Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.6
stars
524 ratings
189 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 187 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Thu

Mar 24, 2020

A good course overall; however, I expected some further reading recommendations by the lecturer to help develop a deeper understanding of predictive models.

The last peer assignment was boring and too simple relative to the course knowledge level. Plus, one of the tasks was replicated from another one that I previously did.

By Matthew G

May 15, 2020

Covers a lot of essential topics around analytics and predictive modeling. However, the delivery in the lectures lacks enthusiasm and seems very scripted. Also, the final project, despite being primarily a predictive analytics courses is simple a re-hash of the Week 1 project, and is not cumulative of all topics covered.

By Keith H

Apr 12, 2020

Many of the concepts felt "glossed over" as the subject matter was rich but it was hard to get a complete understanding of it in the videos. I found myself having to do a lot of additional supplemental research not even mentioned in the videos to accurately answer some of the quiz questions.

By Varun G

Apr 9, 2020

The Course is good, it covers lot of topics but there are certain drawbacks like the accent is not clear, have to read the transcript and other issue is the contents are very briefly explained, need to read it separately on google, if you are not from science background.

By SERGIO D F G

Jul 30, 2020

There waw a lot of information but it wasn't clear or how was related with the previous course. Moreover, most of the quizzes depend of XLMiner and difficulties were encountered by some students with the application in the course.

By Hilary L

Jul 16, 2020

This is a very difficult context to learn how to use a computer program--it's outdated, since XLminer is now called Analytics Solver, and it's very hard if you are having an issue with the program and can't get any help.

By Amani E T

Sep 6, 2020

That was hard for me to understand as I am new in this field and I think I needed a simple basic or a better way to interpret things than that. Also, I encounter some difficulty in understanding the English language.

By Maria E M

Sep 3, 2020

The content the course is really relevant for my professional career but using Excel to perform modelling is out-of-date. Most companies required a combination between this content and tools like Python and R.

By Himanshu K

Jun 21, 2020

Although the teaching method is wonderful. A little bit more content will go a long way. Little more clarity in video lectures is required.

By Martin C

Jun 2, 2020

EL profesor no es muy didáctico y su dicción no es fácil de seguir.

Preferentemente mayor uso de las herramientas de predicicon de excel

By Jabin M J

May 19, 2021

Content is really good and the interactive interference is really awesome

Instructor Audio was blurry at times and hard to understand

By Kanishka P

May 16, 2020

Using XLminer in the course created a problem for a while. Otherwise, the course is good.

By Brindrajsinh C

Sep 17, 2020

Was not as happy as early as I am not able to use the taught software as it is paid

By Aditya G R

Sep 18, 2020

Answers must be open for all kinds of software used

By Omkar K

Jul 18, 2020

XL Miner too cumbersome to handle

By Raj M

Jul 1, 2020

It was a good course

By Mridul S

Jul 19, 2020

Very fast paced

By Richard F

Mar 31, 2018

instruct

By mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

By David N

Jun 26, 2020

This is an important class in data science general and very important in the Data Science curriculum. The class was covering very important concepts and eventually was able to deliver.

However, There were two major issues in this class in particular. One, the instructor’s English was very hard to follow, even with Closed Capturing that sometimes could not convert. As someone that English is not his first language, I can empathize, however there should have been better editing to the videos.

Two, the XLMiner Software we had to use in this class was only available for 15 days trial. This is a 4 week class and by week 3, the trial has expired. I did not plan to buy a license, and they will not extend it by a couple of weeks ( I tried calling both Coursera and Solver.com). And even though any other free tool (Python, R, MS Studios, etc) could have been used they gave different results and was not good for this class. This was frustrating. I ended up signing up for another 15 day trial with another account but that should have never been an issue.

By Joshua D

Jul 13, 2020

Compared to the first course I felt this one was hard to follow. Information came at a furious pace with little explanation. It reminded me of a business algebra class I took once that had a stand in teacher. The stand in usually taught theoretical match and ended up talking over all of the student's heads. We had to bring him back down to earth. Also the XLMiner tool is only good for two weeks. I verified this with the help desk for the tool. You need better directions and/or a better tool that can be used throughout the 4 week course. Even your translator had issues with some of the annunciations by the instructor. Due to that you need better visuals, explanations of concepts and how he comes around to some of the answers he gets. I really hope the other courses are more like the first and less like this one or I will drop this specialization and go for another. Also I will no longer consider CU Boulder for my Masters.

By Steve R

Sep 28, 2020

The professor is clearly an expert on the topic, but I don't believe this was an effective learning experience for me. Several reasons for this: (1) The professor was extremely difficult to understand, and this is exacerbated when trying to learn some more complex topics that involve equations and visualization. (2) Most of the lectures seemed to be rushed. For me, it seemed like we jumped from an introduction of the topic to expert level concepts without much transition or explanation.

Overall, I found that I didn't learn much in this course. I simply did the best I could to pass the quizzes and complete the assignments. This would have been fine for me 20 years ago, but these days I am taking courses to learn and better myself. I do not feel like this course helped me.

By Chetan S

Jul 19, 2020

Not satisfied with the course structure. As you progress in the course, the course seems to be rushed with little detailing. For example the concept of calculating Gini Index. The calculations were not explained and the students are expected to figure it out basis the formula shared in the earlier slide. Had a hard time figuring out the calculation when a problem around Gini index calculation appeared in the Assignment. The accent of the instructor is also hard to understand. Had to refer to transcripts many a times to understand what was been said.

By Yodchanon N

Jun 28, 2020

Really good content but the lecturer speaks really fast like reading script ,unnaturally and not communicative but I understand what he speaks, even if the subtitle sometimes goes wrong, however. Peer-Graded system is not productive. I found someone has copied my final assignment, at least should have reviewed my assignment back but did not, really shameless and uneducated. XL Miner on the cloud, for Mac, is free for 31 days with student license, however its interface and process is really time-consuming, perhaps lots of users.

By Aaron W

Jul 7, 2020

I found the instructor did a very poor job of explaining the concepts he was trying to get across. He read the material as fast as he could and it was obvious. Also, it requires software that has a 2 week license unless you want to pay for it (and this is a 4 week class) or can find ways around it by having multiple email addresses and other ways to trick their system. I don't recommend this course if there are any other options.