Chevron Left
Back to Managing an Agile Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing an Agile Team by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
1,070 ratings
260 reviews

About the Course

While agile has become the de facto standard for managing digital innovation teams, many wonder if they’re doing it ‘right’. Twitter is full of jokes about how teams say they do agile but don’t ‘really’ do it. The reality is that getting the most out of agile is less about observing specific procedures and more about how a team focuses and measures their progress. Rather than just boring you with an accounting of agile methodologies, this course focuses on helping you better charter your team’s focus, definition of success, and practice of agile. While learning about agile mainstays like Scrum, XP, and kanban, you’ll also learn to help your team ask the right questions about how they’re working and facilitate good answers on how agile can help. This course is supported by the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

FB
Nov 12, 2018

I have learned new things about agile practices and it worth the time to take the course. Sometimes I had the impression that some subject are vague, but overall the course rised to the expectations

EG
Dec 11, 2019

This course was Excellent. The Instructor is very engaging and kept my attention through all of the 4 weeks of class. The Assignment was extremely helpful in applying the learning to a project.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 256 Reviews for Managing an Agile Team

By Saeed S

May 1, 2016

excellent

By oscar e m m

Mar 28, 2021

Excelent

By Sergio A T G

Sep 7, 2020

Great!

By Punitha M

Nov 7, 2020

Nice

By Ahamed A

Nov 4, 2020

GOOD

By RAJ Z

Jul 1, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Jun 20, 2020

GOOD

By MASOOTH A

Jul 15, 2019

good

By Ricardo I

Mar 26, 2019

Good

By María d C P

Jul 3, 2021

ok

By Enrique S L

Sep 5, 2020

V

By Michael S

Aug 2, 2019

G

By Olga G

Feb 10, 2020

Overall the course is fine. Actually, this is the first course out of 3 in the specialization that I didn't struggle that much with.

1 star I am taking off because of 2 particular things:

First - at the end of the Week 3 learners have to take a Quiz, but answer(s) to one question at least is provided in the videos of Week 4, which doesn't make much sense and resulted for me in multiple attempts to have it all 100% right (actually, I was able to answer only after watching the videos).

Second - in the peer-reviewed assignment Alex offers 2 options to choose from (to answer in general words or to make the business canva and the storyboard), but in the evaluation itself it is expected that you actually have the business canva and the storyboard, otherwise you will lose the points. Which also doesn't make much sense.

These two things should be reviewed by the instructor and/or Coursera.

By Ruban R

Feb 12, 2018

Overall an excellent course. Provides plenty of actionable information and advice for managing Agile teams. The peer reviewed coursework, while excellent exercises in themselves, don't provide as much feedback as I'd like. It seems like they're marked without the real desire to provide valuable feedback, but as a tedious, mandatory task required to get your grade.

By Fabián G R

Oct 18, 2020

It's a good course. It is dealing concepts about Agile, not only scrum which is usually to be the common in other courses. Perhaps, in these courses are necessary to introduce more exercise practical beginning lesson 1. The review the other peers, is not exhaustive and when you review other works, there are a lot of tasks similars.

By Jens G

Jul 1, 2016

In depth and practical.

Some more linking to the previous courses could provide better framing of the courses content in the larger scheme. For a more systemic view of how all things are connected in this course and all previous courses I would have to go deep into it all again. As this was my first acquaintance with such a course

By Alberto D

Jun 8, 2020

I loved the course and Alex is great at explaining everything but probably things I don't directly work with software development, I didn't feel as motivated to get through with it as with the previous ones in the specialization.

By Richard W

Mar 24, 2018

Very well presented. I love the Learn, decide, Build & Manage quadrants. Would love to have more informaiton of how to manage the Snr managers and sponsors as my organisation has not yet transitioned the Snr management team.

By Alberto R N

May 15, 2020

It's really worth it!

Some courses are better shown, didactic and prepared than others, but in the end the tips come together in a pleasant way.

Congratulations to the University and Professors, very good work.

By Rafael G

Nov 12, 2018

Eu gostei bastante do curso. Acredito que é um treinamento interessante se você quer ter uma visão geral sobre diversas metodologias ágeis disponíveis no mercado e entender como poderia aplicá-las na vida real.

By Sarah A

Dec 5, 2020

I liked every part of this course except one thing (I believe I am the only one who will say this) the interviews were not much useful and I could not complete them till the end with a sharp focus

By ahmed e

May 11, 2020

This course gave me an idea on how to manage an agile team with different approaches and in different situations and learned the key role for each member of the team

By Ruth Y

Apr 19, 2021

This was a good introduction to understanding the structure and terminology to consider when managing an Agile team. Exercises and examples were engaging.

By Janita S

Oct 27, 2020

Good course but I don't think the final tasks that we did and reviewed were not 100% compatible with the course "Managing an Agile Team".

By Caroline L

Feb 6, 2020

This course will benefit anyone who is transitioning into the Agile software approach. It's a great intro for any role on an agile team.