Chevron Left
Back to Managing an Agile Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing an Agile Team by University of Virginia

4.7
526 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

While agile has become the de facto standard for managing digital innovation teams, many wonder if they’re doing it ‘right’. Twitter is full of jokes about how teams say they do agile but don’t ‘really’ do it. The reality is that getting the most out of agile is less about observing specific procedures and more about how a team focuses and measures their progress. Rather than just boring you with an accounting of agile methodologies, this course focuses on helping you better charter your team’s focus, definition of success, and practice of agile. While learning about agile mainstays like Scrum, XP, and kanban, you’ll also learn to help your team ask the right questions about how they’re working and facilitate good answers on how agile can help. As a Project Management Institute (PMI®) Registered Education Provider, the University of Virginia Darden School of Business has been approved by PMI to issue 20 professional development units (PDUs) for this course, which focuses on core competencies recognized by PMI. (Provider #2122) This course is supported by the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Top reviews

FB

Nov 13, 2018

I have learned new things about agile practices and it worth the time to take the course. Sometimes I had the impression that some subject are vague, but overall the course rised to the expectations

OS

Jun 26, 2017

The course was challenging for me since I lacked the experience of working in an IT/Software Development, but I thought all the practical exercises forced me to develop some practical skills.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 107 Reviews for Managing an Agile Team

By Javier E M C

Jul 21, 2019

Very Good Course

By Michael S

Aug 02, 2019

G

By Amit K M

Aug 12, 2019

Very well structured and Alex gives some very practical advice. Obviously Agile is something that you can learn through practice but it is a very good starter pack. A few case studies and best practices helped me to compare scenarios that I am facing with the ones that I studied here and choose the options that i wodl want to explore with the team. Also it helped me in understanding the predicament that each stakeholder faces, while execution of a project in an Agile way and how to may be help people understand the objective and benefits of adopting Agile.

By Péter S

Jun 01, 2019

It was the best course what I attended for years. It was really interesting, enjoyable and inspirational.

By Cheralyn T

Aug 24, 2019

Managing an Agile team has been very helpful and insightful. The course has assisted in my workspace.

By Harshvardhan R

Aug 30, 2019

Thanks for the Guidance Alex. It was indeed an interesting course and i would like to pursue more such courses.

with regards

Harshvardhan Raut

By Konstantin K

Aug 29, 2019

Great course!

By Mark H

Sep 02, 2019

Great course as part of the specialization. Not sure if this would make sense, outside of the specialization though.

By Natalia P

Sep 07, 2019

Very good content of the course with great insights from industry gugus. Don't skip on those interviews, they're priceless!

By Carmen M G

Dec 03, 2018

A wide view of agile project mana

By Varun D

Dec 19, 2018

Good overview and examples from real life, the assignments were relevant too

By Reid C

Jan 03, 2019

So far the best course set I've taken on Coursera.

By Rafael G

Nov 12, 2018

Eu gostei bastante do curso. Acredito que é um treinamento interessante se você quer ter uma visão geral sobre diversas metodologias ágeis disponíveis no mercado e entender como poderia aplicá-las na vida real.

By Kristin P

Feb 27, 2019

The learning material is great however the assignments do not have the same level.

By Maria D

Oct 08, 2018

It is a great course, to learn about agile, and see the diferencies between companies, teams based on their culture o needs.

By Kewal P

Jun 17, 2017

Great Insights into agile principals

By Olivier G

Oct 07, 2016

Highly interesting, I do recommend the course

Thank you Alex

By Ruban R

Feb 12, 2018

Overall an excellent course. Provides plenty of actionable information and advice for managing Agile teams. The peer reviewed coursework, while excellent exercises in themselves, don't provide as much feedback as I'd like. It seems like they're marked without the real desire to provide valuable feedback, but as a tedious, mandatory task required to get your grade.

By Amy M

Jan 30, 2017

Great content, but I felt some sections of the assignments were vague, making them more confusing/harder than needed.

By Jens G

Jul 01, 2016

In depth and practical.

Some more linking to the previous courses could provide better framing of the courses content in the larger scheme. For a more systemic view of how all things are connected in this course and all previous courses I would have to go deep into it all again. As this was my first acquaintance with such a course

By Richard W

Mar 24, 2018

Very well presented. I love the Learn, decide, Build & Manage quadrants. Would love to have more informaiton of how to manage the Snr managers and sponsors as my organisation has not yet transitioned the Snr management team.

By Indra G

May 29, 2018

Good coerce content and very nicely explained.

By Johannes R

Dec 01, 2017

Very good course. Speaker is knowledgable, but sometimes using terrible (funny) analogies.

By Marshall S

Jul 17, 2019

finally talks about agile! i feel like this should be the first course in the specialization

By Uma B

Jul 24, 2019

Really good content and easy to learn