Chevron Left
Back to Planet Earth...and You!

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Planet Earth...and You! by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.9
stars
496 ratings
85 reviews

About the Course

Earthquakes, volcanoes, mountain building, ice ages, landslides, floods, life evolution, plate motions—all of these phenomena have interacted over the vast expanses of deep time to sculpt the dynamic planet that we live on today. Planet Earth presents an overview of several aspects of our home, from a geological perspective. We begin with earthquakes—what they are, what causes them, what effects they have, and what we can do about them. We will emphasize that plate tectonics—the grand unifying theory of geology—explains how the map of our planet's surface has changed radically over geologic time, and why present-day geologic activity—including a variety of devastating natural disasters such as earthquakes—occur where they do. We consider volcanoes, types of eruptions, and typical rocks found there. Finally, we will delve into the processes that produce the energy and mineral resources that modern society depends on, to help understand the context of the environment and sustainability challenges that we will face in the future....

Top reviews

PS

Jun 20, 2020

Excellent course. The content was well delivered. If you are not a geology student and don't intend to be one but wish to find out more about the planet you lived on, this is the course for you.

SR

Jul 21, 2020

Best course I have taken out of all the courses. It is presented really well, easy to understand and there is a lot of thought put in the creation of the materials and assignments

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 86 Reviews for Planet Earth...and You!

By Chan G L S

Jun 13, 2020

The instructors are very clear in their teaching and this course gave me a greater insight into Planet Earth and the phenomena that come along with it. The labs are very interesting and fun to do as well.

By Peh Y S

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent course. The content was well delivered. If you are not a geology student and don't intend to be one but wish to find out more about the planet you lived on, this is the course for you.

By Stanley W Q R

Jul 22, 2020

Best course I have taken out of all the courses. It is presented really well, easy to understand and there is a lot of thought put in the creation of the materials and assignments

By Muhammad N

Oct 8, 2020

Highly appreciate his course. Well explain different topics related to Earth Sciences and design tough assignments which are very effective in learning.

By Chiam C

Jun 21, 2020

Good diversity in topics covered and unique use of Google Earth for lab work that gives the illusion of visiting various landmarks all over the world.

By David J S

May 9, 2020

I am very grateful to this course and also to the instructors that share their vast knowledge about geology to students of this course. Thank you

By Ng X Y E

Jul 31, 2020

A great course! It is easy to follow and complete it. Good for students who are interested in geology but have no prior knowledge about it.

By Ellen C

Jun 16, 2020

very insightful with enthusiastic lecturers! Easy to follow even for people with very basic geographic knowledge such as myself.

By Karina W

Oct 2, 2020

Lesson content, especially the video lectures, is accessible and also adds on more to what I already learned about the geology.

By Tad I

Mar 15, 2020

Really enjoyed the course and will be able to use many of the things I learned to refresh some of my teachings in my classroom

By Wong J Y V

Jul 20, 2020

very interesting course and both profs are extremely interesting! love that they provide a transcript for the videos as well.

By steve h

Feb 12, 2022

G​reat course, really, really useful to me. I have a general interest in Geology and want to know about the world around me.

By Kate S

Nov 15, 2017

Excellent course! Very informative without being tedious. Clear and concise delivery and illustrations. Would recommend!

By Robert C C

Jul 10, 2017

Great course, despite the glitches in the links, etc., which seemed to be outdated. i really gained little from the forum.

By Walid D

Sep 16, 2020

I love it !!

I may make 4 stars because of some videos with poor quality, BUT I made 5 THANKS OF the RICH content.

By Jake C J

Aug 28, 2020

Very informative and engaging course, learnt many things about our planet that we take for granted.

By Hassan S

Sep 19, 2017

Th course is really great and rich and what I rally liked is the practical work on google earth.

By Low L Y

Jul 5, 2020

Nice to know more about the earth, etc. More information than secondary school geography.

By Abdurahman M B R

Jan 20, 2022

You will be enlightening of tremndus of geologic information with very enjoyable way.

By Ngawang c

Nov 5, 2020

It is a good course to understand about the natural disaster and the earth resources.

By Ivan F

Jun 26, 2017

Me dió una fundamentación en las ciencias de la tierra. Bien explicado e informativo

By Phoa J L

May 26, 2020

Interesting content, appropriate for beginners, truly an eye-opening experience.

By Jean-Philippe G

Aug 13, 2021

Excellent course! I really enjoy it. Very well presented and illustrated.

By Chan W S

Jun 26, 2020

An excellent course to take up if you want to learn more about the earth

By Fernando

Aug 2, 2020

Great questions and lab that sparks students' interest in the subject!