Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
20,755 ratings
3,191 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

2426 - 2450 of 3,163 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Juan D C

Sep 20, 2018

The course is OK, the problem is that IBM tools seem don't work every time. I had to open 3 accounts with different e-mails to get to work with Watson Data Studio. The videos explaining how it works are outdated and don't correspond anymore.

By Christina

Feb 6, 2021

A lot of information is thrown at you at once and really isn't explained other than that they are tools for data science. It would be easier to follow along if other random facts about them that aren't related to their purpose was removed.

By frank s s

Oct 1, 2018

I found some of the lessons hard to follow. The web page has been updated but the class has not. I still enjoyed the class and learned some valuable information but it would be nice if the data being taught was current with the webpage.

By Henrique M

Jul 24, 2020

The course did not present didactics at the same level as others Coursera courses. The mix of IBM tools for training in the same space as the service sales environment makes learning confusing. The exercises on the tools were very basic.

By Folasade O

Feb 23, 2020

Good introduction to multiple data science tools and their integration with one another .

The instructions in many of exercises are not explicit and in some cases not complete. There is a lot of room for improvement with the exercises.

By Michael P

Nov 7, 2018

The instructor could do a better job clearly explaining the topic and/or material, showing a step-by-step 'how-to' on tasks, and testing on what he teaches. There were instances where the quiz questions were not covered by his videos.

By Luis O L E F

Oct 28, 2019

In general the contents of the course are good, however, I thinkg that there's too much time waisted in promoting IBM products rather than actually teaching some more introductory things about all the tools mentioned in the course.

By Joachim A

Jan 28, 2019

Hi,

while it was good learning about the tools and platforms that exist, I was a little confused by the IBM Watson Platform that did not function that well. That was not the best experience, so I hope the creators can address that !

By Manuel S S

Jan 21, 2019

Good course to understand the tool set and learn basics. However, the site used in the course is now updated which made navigation very difficult. It would serve the student to update these videos and make the most of their time.

By Florent M

May 7, 2019

Les première semaines sont pertinentes. Le IMB Watson Studio est très désagréable à utilisé. Le fait qu'IBM soit à l'origine du cours impacte très négativement la pertinence des informations et l'utilité que l'on pourra en tirer

By Raul O

Mar 15, 2020

They information in the course is generally very useful as well as the tools introduced. However, some of the videos need to be updated to match the latest version of IBM Watson Studio and specific guidance should be provided.

By Nitin R

Nov 25, 2019

Very informative course but the instructor should update the videos related to the IBM Watson studio there is a lot of confusion as the video which are available shows the earlier version and currently the version is changed.

By Jiayang Z

Feb 5, 2019

It's like a huge advertisement class for IBM. I want to learn some really skills and theory, not how to sign up for a IBM account, which is so complicated, almost took me half hour to figure out how to sign up this account.

By Alexandra H

Dec 25, 2020

The lab videos showed an out-of-date version of Watson Studio and following along with the instructor during the Github portion of this course was very difficult. I had to go to outside resources to understand the program.

By Tom H

May 11, 2020

The content of this course was quite good, i enjoyed large parts of it. However, there were quite major problems with accessing different areas of IBM Watson that weren't intuitive enough and weren't signposted very well.

By Santhosh V

Feb 11, 2021

A course that specifically focusses on IBM products. Somehow i was able to navigate with the interface but sure it could have been better. But understandable, its part of certificate and that the course is from IBM.

By Thomas F

Sep 28, 2019

Not a bad course if the student is brand new to data science / computer science / programming.

I felt I could have easiliy skipped this excepting that accounts needed to be set out for other course dependencies.

By Stamatios G

Mar 17, 2020

Although the core material is very interesting and well-explained, the fact that many of the tools needed in week 1 and 2, is making this course pretty frustrating if you don't know how to overcome this issues.

By Aowuu

Oct 26, 2018

The course are good, but in China I can't get connected to IBM Watson Studio, even creating a normal account because I can't click my account [confirm] link.

What a pity to give up my whole certificate for that.

By Julia M

Feb 6, 2020

I think that this course needs to be re-engineered. The videos are outdated and the videos jump right into the programming without explaining why you are typing out this code. It is not a course for beginners.

By Nanthakumar N

Jun 23, 2019

This course needs update. The current IBM environment and Tutorial examples are not matching and confusing. It also leads to crate multiple account with IBM.

Otherwise good intro to the tools and environments.

By Anderson F J B

Feb 4, 2019

Interesante porque dan un panorama general acerca de Jupyter, compilación y lenguajes que soporta como Phyton y R. Al ser un curso ofrecido por IBM la herramienta para las tareas es de ellos, Watson Analytics.

By David J H

Mar 29, 2020

A good overview of the various open source tools available. The videos, however, did not always match the material which made it confusing here and there. I am aware they are currently working on fixing this.

By Mitchell L

Aug 24, 2020

this course had a lot of items that I did not feel were beginner level. Most of the labs involved some coding, or language that was not discussed prior to the labs. I felt lost multiple times in this course.

By aniss L

Dec 7, 2020

Good course and training however it gives huge information about many tools, beginners could be easily lost in my opinion, the course should focus on the main data science tools such as : Python, Sql, R.