Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,982 ratings
1,223 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

TM

May 23, 2021

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,246 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Alyona O

Jan 25, 2021

I enjoy the course it makes me work and think. To complete my project I needed to research additional materials (how to use Figma, color pallets, and so on). Thanks to the course creators it was a very fun and inspiring experience.

By Trinidad D

Aug 10, 2020

I learnt a lot during the course, and I think that it was super well explained. Every topic was clear and had all the information needed plus some extra resources, which were helpful. I'm very happy with it and I truly recommend it

By Yana C

Sep 30, 2021

I​ believe this is a great course of a big Specialisation. It really helped me to structure technics and best practices which could be used. What's more it has vivid the knowledge on design, greatful to have completed this course

By Mohit B

Aug 3, 2019

It would be good if the course also had an actual grader along with peer reviews. Overall, its a great course and does a very good job in not just explaining, but getting the learner going on to create actual prototype UI design.

By Maritza I P P

May 4, 2022

Excelente curso, es prático y eso lo hace más interesante, además tiene subtitulos en español y son entendibles, lo cual es una muestra del interes que tienen por ofrecer un curso para todos en el mundo.

Quede muy satisfecha.

By David H

Jun 10, 2021

- Excellent course with clear explanation

- Well laid out and easy to follow course

- Very good for someone like myself who has completed a semester on this subject and wants to refresh their memory

- Overall good things to say.

By Prathamesh P

Jul 4, 2020

Very good short and sweet course. Learnt plenty in a short time. Assignments are good. Peer review has pros and cons: I learnt from reviewing other students' work but the grading is subjective and the scores can be debatable.

By Amy J

Feb 20, 2020

Very good introductory course for all levels. The instructor explains things very well and I felt that it was easy to understand. The challenge is the assignment and trying to come up with something beautiful and functional.

By Sue S

Jul 19, 2020

The explanations of the teachers are very nice and clear. The assignments are effective and they helps me a lot. Thank you all for this amazing course. You all did amazing. I am looking forward to more courses of you guys.

By Jeffrey J

Apr 6, 2020

Very interesting and interactive way of teaching. Love the videos and peer graded assignments, gives us an understanding of what others think and feel about our work. Recommended to anyone who is interested in UI design.

By Aishwarya P

Jun 6, 2020

Amazing lectures and course material. I had no prior experience in UI design, this course helped me understand the basics. It will be way easier if you already know some graphic design knowledge and the software to use

By Stefano S

Nov 16, 2019

I like this course very and have learned a lot about design, photoshop, and other programs. It would very nice if one course is done that we could download the principle or an overall overview of what we have learned.

By Olga P

Apr 17, 2020

I am very satisfied that I finish this course. It shows me so many things that I didn't think of. I highly recommended taking part in the course for both beginners and advanced marketers, it opens a new perspective.

By Mitchell G

Dec 27, 2018

A really great course.

I was a little apprehensive about the peer graded assignments as I have very little design experience but the course content is broken up into digestible pieces and good examples are provided.

By Vicharah L

Aug 9, 2019

A great course to get an overall overview of the specific elements you need for a user interface. I like the idea that other classmates get to review your work. It was indeed very helpful, but a lot of content.

By Gloria N

Apr 21, 2022

The Course is really recommended for anyone who would want to specialize in UI/UX Design. The videos actually explained the course in detail. I also liked the reading parts with all the links for further study

By Yago P

Oct 19, 2019

Really cool. Main benefit from activities as you need to spend time thinking and this helps a lot to learn.

I miss a bit more guidance on the apps to work with, maybe recommendation of some open source options.

By Mary M

Sep 10, 2020

This course does a good job of connecting the designer with the graphic elements of an interface. I thought the professor did an excellent job of explaining concepts and goals from the graphic perspective

By Venus Z

Aug 14, 2019

I loved this course! I'm a novice in this field and knew nothing about Viz Elements of UI but now I feel more confident in UI design; I understand the concept and approach. For me, this course was 5 stars!

By Ranajoy R

Dec 15, 2020

Excellent course to understand what it takes to create better user interface and how UI and UX are different but need to work together. Even the exercises are challenging for the non-designer but doable.

By Gala H

Feb 27, 2020

Muy completo e interesante, me ha encantado. Aprendes muchísimo y te hace plantearte nuevas formas de entender cómo interactuamos con los productos digitales. ¡Ahora a por el resto de la especialización!

By Shaikh A A

Feb 24, 2020

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone in changing my career life for the better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

By Jessika M

Sep 15, 2021

I've taken a few UX/UI courses and this one is completely different, with a design centered approach. Easy to follow and the weekly assignments really help you build your first interface step by step

By Marem L

Apr 29, 2021

Muy bien me ha ayudado a desarrollar mis habilidades como diseñadora grafica y al mismo tiempo me ha iniciado en el mundo de la UX/UI, con muchas ganas de seguir aprendiendo de esto con ustedes!!!!!

By Krystle G

Jun 6, 2022

This course was fun and easy to get through! Not demanding of my time at all which is great being I have a 6 month old! I plan to continue with the remaining 3 courses in the UX/UI Specialization.