Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.6
stars
501 ratings
179 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 178 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Meenakshi J

Jun 20, 2020

Very challenging but very Informative course. I think this course is good stepping stone for anyone in interested in analytics career. Prof Dan Zhang also pointed to some books and websites which I found very helpful.

By Thahir N M

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

By Emma w

Jan 14, 2020

This course talk about basic concept about preditive modeling and idea which you need to concern on. And the quizes are so great that you could practice what you learn.

By Oleksandr D

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

By Nuno C

Jun 5, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

By Harliano A

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

By ADELEKE A A

Jul 7, 2020

It has been very exciting and an eye-opening for me. I am getting into the world of data analytics gradually. Thanks for this great opportunity.

By sagar g

May 15, 2020

Very nice course, everything is up to the point very clean and clear explanation of concepts with examples and practical illustrations.

By Marco H M

Dec 17, 2020

I've learned how to use an analytical Tool (XL Miner), with just a few clicks, I can have a complete analisys from different Variables

By Thet P S A

Aug 16, 2020

This is my first course in Coursera but I can understand the methods and tools easily. So, I would like to say thanks to instructor .

By Abdulazeez G

Sep 24, 2020

This course gives a good background to building predictive models as well an easy to use tool for learning how to do it.

By Hussam A

Aug 31, 2020

I really enjoyed every aspect of the class it was well designed and the excises were both enjoyable and informative.

By MD A S

Aug 11, 2020

One of the best course I for business analytics that I came across. The whole specialization is worth the time

By Apoorv A

May 17, 2020

Great course for starting learning the basics of predictive modeling and its application in MS Excel!

By Sankepalli S K

Feb 16, 2017

Its an excellent course and thanks to Professor for making this course so practice oriented.

By Aqil K

May 9, 2017

It was an amazing learning experience with a very high reputed university.

By Parijat M

Sep 2, 2020

This course was quite helpful to enhance skill in predictive modelling

By Amol K

Jan 15, 2019

More Banking & Financial Industry Related Examples can be covered...

By Shubhra V

Aug 15, 2020

A very good course. Learnt a lot of new things. Very productive

By Pradeep I

Nov 11, 2019

Provides a very good foundation over predictive modelling.

By Raj G

Jul 24, 2020

Good Course - Learnt a lot, Gained New knowledge - Thanks

By Shiyu D

May 19, 2018

it's really good, but this course is very fast and hard

By Isaura D V

Oct 6, 2018

I only wished that the teacher would speak slower.

By Sabelo M

Jul 22, 2020

Phenomenal course!I leartn a lot of useful tools!

By Kashif A K

Jul 6, 2020

it was very informative and great experience