Chevron Left
Back to Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
stars
848 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top reviews

AP
Jul 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 232 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

By Kafilat T S

May 10, 2020

This is a very informative course. I learnt from it and wish to learn more such how to edit and align sequence data. Also how to assemble raw data before analysis. Thanks to all involved in delivering this course. It is a great online experience.

By Eric H

Jul 26, 2019

While this course was very helpful in learning about DTU's tools (the final project was pretty helpful), I initially thought this course would also go over non-DTU tools, so perhaps it would be better to clarify that in the course title.

By Jayesh M B

May 2, 2020

Overall a good course to learn about the analysis of WGS and with real examples.

Though a bit outdated as of 2020 as this is being replaced by metagenomics pipelines, Nonetheless it forms the basis to understand WGS analysis.

By Adeyemi S

Feb 20, 2019

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

By AMAL E

Apr 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course. I have learned new knowledge. Typing is a little bit new for me but I managed to understand the tools and how to use them. Looking forward to the new course by your team.

By Carol H

Apr 1, 2019

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.

By Ifrah J

May 23, 2020

Overall course was really great. It had covered all the necessary aspects. Only suggestion is to elaborate SNPs section in more detail, it was difficult to interpret. Thank you so much for such effort.

By Ulla J C

Jan 14, 2020

Please correct the text as there are many mistakes. It it simply not being typed correctly to what the teachers are actually saying. Otherwise I think it was a good course. I enjoyed it. Thanks :)

By JORGE E M V

Aug 22, 2020

It is a very good course, easy to follow, needs to be updated with respect to some details of the bioinformatic tools presented with the changes of version of the tools through time.

By Sayan P

Oct 1, 2018

This course helped me a lot in determining bacterial typing. Just one question, in some quizzes I got some answers wrong so is there any way of knowing the right answer.

By Md. M H

May 23, 2020

It's a very nice course for the beginner to know different tools and their applications. I am feeling happy to receive it and I can understand the genome sequence.

By SHAMSUDIN A

Jan 13, 2018

A very interesting course. Simple and easy to follow. I learnt so much from the course. It has increased my desire to learn more about bacterial genomics.

By Deleted A

Jun 23, 2019

Very well done. Unfortunately some tools are now partially different or not active (such as batch submission), but it is a nice course.

By Nicole H

Sep 25, 2020

Nice Introduction to the topic with a very practical example in the end that brings together all the things you learn in the course.

By S. M N Z

Jul 21, 2020

Ms. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon has heavy accent and it's difficult to understand. But enjoyed the whole course. Learned a lot.

By Dantu S S L S

Sep 12, 2020

Very thorough course, easy to follow ,excellent teaching. Thank you so much for putting effort to bring this course to us.

By Ben W

Oct 24, 2017

Very informative course. Some practical exercises don't giive alwys the expected result.

e.g. pMLST of question 9 Quiz 4

By Jorge G

Oct 16, 2019

Un buen curso para aprender a utilizar las herramientas descritas. Gran utilidad de cara al futuro profesional.

By Matthew Y

Mar 3, 2019

Very much enjoyed the course and the practice problems involving Whole Genome Sequencing on the CGE website

By Mokhtar M E

May 28, 2020

course is good i had learned really but it will be much better when create section after each session

By KAJAL N K

Aug 17, 2020

The instructor Shinny Ma'am did a wonderful job. it is one of the best courses I have done so far.

By Dyuti P

May 23, 2020

Thank you for the wonderful course. I can clearly say that I am now one step forward to my passion

By Deboleena D

Sep 9, 2020

It was a very nice experience learning through DTU. I want to thank all the professors very much.

By Asif H

Jun 9, 2020

The overall course material was good. But I faced a problem with the accent of the instructors.