Chevron Left
Back to Text Retrieval and Search Engines

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Text Retrieval and Search Engines by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
499 ratings
108 reviews

About the Course

Recent years have seen a dramatic growth of natural language text data, including web pages, news articles, scientific literature, emails, enterprise documents, and social media such as blog articles, forum posts, product reviews, and tweets. Text data are unique in that they are usually generated directly by humans rather than a computer system or sensors, and are thus especially valuable for discovering knowledge about people’s opinions and preferences, in addition to many other kinds of knowledge that we encode in text. This course will cover search engine technologies, which play an important role in any data mining applications involving text data for two reasons. First, while the raw data may be large for any particular problem, it is often a relatively small subset of the data that are relevant, and a search engine is an essential tool for quickly discovering a small subset of relevant text data in a large text collection. Second, search engines are needed to help analysts interpret any patterns discovered in the data by allowing them to examine the relevant original text data to make sense of any discovered pattern. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and the major techniques in text retrieval, which is the underlying science of search engines....

Top reviews

JH

Sep 21, 2016

Great course for those trying to understand how ro analyse and process text data. It has the right amount of tools to help you understand the basics of information retrieval and search engines.

PM

Aug 29, 2016

A great overview of text retrieval methods. Good coverage of search engines. A longer course will cover search engine better (remember this is a 6 weeker)

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 106 Reviews for Text Retrieval and Search Engines

By Goya Z

Aug 13, 2016

我太喜欢这种课程编排模式了:导论,视频,测试,考试

By leila S

Aug 13, 2016

much help for deep understanding of TR

By Jared C

Jun 08, 2016

Great insights in this course... I learned so much!!

By August F C

Jul 07, 2016

thanks

By bobblogger@gmail.com

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent Introduction to Text Retrieval and Search Engines technologies.

By Arefeh Y

Nov 07, 2016

Great!

By Julio C R

May 23, 2016

It is an excellent trending topic!

By xianzhi w

Jul 20, 2016

like it.

By IVAN D S B

Apr 28, 2017

Very well mounted course.

For the majority of the topics explained, focused on techniques, not jut on theory.

Good suplemental lectures listed.

By 饶林尚

Oct 08, 2017

讲的很好,通俗易懂,老师厉害

By 贺文宁

Feb 23, 2018

真的很不错,谢谢老师。

By SOUFIANE B

Jan 20, 2017

A very useful course! thanks prof.

By Ivan A

Aug 01, 2017

Very useful course about text retrieval and search engines.

By Dawn A

May 08, 2018

Arguably the best resource for learning about key concepts of text retrieval online.

By Maurício S d M

Nov 24, 2016

Very good course, but could have something practical.

By Aigerim

Jul 04, 2018

perfect course

By Yifan N

Nov 15, 2016

great introductory course for IR

By Miriyala S

Apr 23, 2018

Good

By Christopher Z

Aug 26, 2017

Surprise!!!

By Melanie C

Jul 03, 2016

This is not a class I would normally pursue. I took it as part of the "Data Mining" certification. That being said, this class was wonderful. I learned the basics of text retrieval and search engines. I went from knowing nothing, to having a working sense of how search engine algorithms work. It was a challenging course for me, but very much worth the time and effort I put into it. It was like pulling back the curtain on the code behind Google, Netflix, and Amazon searches, and that has made me think of the world in a different way. I am now a human happily collaborating with machine learning systems. Thank you!!

By Menghe L

Jun 07, 2017

very good for learners

By To P H

May 03, 2019

Interesting content

However the prof/instructor should practice not pausing so much when explaining the concepts/contents

By Ramakrishnan C

Apr 13, 2019

Good one

By Ashish G

Apr 04, 2019

Sir is Amazing. Reviews saying this course lacks practicals are true. Fact is, you will be able to implement them on your own, as sir explained concepts pretty well. This is by far one of the best courses on coursera, comparable to Mr. Ng's course on ML and DL

By Ruben D S P

May 27, 2019

amazing classes