Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
1,771 ratings
429 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 422 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Hari R P K

May 11, 2018

Nice ! Learn from basic !

By Parv V

Oct 18, 2017

Good introductory course.

By Matt C

May 08, 2017

Wish it had more projects

By Hadwin Z

Dec 23, 2016

It is very useful course

By Vrishti j

Mar 16, 2019

Material is really good

By Riyadi A

May 20, 2018

good for introduction

By Isabel R

May 22, 2017

Good overview of UX.

By 0302music

Jan 19, 2019

A good introduction

By Ioannis G

Sep 16, 2019

Entry level course

By Grace J I R

Mar 07, 2018

Begginer's Course.

By Crystal M

Jul 30, 2017

very good intro

By ayala g

May 07, 2018

thank you!

By Chelsea D

Feb 16, 2018

T

h

e

o

n

e

By Atrem V

Aug 30, 2016

Thanks!

By Zohra A

May 06, 2017

good

By Jean-Francois C

Mar 23, 2017

This course is a useful if superficial introduction. The concepts presented are pretty basic, but foundational. The quizzes are very easy.

The instructor covers the topic in a pleasant and clear way. I would, however, have liked examples of a more visual nature (show don't tell).

Ironically, the course materials show disappointingly little concern for user experience or design. The slides look like they were thrown together in a rush and without much care for design or even spell-checking. The quiz multiple choice answers are laid out in an awful, confusing, anti-UX way. Someone should spend a few minutes fixing all of this.

By Antonio C

Oct 25, 2017

The resources are very helpful. The contents are also interesting, but at times I found myself fighting to stay awake when watching the video lessons. The introductory part of the course (before going in depth with the 4 main points of UX Design) is specially tedious and repetitive, and I have the feeling that it could have been summarized in one third.

All in all, I think as an introductory course is well worth the time.

Thank you very much for making this course available to everyone.

By Raes

May 09, 2017

This course was a good overall overview of the User Exp. Design process. It is useful for a process of proposal writing, but it didn't give me real insights into the techniques itself. A better insight into the methods (for example by short example videos) would make the course more tangible. Nevertheless a very well structured and presented introduction course!

By Kristina K

Feb 11, 2019

It is a very basic course of User Experience Design, which can explain fundamentals of UX-design process. The course gives a lot of theoretical knowledge, but lack of real examples. It is a good start for those, who are interested in a new profession, but after this course you need to take another, more advanced and deep course.

By Serhat E

Aug 15, 2017

It is a very nice, basic course (maybe too basic). I wish Alternative Designs and Prototyping sections were expanded some more. One feedback to lecturer is to look at the camera directly; she was constantly looking sideways to read the text. It was very distracting for me. Nevertheless, Thanks Georgia Tech!!!

By Andrew B

Dec 14, 2017

It's difficult to follow the instructor as they are reading their script. I would prefer a more natural delivery. Content was good, but I think a little more effort could be put towards the visuals as the existing diagrams were at times difficult to understand.

By Nikhil S

Oct 28, 2016

While the course is basic, the tests don't test user concepts (for example the order of the 4 step design process is asked 10+ times through the 5 modules)

By Yirou W

Mar 07, 2017

Lean too heavily towards theory instead of practice. I do think peer-graded assignments work better than quiz in term of UX lessons...

By Christina B

Jan 30, 2018

Useful to get a sense of what UXD is, but not much else. It is VERY basic and also very short - you can easily complete it in a day.

By Emilio G

Oct 09, 2016

The videos did not seem very interactive. The teacher just read the slides. Good as an introduction, but not very hand-on course.