Overall, I enjoyed the course. However, the video instructions for using IBM Watson Studio did not match the updated version, thus making it a bit difficult and frustrating to follow along.