Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
3,379 ratings

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK

Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

801 - 814 of 814 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By santosh k

Jan 2, 2021

Innovative & very tough.

By akash c

Jul 17, 2020

give me my certificate

By Suresh F M

Jan 6, 2022

it was help full

By sonar y v

Aug 27, 2020

BIT DIFFICULT

By k200538 M M

Aug 5, 2022

average

By Buizon, M A A

Oct 14, 2021

hirap

By Markus G R

Aug 25, 2022

This course is good for students of UC Boulder that can get in contact with the professor, tutors or peers. In the assignments you are confronted with new problem sets. As an external, one is unfortunately left alone with wrong answers in the assignments, as there are no solutions provided, also not in Prof. Erickson's book.

By Clayton B

Jan 10, 2021

LTSpice is what spoiled it for me. It made it impossible for me to continue this course past week one due to the demands of the workings of my work and budget. I am running a farm on a shoestring budget as my semiretirement profession, and the expense of getting graded by the LTSpice made this unfeasible for me.

By Sobhan J

Jun 27, 2022

Unfortunatly, I couldn't make interaction with this course except of week 1. So in this time I think this course wouldn't to be useful for me. Maybe I change my opinion in the future. thank you coursera and university of colorado boulder.

By Biswamoy P

Aug 10, 2021

The course content was absolutely relevant. I enjoyed the course very much. But. at last I am disappointed after getting certificate. The certificate is not displaying my name, instead it is showing " Date of Birth" in place of name.

By Валерий В

May 12, 2021

no support

By Raymond A

Sep 24, 2022

I don't like the little material provided to complete the course. It would be nice to see some examples with real number in the powerpoints. The quizzes are too strict to get the correct answer. +/- .1% tolerance is such a small margin. Also, the way the equations are typed in can easily be entered wrong. I got answers correct in some of the quizzes that I failed then got it wrong in the next attempt.

I don't like that I can't even tell if i'm close to the correct answer. This course was very frustrating. I don't know if this is a University of Colorado issue or a Coursera issue. This was my first Coursera course. I will try the next Power Electronics course but may drop it if it is the same experience.

Also, there is absolutely no feedback except for the students, who seem to have the same struggles as me.

By Marquez Y

Nov 10, 2023

In my opinion, this is not an introduction course. I have a technical background (I have a master's degree in engineering) and I've been not able to follow up on the explanations, therefore I was also not able to solve the exercises, which are very complex by the way. I missed some more clarifications, more detail about the assumptions regarding for example the direction of the currents or the mechanism of how the capacitors and the inductors work

By Andy G R U

Apr 19, 2021

no mr parece