Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
1,699 ratings
415 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 23, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC

Sep 26, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 410 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Luyanda

May 11, 2019

Still dont have an idea of the concept

By Kayley B

Apr 05, 2019

Too many links under "Reading"

By Andrea B

Jul 10, 2019

La profesora explica muy bien y conoce del tema pero la información no está actualizada, los recursos son bastante antiguos, tipo 2011-2014, y hay algunas cosas que ya no se hacen porque se ha demostrado que no funciona. Pero bueno igual es un buen comienzo si quieres entender las nociones básicas de UX

By SHUBHAM B

Jul 26, 2019

more examples and diagrams would be good . great content

By Ruben

Aug 14, 2019

Nice Course to learn the basics of ux design. Also afther studing 4 years as an interaction designer, this course learn me nieuws kinds of stuff! recommend it!

By Carlos G J M

May 21, 2019

Para ser un curso introductorio se explica bien el proceso de diseño de UX pero no solo UX sino UX/UI ya que en todo tiempo se habla de la UI, pero para el desarrollador de Front-End este curso le daría un gran escenario de como hacer las cosas.

By Mikaela M

Aug 18, 2019

Very basic but a good place to start in the ux world

By Viacheslav P

Aug 31, 2019

The course is a good point to start, but i found some questions tricky for foreigners - some of questions have a difference in a single word or words are placed in another order and it is hard to tell the difference.

It would be great if after course completion you provide links to other coursera courses of the same field.

By Carolina M

Sep 30, 2019

I like the course but i think that the third week is a little poor and not very clear.

By María T G D

Oct 01, 2019

It is really helpful if you are just trying to get to know what user experience research and design is all about.

By Tamás Z

Dec 01, 2019

The course provides a great base knowledge but is not practical enough. I would recommend including some small projects or home works to the course.

By Lungisani A S

Aug 13, 2019

It was quite informative for me as a person that has recently taken interest in the subject. However, I thought it would offer a bit more in terms of designing an interface.

By Anthony A I

Nov 29, 2019

quite interactive, i felt like i was in an actual classroom

By Sharima U

Dec 30, 2017

A bit too formal although the material is simple enough

By Troy L

Aug 20, 2019

A good introduction to those who only have surface-level knowledge of UX Design. This course will quickly give you a working understanding of the basic processes designers follow when developing or improving an interface design. If you are preparing for a bootcamp, or want to discover what you'll be delving into, this is a great first step. My only improvement would be editing mistakes from the lecture videos and allowing students to see the correct answers for test responses that I got wrong.

By Steven H

Dec 09, 2019

Very very basic but gave a good overview of UX Design. Since I took this course to prepare for an interview, it was exactly what I needed. However, I'm not sure it's worth the cost for a certificate because it's so basic.

By Ioannis G

Sep 16, 2019

Entry level course

By Summer X

Oct 26, 2019

This class is quite easy to learn and understand. Each concept is explained in a clear way.

By Gil K

Oct 25, 2019

Excelente, porém acredito que poderiam ser mostrado mais exemplos práticos de todos os Steps. O curso poderia ser um pouco mais ilustrativo.

By Kirsten R

Jun 11, 2018

Good for beginners to get an idea of what is involved.

By Hyo r l

Mar 16, 2018

took less than few hours to complete!

Clear and easy explanation helped me to grasp basic concepts of UX design

By Ikechi O

Aug 09, 2017

Great Course for a Beginner User Experience Designer!!

#RudigoStudent

By Aramide S

Mar 12, 2018

The course has addtional good resources and reading material, which was half of the learning content, otherwise it would have been too basic.

By Matt C

May 08, 2017

Wish it had more projects

By Roy A A

Dec 23, 2017

Basics of UXD are neatly covered with simple examples and narratives.