Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Predictive Modeling and Analytics , University of Colorado Boulder

3.8
193 ratings
57 reviews

About this Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

By HA

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

By GD

Dec 12, 2016

There were some instructions in the quizzes hard to understand with no additional explanation in case of error.

Filter by:

55 Reviews

By Junyue Jin

May 18, 2019

The tutor organised the course with clear points and highlights questions during videos. The only confusion is about web version xlminer tool.

By Parv Arora

May 17, 2019

Use of some other software can make this course better. xlminer has got a lot of bugs

By Rachel Shifflett

May 16, 2019

There are a lot better courses for the time. This course mostly teaches you how to use XLMiner which is a paid Excel add on that I am 99% certain I will never use again.

By Shivam Srivastava

May 16, 2019

Really good course, The videos are very precise and short, lot of learning, Loved this course

By Eric Zines

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, but I did struggle more than I should have with the software tools. In many cases, my version of the tool (the latest) did not match the instructor's version, and I worked to translate my version to his, and that's not a good use of my time. That said, the material was interesting, and the professor did a great job presenting it. I would recommend the course, but I would recommend that you learn to get the results not just in XL Miner, but in R or some other software, as well

By Graham Clarke

Mar 21, 2019

Very poor course and delivery of subject matter was terrible - Do Not Take This Course!

By Amol Kulkarni

Jan 15, 2019

More Banking & Financial Industry Related Examples can be covered...

By Shafeeq Shas

Jan 11, 2019

Very good course for understanding Regression, classification. Other advance predictive models like trees, random forest, neural networks are covered fast. Could have been little more lengthy sessions.

instructor is very fast in explaining concepts.

By Isaura Duby Valdez

Oct 06, 2018

I only wished that the teacher would speak slower.

By Colin Paterson

Oct 04, 2018

Very interesting course that covers a lot, which is good in that it gives exposure to different mining techniques, but bad in that I feel very far from mastering the techniques. Each mining technique could be its own course. Course could do a better job of explaining how to interpret the model outputs.