Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.6
stars
499 ratings
178 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 177 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Manas K

Apr 17, 2020

Much below my expectation or the level and quality the other courses bring. There are so many areas within this course that could be improved.

By tan l d

Jan 6, 2020

The accent of instructor is too strong to understand, it's an unpleasant experience to have listen through the class.

By Faizan R

Jun 15, 2020

its very difficult to understand the accent of the person otherwise content is very useful

By Svetoslava K

Feb 2, 2021

The instructor is certainly knowledgeable of the topic but has no idea how to teach

By Vedad K

May 20, 2020

Assignments are interesting but the explanations and presentations are awful.

By Connor C

Mar 26, 2020

Could not understand the instructor and the information was not useful

By Urmika K

Aug 12, 2020

Didn't really like the instructor for this course.

By Dham S

Apr 24, 2020

poor content structure

By Kevin J

Jun 3, 2020

I don't usually rate applications, let alone courses, but this is the one course I was extremely frustrated at, and I saw that I was not alone in this.

First, assignment 3 is buggy, very likely because the version of xlminer is different (I ended up downloading xlminer from other available sources because the version this course gave did not work!!). Different versions including the partition result presentation and logistic regression step 1 appearance.

Second, xlminer is COMPULSORY and NOT FREE (free trial does not count). You can not even use other tools such as Python or R because some of the values asked in questions specifically require excel to get. I still don't get why xlminer can not be a free open source add-ins. Python and R's basic machine libraries are free, why isn't xlminer?

Third, this course is the PREREQUISITE to Advance Business Analytics, which I am more interested in. Combine with my second point, it's like locking a character in a game behind a paywall as a DLC, of course people would not like it.

If you are aiming for a certificate for this course, just forget it, it's not worth it. If you are aiming for learning the subject, you can still take the course. Overall, absolutely not going to recommend it.

To developer of this course, please REVISE THE ASSIGNMENT ASAP.

By Aman G

May 11, 2020

This class doesn't even deserve that one star.It is easily the worst class I've ever taken on Coursera. The data in the final does not match the description. There are mistakes in the lessons and on the quiz. There is no feedback to forum.I was very disappointed by this course. The professor was knowledgeable, but was difficult to understand and spoke quickly. Even the transcript had the words [INAUDIBLE] listed multiple times because he was so difficult to understand. There were no slides, so note taking was difficult. The course also requires paying $25 for an Excel Add-In, which was not mentioned before enrolling in the course. The Excel Add-In is a different version from the version used in the video, so it was very difficult to follow along because the screens and outputs were different. I also had an issue with the Excel Add-In that made some of my work late because the issue could not be resolved quickly. The Analytic Solver (the Add-Inrepresentative said the problem was on their end, and had to fix the issue himself. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this course to anyone. If this had been the first course in the specialization, I would not have continued. In my opinion UC-B needs to rethink if they should even offer this course.

By Lauri S

Apr 27, 2020

I learned close to nothing (I want to say it was absolutely nothing because I think that's accurate), from this course. In my opinion, it was just a plug for the university's data miner plug-in. The instructor was so hard to understand and the videos didn't instruct on how to implement the practices they "taught". Finally, I don't know anyone in data analytics who uses these methods of predictive modeling. They're outdated and school-level insights used by professors. I do not recommend this course to anyone.

By Trevor B

Jun 22, 2020

As if the professor's lifeless eyes didn't make it tough to focus on the videos already, the professor was incredibly tough to understand to the point where even the person captioning the video had to add "(Inaudible)" at places. I also had to spend 2 days just trying to figure out XLMiner because I didn't have Excel and then later XLMiner wouldn't let me log in. This course was a nightmare

By Diego F P P

Aug 6, 2020

Useless course. All the learning process depends of XLMiner, a paid addon that just is available for 15 days. This course assumes that the person is expert in statistics and doesn't give a feedback and answers of the quizzes don't correspond to what the models and software generates and results necessary to find out the answers in the forums. Very dissapointed of this waste-of-time course.

By Kathryn W

Sep 4, 2020

Course is mainly a push to use a tool which is not free and an add-on to Excel. It would have been more useful to either use straight Excel or go to something like Python or SQL instead of adding another cost onto the course. They should have been more upfront that this course requires a paid extension for Excel or just provided the tool to the students enrolled.

By Davi F L M

Oct 21, 2020

course is poor, there is no sense in 2020 turn a course available that use a software like XLMINER that is not open source. Professor speeks too fast, even if you are a native speaker will surf dificulteis to understand. Exercises are lost in the content of the week, I did the exercises without understand why I was doing that.

By Rafael R

Jun 17, 2020

If you don´t have a US credit-card to purchase Solver you are not allowed to continue studying.

It´s just impossible to use a Credit-card from another country. It´s annoying and a waste of time.

coursera / Boulder Uni should elect only software companies or partners able to supply all students.

It´s a shame.

By Erwin T

Oct 9, 2020

Narrative in video's is way too fast and very mathematical oriented.

Documentation is weak.

High demanding on tests with quizzes on course info + each week extra quizzes with assignments

Not good to follow due to bad English in video's.

By Piero A T

May 10, 2020

I do not like this course. The lecturer's accent is really difficult to follow and there are no notes for this course. I do not understand why it keeps online. University should consider changing the lecturer.

By Jonathan L P

Aug 5, 2020

Course quizzes and assignments are based around an outdated Excel extension that does not work anymore.

Week 3 quizzes have wrong answers.

By Kellie R

May 14, 2020

I was unable to successfully install the required excel add-in and could not proceed with the course though I had already paid.

By Sander D W

Jun 29, 2020

Basic course

Not as many practical business examples as I hoped for

The teacher is very difficult to understand

By Lam C V D

Aug 28, 2020

Course using XLMiner, not Python. Poor choice. I used Python to get the results, all marked wrong!

By ANIRUDH C

Feb 8, 2021

No lecture slides.

Instructor English is not understandable and is speaking very fast.

By SARTHAK M

May 1, 2020

Course content and assignment content don't match.