Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,847 ratings
717 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 705 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Deleted A

Jul 5, 2016

A fair amount of self-study is necessary to learn everything covered in-depth (especially if you haven't yet learned these as part of a formal course).

By Francis P

Jul 3, 2021

L​ast week homework very hard. I felt the topics covered in video did not prepare well for the homework. Otherwise excellent course, would recommend.

By Animesh M

Jul 5, 2020

The course deals with basics of DC converters in a simple way. The learning process is simple, interesting and you can understand the topics quickly.

By Saraswathi V

May 27, 2020

Sometimes challenging, fun if you like solving circuits. Quite simple once you get the hang of it. Only struggled a lot to do the Week2 assignment.

By Niko B

Apr 17, 2020

Quiz does'nt have any explenation, after you submit and pass there should be something that tells you the answer of what you didn't write correctly

By K.S. V

May 26, 2016

Very patient and methodical step-by-step development of the subject matter. Excited to learn about using LTSpice from the class instructions.

By Antonio B

Mar 10, 2020

It is a good course, but I do not have a feedback on the exams, when my answers are wrong it is very difficult to know where is my mistake.

By Amith P

Oct 13, 2016

A very good basic course. Tough homeworks. Be prepared to put in some effort to crack this course. But it's worth the time you spend on it.

By Raj

Jun 10, 2016

Excellent course for brushing the fundamentals. The assignments also shows how the fundamentals are related to the big scheme of things.

By Ramiro R

Sep 14, 2021

I was expecting something more practical with real world applications. Course is focused on circuit analysis and "manual" calculations.

By Rafael C M

Sep 14, 2021

Muy buen curso. Lo único mlao es que para que te salgan las soluciones correctas tienes que coger una gran cantidad de decimales.

By NITESH M

May 3, 2020

after course completion we should be provided with the detailed solution of the course assignment.

thank you sir

thank you coursera

By SRIRAM S

May 13, 2020

this course is good for beginners and can learn about boost and buck boost very well as well as simulation of that topology also

By Sachin Y

Mar 15, 2018

The course was very good. It gave insights about the analysis of converter losses by two port method which was quite new for me.

By Ankit R

Aug 6, 2017

Quiz are difficult not because you don't know the answers but because of0.1% accuracy. Lectures are great and covers everything.

By Luca G

Dec 23, 2020

Good course, but the tests are way too difficult. The material provided should cover the subject of the test much more.

By Koustubh J

Apr 30, 2020

There should some kind of interaction between the faculty and the enrolled students so that the doubts can be cleared.

By Priti

Nov 14, 2017

Good basis and intro to power electronics! Not easy as thought and learnt a lot!!! looking further for great learning

By Paul D

Apr 22, 2018

It would be great to receive the solutions after taking the quizes. Otherwise, we can't learn from our mistakes.

By Marco L S

Apr 1, 2020

Very well explained course; It would be better to do more exercises with the professor but it's good anyway!

By saurabh v

Mar 18, 2019

The course was concise, and very well presented. The problems were also very good at grounding the concepts.

By Ramesh A

Oct 17, 2020

The course is well structured and homework problems are adequate to understand and retain the concepts.

By José A P

Feb 1, 2017

The course is GREAT!!! It would be amazing if we could receive more feedback but everything is awesome.

By Eland E

Aug 4, 2018

Support on the forums is not really present. but the material is very interesting and difficult

By Jacky H

Jan 27, 2018

The assignments are worth practising. They are harder than those of my university subject.