Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Virtual Instruction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Virtual Instruction by University of California, Irvine

4.3
stars
593 ratings
193 reviews

About the Course

This course provides teachers with the foundation for understanding the movement towards virtual instruction. It introduces fundamental knowledge needed by teachers to succeed in a technology-dependent, instructional environment. You will explore the history of online learning and understand how a variety of delivery models are evolving in the K-12 environment, ranging from completely online to hybrid or blended classrooms. We will discuss how the programs work and who they serve, addressing some basics about equity issues, access and school funding, as well as ethical and legal issues that support and challenge the models. Upon completion of the course, you will understand what it takes to transition from teaching in the classroom to providing virtual instruction. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Describe the history of online learning models 2. Identify current virtual instruction models and who offers them 3. Explain how virtual instruction models have evolved and why 4. Describe common features of synchronous and asynchronous technologies 5. Discuss basic ethical and legal issues faced by schools...

Top reviews

JH

Jan 19, 2018

Excepcional, debido a que toda la secuencia de la aplicación y el desarrollo de la educación virtual, impregna los profesores y estudiantes en un universo de excitación y deseo de aprender. Gracias

DA

Jul 14, 2020

This course is the best resource of virtual education knowledge, which was very well managed by Cindy Carbajal by providing material in her presentations and important interviews.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 194 Reviews for Foundations of Virtual Instruction

By Yunus Y

Sep 13, 2017

The course and materials are good but I could not attend to the discussion forms in the system. Otherwise, it is very educational and the information the learners tested must be exact is a challenging situation in answering the questions.

By Ma. T F N

Jun 11, 2020

I have learned a lot especially about the guiding principles of virtual education and other necessary basic knowledge a teacher should know before entering the world of online or blended teaching and learning.

By Lynn R C

Jun 19, 2020

Very basic and quite out of date with some silly content, like who founded Phoenix University. Also, it is a good example of un-engaging online teaching. Still, there was some useful information.

By Mudit M

Jun 21, 2020

My first online course.

Quite engaging.

Gave me confidence to launch myself in this new way of teaching learning.

Learning tools and course organisation are quite well done

By Mr H S

Jun 02, 2020

I found the content of this course significantly useful in understanding the architecture of virtual learning. How to cater the varying need of the student.

By Radhika J

May 15, 2020

Interesting course, and has given a lot of information about various options available for tutors and how can education practices be built further.

By Lizandra d A C

Jul 19, 2020

It was a good foundations course, but it had too much information about US schools and laws, it is not relavant at all for the rest of the world.

By Ekaterina N

Feb 20, 2017

A lot of concise and informative materials, a lot of additional resources for each class, a big inspiration for my work and self development!

By Abdelatif A

Feb 21, 2017

This course lay down a solid foundation for the virtual education specialization, on which you can build a great practice in the field.

By Valentina A R C

Feb 14, 2019

I learned a lot with the videos and articles, but many links are not working, and some virtual tools are obsolete.

By Shankar l

Jun 30, 2020

it was realy good to learn about virtual education it must be helpful in COVID-19 situation

thank you COURSERA

By Dr.Neelu J A

May 17, 2020

The session could be made illustrative and engaging., so that it engages learners. It is largely theoretical.

By MIRI T

May 09, 2020

I learned many things from this course.

Thanks for your effort.

The instructor can use her sound more live.

By Kampanart C

Apr 20, 2020

Clear explanation and easy to follow. However, the content needs to be updated and some quiz needs visions.

By Jude I

Dec 29, 2019

It's a great introduction, I only wish they would update some of the links in their resource pages

By Dr. M T F

Jul 05, 2020

A very good and informative course. i have learned many new things and enjoyed the quiz a lot.

By Diana A C D

Jul 08, 2020

It was nice, the only thing I didn't like is that the teacher is not the one that scores you.

By Renee A

Dec 28, 2018

This course was useful but many of the resources were missing and the forums did not work.

By Tarique S

Jun 25, 2020

Wonderful experience of knowing about role of virtual teacher And many more things.

By Cristina M C M

Jan 27, 2018

Great course, a lot to learn, very detail in US educational laws and programs.

By Nanda P

Jun 26, 2020

Got better understanding about virtual classes how they need to be conducted.

By Soultana K

Aug 07, 2020

The US focus was a bit too heavy for an international learner like myself.

By Anil K V

May 29, 2020

I enjoyed very the content of the course and the method of evaluation .

By Carolina R

Apr 03, 2020

Some content can use updates especially in the light of current events

By Amit S

May 22, 2020

Satisfactory. Needs improvement in delivery and information. Thanks.