Chevron Left
Back to Strategy Formulation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Strategy Formulation by Copenhagen Business School

4.5
stars
1,275 ratings
250 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to present, analyze and discuss the different facets of business strategy formulation. Emphasizing that strategy can be seen as a unified theme that provides coherence and direction to the actions and decisions of a firm, we will cover a variety of business strategy topics concerned with firm positioning in the context of different markets, industries and locations. At the end of the course, you will be able to: - Identify why a strong strategy is essential for the future business success - Formulate a business strategy that suits the needs and visions of your organization - Explain why managers too often formulate sub-optimal strategies - Extrapolate measures to optimize current business strategies Workload: 2-4 hours per week....

Top reviews

DI
Aug 2, 2020

A great experience of learning about business strategy..many concepts refreshed that I studied during my MBA. A great teaching approach by the faculty; a blend of readings, videos, and quizzes!!

IW
Jan 14, 2019

Very interesting, varied lectures with relevant presentations of Danish companies in all sorts of situations. The assignment was fun to do, but the grading process could be a bit smoother.

Filter by:

226 - 242 of 242 Reviews for Strategy Formulation

By Josue D

Oct 23, 2016

I wish teachers look at our work too rather than student though they do their jobs.

By Augustine Q

Jan 30, 2016

Too few students.

By Safar A

Aug 16, 2020

Good Course

By Antoine C

Jan 13, 2016

G

By Ankur G

Mar 19, 2016

This is a very simple, brief and useful course.

The modules are short, concise but do not go into lot of details. Is a good course to audit/browse for free but may not be good enough against a verified option. Anyways, paying for verified course is subject to personal value derivation.

While I had rated earlier for the above reasons before the course finished. I am facing the exact same problem with this course as I faced with earlier course.

The grading process is badly constructed for final assignment. In fact, now I am learning from coursera staff that may be there are not enough students to grade my peer review assignment.

So please do audit this course but do not be trapped in specialization.

Cheers..

By Gayathri R S

Jun 17, 2016

The speaking style and body language of the instructor was quite monotonous when teaching the content. For the most part of the course, it felt like the instructor was just "reading" the teleprompter without blinking for several seconds! He did not attempt to teach the students in these videos. It could have been MUCH better if he had used better presentation tools and shorter sentences.

By Mark R

May 8, 2020

This course is ok at best. There are not enough practical tools given, too much reliance of case studies with very little taught relevance, the final assignment is very poorly written and frankly confusing for no educational value.

By Matthew C

Apr 4, 2017

While the content of this course was presented in an engaging way, the assessment task lacks context. To then be asked to peer review others based on this is particularly disengaging.

By Alvaro J

Jul 4, 2017

The course could have developed on new theories of strategic planning, the concepts were basic and if you joined the specialization, the second course added only a few new points.

By Cindy H

Feb 8, 2016

The professor isn't that great, and really difficult to follow (high speed, English pronunciation not obvious). The assignment was also really similar to the

By Walter J

Dec 21, 2015

At times a direct contrast the the precursor class. Assignments too easy. Lectures okay but syllabus lacked structure. Too easy. Wasted time.

By Nachiket M

Nov 5, 2020

Extremely outdated course content.

The relevance of the course is scanty in 2020. The course is good for those who are undergraduates but post graduate people should not be provided this course. The course content is extremely dates and examples are as well are quite old (before 2015). This course doesn't add any value to those who have already completed their post graduation in management.

By Christoph S

Oct 31, 2016

The course content is presented in a very good way. It is explained in an understandable way and examples provide a good insight. The final assignment is ambiguously described. This is very frustrating if you invest a lot of time and recognize that all classmates proceeded in a different way.

By Oscar Z

Apr 26, 2018

After having completed the Business Strategy course, I feel disappointed about Strategy Formulation. The professor's accent is hard to understand, and also based on Porter's studies, that according to the previous course were outdated.

I quit

By Fernando B A

Feb 14, 2017

Course 1 was really enriching, but this second stage didn't achieve the level that it's supposed, videos should be remake in order to connect with learners, materials should be upgrade to fulfill expectations.

By Carl H R

Oct 20, 2015

Nice form, shallow content. Simply too simple. Beware: upgrade / fee required for last two exams.

By Mania A

Mar 22, 2019

I did not like this course