Chevron Left
Back to Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Predictive Modeling and Analytics by University of Colorado Boulder

3.6
stars
499 ratings
178 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Top reviews

TM
Apr 14, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

NC
Jun 4, 2020

Excelent! Even for someone that doesnt work usually with statistic models, this course give the fundamentals insights so that we can go deeper by ourself.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 177 Reviews for Predictive Modeling and Analytics

By Adekunle I

Jul 26, 2020

this is the best course anyone can take

By Ivan Z

Jul 29, 2018

Dan Zhang is a very good teacher.

By ANKIT S

Jun 19, 2020

Detailed and usefull

By Murodkhuja M

May 5, 2020

excellent course

By Avinash T

Aug 28, 2017

Very nice course

By Tanay C

Nov 27, 2017

its really good

By MOH M Y S

Oct 4, 2020

Great Course !

By PRALAY P

Apr 29, 2018

Great Course !

By sandhya k

Jan 3, 2017

Well explained

By Carlos A U M

Jul 11, 2020

Great course!

By Sergio A M O

Jun 5, 2020

Great course

By jorge p

Feb 25, 2021

Excelenete

By Olanrewaju B

Jul 16, 2020

its hard

By Ameerah R A S

Sep 9, 2017

awsome

By Emina K

Jan 31, 2021

The course is pretty good. Although it was hard to keep up with the teacher and his English, I managed to write notes using the text under the video. Later, reading the notes was okay since everything had more sense. I had to do some extra Google search since the explanations were not enough for me.

But the assignments and tests with the sample databases were the best. They really made me think and gave me a real foundation in my knowledge.

I am sad that XL Miner (Solver) is only 15 days and wished that the teacher would put a replacement tool we could use instead if the free subscription ends.

Much work should be done to improve.

By Germán A R R

Aug 10, 2020

Overall is a practical and interesting course. Sometimes the quizes or assignments are not direct related to the lecture, however you can get to the point thinking a little. Will be important to update the XL Miner explanations because the software is currently more up to date than was shown. Additionally, even we get lot of practical exercises where you can identify robustness and types of models, for me is not still clear how to get a predictive model for my daily use. Expect to cover that on further lectures.

By Eric Z

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, but I did struggle more than I should have with the software tools. In many cases, my version of the tool (the latest) did not match the instructor's version, and I worked to translate my version to his, and that's not a good use of my time. That said, the material was interesting, and the professor did a great job presenting it. I would recommend the course, but I would recommend that you learn to get the results not just in XL Miner, but in R or some other software, as well

By Antonio J A G

Dec 30, 2020

I loved the course. The explanations were very accurate and easy to understand. But, I consider that using XLMiner is not the best software approach. I understand that R or Python may imply some problem to people with no programming skills, but it's easier to reproduce results. XLMiner has different versions (and the tutorials are not aligned with latest versions) and is also dependant of the Office version. Thus, some answers must be given in a flip-of-a-coin approach.

By Colin P

Oct 4, 2018

Very interesting course that covers a lot, which is good in that it gives exposure to different mining techniques, but bad in that I feel very far from mastering the techniques. Each mining technique could be its own course. Course could do a better job of explaining how to interpret the model outputs.

By Haiying Z

Dec 28, 2020

The knowledge and information are very useful. However, the choice of software is poor. It took a few times (days) to install/uninstall to make it finally worked. Once it was running, it was unstable, malfunctioning unpredictably. A better software should be use for this class in future.

By Jaishish

Aug 15, 2020

Don't mind the negative reviews. Most issues are years old and have been fixed. Didn't face a single issue. The course Does require an additional tool to complete assignment which is only free for 15 days. Also the accent of the professor is hard to understand.

By Shafeeq S

Jan 11, 2019

Very good course for understanding Regression, classification. Other advance predictive models like trees, random forest, neural networks are covered fast. Could have been little more lengthy sessions.

instructor is very fast in explaining concepts.

By PRATIK J P

Sep 13, 2020

The instructor's tone was difficult to Interpret. It was not fluent and pronunciations were uneasy. Overall content was excellent, though there must have been examples after terms explanation rather than one complete video at end

By La V M

Oct 3, 2020

The course is a great course.

The only difficulity I had was in the last assessment where we had to use XLMiner. I was not able to use it properly as I had difficulity loading it on my computer because of the Windows version.

By Yashasvi

Jul 24, 2020

it is really a good course which helps me to understand the basic knowledge of data mining in which I learned about logistic and linear regression and also about boosting, bagging, and random forest.