Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
19,911 ratings
3,012 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, RStudio IDE, Apache Zeppelin and Data Science Experience. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Cognitive Class Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Data Science Experience and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

GC
Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

2301 - 2325 of 2,983 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By J. D C

Jun 20, 2019

The video lectures are outdated and are in dire need of updates. I found myself lost at times, as the current version of Watson does not match the version shown in the lectures. It was a bit frustrating.

By SHAONI C

Sep 25, 2019

videos are someway useful. But I have faced difficulty to find IBM Watson Studio. The Link that was shared in the videos are not directing to the actual watson studio link. Please add the actual link

By sarella c p s

May 7, 2020

the course need to be updated. some of things are explained easily but as a beginner it takes lots of time for to understand things. It will be beneficial to the beginner's if the course is updated.

By Sanzio G N

Mar 2, 2020

It is just a marketing for IBM's cloud platform. Plain and simple. However they introduce someone who NEVER seen anything in programming to start looking for available tools. Very shallow knowledge.

By Cristhian S

Aug 13, 2019

Sometime I feel that I am lost in those videos about R and Zeppelin. One video starts doing something like uploading a file and the next one makes the overview of the tool when it should be first.

By Xin W

May 31, 2019

Introductions are quite brief and assignments are not challenging. You may need to spend quite extra time to really get to know how to use there open source tools. But still a good way to start.

By Peter F N

Aug 28, 2018

Very useful course, great way for anyone to familiarize themselves with open source data science tools. The videos are outdated, however, which made it difficult to do the assignments at times.

By Colette C

Jan 14, 2020

Overall, I enjoyed the course. However, the video instructions for using IBM Watson Studio did not match the updated version, thus making it a bit difficult and frustrating to follow along.

By Nuno A

Mar 14, 2019

The incoherence between the IBM tools interfaces in the videos and the real interfaces makes us lose quite a bit of time with simple tasks just as setting up an account or create a notebook.

By Todd J F

Jun 2, 2019

The videos need to be updated for the actual tools being used now. The videos do not help if i have to go digging in Q&A for how to access and perform the assignments with the new tools

By Subir R

Feb 25, 2019

The write up and videos don't always match the programs, probably just need updating.

Overall a good introduction to a lot of tools, but unnecessarily complicated for absolute beginners.

By David M P

Jun 26, 2019

The only reason I gave this only 3 stars is because the Week 3 videos did not match up to the content instruction. This made it difficult and confusing. Not sure when it will be fixed.

By Luigi d M N

May 14, 2020

A nice introduction to the open source tools. Not much programming, but a good starting point at least on Markdown usage. Hopefully the certification will get more difficult with time!

By Anh D

Aug 30, 2020

There are a lot of tools in this course, and I feel it is overwhelming for me. The way that instructors talked about Jupyter Notebook and RStudio is so advanced for a newbie in tech.

By Toan L T

Oct 14, 2018

Good to know some tools the use as a Data Scientist.

But could be shorter, and should be a module in a week, not a whole course. I feel like watching an out-dated advertisement of IBM.

By Sue W

Nov 13, 2019

Very interesting to learning, but frustrating that the assignments or instructions do not match the tools. Extra time is needed to find what the instructions are trying to say or do

By Antonio S

Mar 30, 2020

IBM watson studio videos are outdated. Ibm platform has been updated and the videos do not correspond to the current version making it difficult to follow. this should be improved

By Timothy B M

Sep 23, 2019

The instructions no longer match the applications and a lot of time is wasted trying to figure out what to do. There are literally hundreds of forum entries complaining about this.

By Arpita C

May 24, 2020

I enjoyed the course and think its really useful to understand the tools ahead of the core training, however the visuals and the hands-on are not in sync particularly so in Week 3

By John H

May 18, 2019

The course was okay. I learned about a few new data science tools. However, I only gave three stars because I felt like the lessons and assignments could have been more in-depth.

By Gireesh M D

Jul 20, 2020

The content could be updated for the current IBM Watson Studio user interface.

It was difficult to follow the instructor .

Also SPSS Modeler tutorial there was no way to practice

By Alexis R

Feb 17, 2020

The source tools demonstrated in this course have been updated and changed. The user must visit the forums to get more current information not provided by the course materials.

By Antonio L N

May 26, 2019

IBM Watson Studio was forced-fed to learners. I was very happy happy with open tools from Cognitive Labs (Jupyter Notebooks, Apache Zeppelin) and should have stuck with these.

By William J

Feb 9, 2019

The overall content was fine; however, the videos were sadly out of date and it was very difficult to set up an account and create a Jupyter notebook following the directions.

By Robert C

Feb 6, 2020

Much of this was 5-star worthy, but a new video is desperately needed, as it does not match up with the current Watson environment and creates a lot of unnecessary confusion.