Chevron Left
Back to Text Retrieval and Search Engines

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Text Retrieval and Search Engines by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
897 ratings
186 reviews

About the Course

Recent years have seen a dramatic growth of natural language text data, including web pages, news articles, scientific literature, emails, enterprise documents, and social media such as blog articles, forum posts, product reviews, and tweets. Text data are unique in that they are usually generated directly by humans rather than a computer system or sensors, and are thus especially valuable for discovering knowledge about people’s opinions and preferences, in addition to many other kinds of knowledge that we encode in text. This course will cover search engine technologies, which play an important role in any data mining applications involving text data for two reasons. First, while the raw data may be large for any particular problem, it is often a relatively small subset of the data that are relevant, and a search engine is an essential tool for quickly discovering a small subset of relevant text data in a large text collection. Second, search engines are needed to help analysts interpret any patterns discovered in the data by allowing them to examine the relevant original text data to make sense of any discovered pattern. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and the major techniques in text retrieval, which is the underlying science of search engines....

Top reviews

JH

Sep 20, 2016

Great course for those trying to understand how ro analyse and process text data. It has the right amount of tools to help you understand the basics of information retrieval and search engines.

MS

Dec 28, 2020

Great introductory course. It has opened my eyes to new challenges that face information retrieval. DON"T TAKE THIS COURSE IF YOU WANT TO LEARN elasticsearch.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 185 Reviews for Text Retrieval and Search Engines

By shaoming.xu

May 9, 2019

very good course! teach not only knowledge but also how to do research!

By Lorenzo D C

Jan 29, 2022

Very good course!! Just a problem with the MeTa platform, maybe it's time to change that?

By Michael O

Oct 17, 2019

This course has some good content, but it seems like it was abandoned. It was made a couple of years ago and I didn't perceive updates. Only has 2 programming assignments and they are optional and they use C++ and a very awkward framework. There are many problems while doing these assignments (lack of information) and there were no support at all. The discussion forums are almost inexistent.

By Laurencia V C

Feb 26, 2021

Professor ChengXiang Zhai manages to point out the critical topics in this area in a very efficient, effective and realiable way. I will take this course twice. Thank you, Coursera and University of Illinois, for this opportunity!

By Cloves P

Jun 19, 2020

This course has theoretical depth and helped me a lot to understand how elasticsearch (tool of my work) works, giving me more power to adjust search parameters.

By Ripal R

Jun 6, 2020

Excellent Course for Computer Science Enthusiastic.

Must and Highly recommend course for all Computer Science and Information technology Aspirant

By GURUSUBRAMANI. S

May 19, 2020

A bit difficult to complete as the Quiz questions were tougher. But when you go through all, you might feel good.

By SE_056_Ketan C

May 8, 2020

nice course nice videos and questions some are very easy only very little tricky questions

By Trevor E

May 30, 2020

Good course. The professor is organized and covers a nice array of the subject matter.

By RAM K

Jul 10, 2020

it is a wonderful course for student and teachers of computer science discipline.

By Haozhe ( X

May 25, 2020

Great course for understanding the theoretical part of text mining (intro level)

By Tuan L

Nov 21, 2018

It is a great course, highly recommended for those who wants to work in the AI

By Manoj P

Jul 3, 2016

Very good course for someone who wants to understand how text retrieval works.

By DR. R K S G

Jul 12, 2021

I like this course very much. I learned basics of text retrievals methods

By Abhijit D

Apr 4, 2018

Prof Zhai explains very clearly each models with their pros & cons.

By 2K19/SE/058 J

May 6, 2022

Brilliant Course for begineers thank you so much for great content

By Vishal G

May 9, 2020

Very well organised content and speaker's knowledge is excellent.

By Ivan A

Aug 1, 2017

Very useful course about text retrieval and search engines.

By Isaiah

Jan 8, 2018

A well put together course, very rigorous and in-depth...

By Ben L

Dec 25, 2016

Itś a geat course, and the teacher shared his knowlege

By Maurício S d M

Nov 23, 2016

Very good course, but could have something practical.

By Jared C

Jun 7, 2016

Great insights in this course... I learned so much!!

By Primanshu

Nov 4, 2020

As always. A great learning experience on coursera.

By Andrey N

Jun 10, 2017

Very clear and to the point about complex concepts

By Lena H

Mar 10, 2019

help for building a whole picture about the field