Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.3
stars
593 ratings
193 reviews

About the Course

This course provides teachers with the foundation for understanding the movement towards virtual instruction. It introduces fundamental knowledge needed by teachers to succeed in a technology-dependent, instructional environment. You will explore the history of online learning and understand how a variety of delivery models are evolving in the K-12 environment, ranging from completely online to hybrid or blended classrooms. We will discuss how the programs work and who they serve, addressing some basics about equity issues, access and school funding, as well as ethical and legal issues that support and challenge the models. Upon completion of the course, you will understand what it takes to transition from teaching in the classroom to providing virtual instruction. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Describe the history of online learning models 2. Identify current virtual instruction models and who offers them 3. Explain how virtual instruction models have evolved and why 4. Describe common features of synchronous and asynchronous technologies 5. Discuss basic ethical and legal issues faced by schools...

Top reviews

JH

Jan 19, 2018

Excepcional, debido a que toda la secuencia de la aplicación y el desarrollo de la educación virtual, impregna los profesores y estudiantes en un universo de excitación y deseo de aprender. Gracias

DA

Jul 14, 2020

This course is the best resource of virtual education knowledge, which was very well managed by Cindy Carbajal by providing material in her presentations and important interviews.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 194 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Iffat J S

Jun 21, 2020

great course

By Rajesh M

May 25, 2020

Great Course

By Pavni G

May 12, 2020

Great Course

By Jayesh G

Aug 07, 2020

Good Course

By Susan D

Apr 21, 2016

Fantastic!

By YUSRI B A

Aug 06, 2020

Excellent

By Elizabeth J

Jun 25, 2020

Thank you

By Dr. C R S

Aug 12, 2020

Good

By Vikram K V

Jul 30, 2020

Good

By Dr. J A

Jul 18, 2020

good

By Aparna C

Jun 29, 2020

Good

By Krishna K

Jun 27, 2020

Nice

By Gitanjali

Jun 14, 2020

Good

By vijai k m

May 29, 2020

g

o

o

d

By Dr M R K

May 18, 2020

good

By Juan H B S

Feb 01, 2018

E

By Eleanor C

Aug 09, 2018

Useful tips about online learning and the peer assignment means you can see other examples of how to plan online learning, which is really helpful. However, this course is quite centred on America, including different states’ policies, funding models etc. Not so relevant for the international student. I found I had to learn that stuff for the quizzes even though I don’t need to know it otherwise.

By Bradley K

Apr 23, 2020

This was a very strong introduction to virtual learning; however, I feel that there was way too much emphasis on the history of virtual teaching and names of specific platforms, which will not make me a better online teacher, at the expense of the actual brass tacks of how to teach well online. Hopefully, the rest of the courses in this specialization will focus more in that area.

By Manon A

Sep 04, 2017

+ The provided content is really interesting and I'm looking forward to lots of further information about that topic!

- For me, an example of the lesson plan would have been very helpfull because even if my english is quite ok, i didn't recognize that a simple sheet would be enough.

+ Lots of very interesting bonus materials are listet!

By Mayur P

Jul 03, 2020

The course is indeed a start point but definitely things have picked up more pace since this course was developed. I am looking forward to Emerging Technologies & Trends to provide a better insight into the course for graduate student teaching. However as a foundations course this would be a decent start for all.

By Paolo M P B

Jul 18, 2020

This is a great introductory course for virtual education. The US-specific portion of this course was what put me off at times. They were too technical and some were not so relevant in other contexts. Nonetheless, this course provided good materials for those who are starting with virtual education.

By Philipp T

Jul 14, 2020

The content is relevant and helped a bit. However, I can understand that the lesson is rather focusing on American laws and regulations which were hard for me to learn as an European. Maybe a change in name of the course or just making that mandatory for Americans would have been nice.

By Patricia V

Jan 08, 2017

I thought the introduction to the vocabulary to this form of instruction to be interesting. Although, I did struggle with some of the quizzes and had trouble distinguishing what they were requesting because I felt they needed a glossary of all the terminology. All in all a good course.

By Wilson T

May 05, 2020

Most of the materials are useful and can enhance my knowledge on the topic. However, the information in week 4 may not be appropriate for international learners outside US. It would be better to summarize the contents in week 4 and add information from other countries.

By Maria E D

Jul 23, 2020

I learned a lot; however, the course felt a little dry as the instructor used too many slides; perhaps it would have been better if in some of the lectures we could see her talking to us, as if recording a live lecture.

Thanks though, I learned a lot!