Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.6
stars
522 ratings
188 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 187 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Lam C V D

Aug 28, 2020

Course using XLMiner, not Python. Poor choice. I used Python to get the results, all marked wrong!

By Graham C

Mar 21, 2019

Very poor course and delivery of subject matter was terrible - Do Not Take This Course!

By Parv A

May 17, 2019

Use of some other software can make this course better. xlminer has got a lot of bugs

By Neeraj V

Nov 21, 2016

Cannot understand the diction..

By Lei Z

Dec 30, 2016

poor quiz design

By Graciano P

Sep 24, 2020

This class provides a solid foundation on predictive modeling and analytics. It goes from basic models like linear regression to more complex models including neural networks and ensemble models. The material is covered using a tool named Analytic Solver which provides a different approach to the subject by focusing on the high level aspects of the models as opposed to doing the models in Python which would require the ability of the user to code and knowing how to use the many libraries out there for data science and machine learning. This allows the learner to cover a lot of techniques in relatively short period of time while at the same time providing the learner with a broad vision and understanding of the field of study.

By Minh T N

Mar 1, 2021

Good course for introductory knowledge about predictive modeling (linear regression, classification, trees, neural network, etc). The accent of the professor makes it a bit hard to follow, nevertheless the content and follow-up exercises as well as quiz assignments and case studies are of superb quality. Highly recommend for those interested in business predictive methods.

By Mauricio R s

Jun 15, 2021

Me gustaria que algunos videos (los mas importantes) se explayen mas en la explicacion de los resultados para poder conocer en profundidad que significan cada uno de ellos y así poder interpretarlos. Por ej. que significa un r2 de 0,54 o que significa un RMSE de cierto nivel.

By carolinne r

Sep 24, 2019

Very rich and concise content, instructor very intelligent and objective, short and digestible videos. My only suggestion is to improve the quality of the neural network content, in my opinion, the very one too shallow compared with the rest of the excellent content.

By Carlos J G A

Jul 16, 2020

Nice course, maybe you can update the instructions, the program has changed a little bit, is not difficult to change some parameters but it would be better with this video updates in XLminer activities. Thanks U Colorado Boulder and professor Dan Zhang

By Shalmali C

Sep 16, 2020

The course was really good and informative. A lot more ways to analysing data than one would normally come across and a good explanation of the various concept.

One suggestion would be sorting out the XLminer subscription of excel versions above 2016.

By Meenakshi J

Jun 20, 2020

Very challenging but very Informative course. I think this course is good stepping stone for anyone in interested in analytics career. Prof Dan Zhang also pointed to some books and websites which I found very helpful.

By thahir n

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

By Emma w

Jan 14, 2020

This course talk about basic concept about preditive modeling and idea which you need to concern on. And the quizes are so great that you could practice what you learn.

By Oleksandr D

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

By Nuno C

Jun 5, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

By Harliano A

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

By ADELEKE A A

Jul 7, 2020

It has been very exciting and an eye-opening for me. I am getting into the world of data analytics gradually. Thanks for this great opportunity.

By sagar g

May 15, 2020

Very nice course, everything is up to the point very clean and clear explanation of concepts with examples and practical illustrations.

By Marco H M

Dec 17, 2020

I've learned how to use an analytical Tool (XL Miner), with just a few clicks, I can have a complete analisys from different Variables

By Thet P S A

Aug 16, 2020

This is my first course in Coursera but I can understand the methods and tools easily. So, I would like to say thanks to instructor .

By Abdulazeez G

Sep 24, 2020

This course gives a good background to building predictive models as well an easy to use tool for learning how to do it.

By Hussam A

Aug 31, 2020

I really enjoyed every aspect of the class it was well designed and the excises were both enjoyable and informative.

By MD A S

Aug 11, 2020

One of the best course I for business analytics that I came across. The whole specialization is worth the time

By Apoorv A

May 17, 2020

Great course for starting learning the basics of predictive modeling and its application in MS Excel!