Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.7
stars
502 ratings
180 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 178 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Dario A

Feb 13, 2018

The instructor's poor English makes it difficult to follow the lectures and it takes twice the time to study the transcript, which is also wrong at times. The homework was a rehash of the same basic teaching with no practical application. What good is to know the coefficient or the slope of a regression when no prediction exercises are done to find a data point that is not close to the existing data points?

XLMiner does not work online and for Mac users this was very cumbersome.

By Tony H

Feb 28, 2018

This course doesn't do a good job of helping you learn the "why" behind the concepts. I felt like a lot of difficult concepts were thrown at me with insufficient context. It's been tough trying to internalize meaningful mental models through the course content.

By teresa z

Jun 3, 2019

The content is useful. The lecturer is very good at organizing the course structure. However, he is a bad teacher. He reads subtitles instead of "talking". I hope he could elaborate key points and relate concepts to real life examples.

By Fabio F

Mar 9, 2018

content is fine. but light on BUSINESS applications. Professor's english very hard to follow.

By Mithun M

Jun 24, 2017

The instructor is really fast and he needs to slow down with better illustration.

By Wallace O

Jul 11, 2017

Terms weren't very clear, and many videos had not txt file.

By Kevin S

May 24, 2018

Hard to follow seamlessly with poor pronunciation.

By Alexandros N

Nov 28, 2020

It is hard to follow this tutor. You have always to reed the subtitles to understand the course.

I took the Advanced Business Analytics Specialization as a full time student. I finished the first four courses in more or less 3 weeks. In the last course needed to take the Specialization Certificate, the Advanced Business Analytics Capstone, the assignments of the course during the 2nd-3rd-4rth week were locked until 20 December - 5 January. That means that I had to wait more than one month, and pay 2 more subscriptions to Coursera!!! In the forum of the class there are more than 20 moderators, none of them has even one reply in anything. I made a thread, nonone replied to me. I contacted the customer service, they told me that they are sorry and they cannot change it.

This is not a policy of an educational institute, this is an attitude that wants to take only your money. If you want your certificate, come back after two months AND KEEP PAYING!! I canceled my subscription, I do not want the certificate, I want to cooperate with organization that respect my effort, my time, my money, to respect me.

By Alan D P

Jul 17, 2020

This was quite a theoretical course to a certain extent - not as practical as the other courses in the Specialization. I don't think that this is material that I would envision me using normally in my work, but I can see where it might be useful.

The lecturer was hard to understand a lot of the time. He went past some important points at light speed and it was very hard to pick up certain concepts. Hard to take it in at times.

Repeating what others have said - I really didn't like having to use a specific software package rather than a generic package. XLminer can be obtained on a 14 day trial, however the course is intended to be 4 weeks long, so either do the course faster (like I did) or pay for a package that you will most likely never use again. The course is, to a large extent, a tutorial on XLminer and it's fair to say that most people that do this course will never use it again.

This course could do with a re-vamp.

By Jessica B

Nov 2, 2016

This course starts very simply with data clean up (almost too simply!), but then goes DEEP into the weeds of regression and fails to explain how to apply these complex concepts to any real world application. For example, if I build a regression model, how might I use it in my analytics role at work and explain the results to my stakeholders? How do i interpret the results of the regression for making informed business decisions? How do I predict an outcome with a Tree or Neural Network? I found the instructor very hard to follow/understand (thank goodness for the written transcripts). He's clearly extremely intelligent, but fails to relate these concepts to the student in order for the student to take away anything more than "These complex concepts and tools exist."

By MK B

Feb 26, 2017

This course is not well moderated, the material is confusing, and the quizzes were not tested before uploading them onto Coursera. This specialization is definitely not on par with other specializations I have done.

BLUF: There are better uses for your money and time.

By Deleted A

Sep 29, 2017

poor instructor (too strong of an accent, no skills in talking with a teleprompter or generally putting life into what he says), material could be strongly improved, problems with assignments but no help in the forums

By Gökhan K

Apr 2, 2017

With all due respect to the lecturer (its obvious that he is intelligent and an expert on the subject), I found this lesson not easy to participate because of inordinate learning curve and fast accent.

By Akshat J

Aug 1, 2019

It's a terrible course. honestly. The Professor's English is very often undecipherable, assignments have incorrect options, and there's no help from anybody in charge. Would give 0 stars if possible.

By Karan G

Aug 20, 2019

Poor communication and engagement skills. The syllabus has so much potential to be interesting but the teacher wasn't engaging and left most of the important details unexplained.

By James M

Dec 22, 2016

Test questions for week 3 are incorrect and do not match video / reading. Had to go to YouTube to figure out most of it.

By Graham C

Mar 21, 2019

Very poor course and delivery of subject matter was terrible - Do Not Take This Course!

By Parv A

May 17, 2019

Use of some other software can make this course better. xlminer has got a lot of bugs

By Neeraj V

Nov 21, 2016

Cannot understand the diction..

By Lei Z

Dec 30, 2016

poor quiz design

By Graciano P

Sep 24, 2020

This class provides a solid foundation on predictive modeling and analytics. It goes from basic models like linear regression to more complex models including neural networks and ensemble models. The material is covered using a tool named Analytic Solver which provides a different approach to the subject by focusing on the high level aspects of the models as opposed to doing the models in Python which would require the ability of the user to code and knowing how to use the many libraries out there for data science and machine learning. This allows the learner to cover a lot of techniques in relatively short period of time while at the same time providing the learner with a broad vision and understanding of the field of study.

By Minh T N

Mar 1, 2021

Good course for introductory knowledge about predictive modeling (linear regression, classification, trees, neural network, etc). The accent of the professor makes it a bit hard to follow, nevertheless the content and follow-up exercises as well as quiz assignments and case studies are of superb quality. Highly recommend for those interested in business predictive methods.

By Carolinne O R M

Sep 24, 2019

Very rich and concise content, instructor very intelligent and objective, short and digestible videos. My only suggestion is to improve the quality of the neural network content, in my opinion, the very one too shallow compared with the rest of the excellent content.

By Carlos J G A

Jul 16, 2020

Nice course, maybe you can update the instructions, the program has changed a little bit, is not difficult to change some parameters but it would be better with this video updates in XLminer activities. Thanks U Colorado Boulder and professor Dan Zhang

By Shalmali C

Sep 16, 2020

The course was really good and informative. A lot more ways to analysing data than one would normally come across and a good explanation of the various concept.

One suggestion would be sorting out the XLminer subscription of excel versions above 2016.