Chevron Left
Back to Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
stars
1,125 ratings
295 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top reviews

AP

Jul 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB

Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 299 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

By Ali P

Jun 6, 2020

It's a good work created by young scientists, but there are some points need to be improved like providing a manuscript containing a short explanation/ discribtion for every online tool in CGE server to use it as a reference for samples analysis and results interpretation while answering the quizzes.

By Shalmali K

Jun 7, 2020

Course is very simple to understand and follow. Simple exercises through out help learn the tools easily and also are able to apply all at the end. I found the CSI analysis and phylogenetic tree formation particularly little tough so little more explanation about that should be given in the video.

By Jaspreet S P

Feb 1, 2020

The course was a great kick-starter for me. Kudos to the whole team. But the course was more focused on the tools made by the university. It would have been awesome if they have explained the ins and outs of the theory and back end process they are teaching along with their tools usage.

By Abrar R A

Mar 28, 2021

I am so happy to finish this course with you. This is the first online course I had and I hope to learn more and more from you.

I start to study and use metagenomics but I don't have enough information about it and about bioinformatics. you made it easy to understand for me. Thank you

By Md. M R

May 30, 2020

The speakers tried very hard to explain every details of each tools and processes. they literally made it very easy to understand the process and the manner of how to execute them. I just wish the videos were a little more faster. Great course, great teachers.

Thank you.

By Kafilat T S

May 10, 2020

This is a very informative course. I learnt from it and wish to learn more such how to edit and align sequence data. Also how to assemble raw data before analysis. Thanks to all involved in delivering this course. It is a great online experience.

By Eric H

Jul 26, 2019

While this course was very helpful in learning about DTU's tools (the final project was pretty helpful), I initially thought this course would also go over non-DTU tools, so perhaps it would be better to clarify that in the course title.

By Jayesh M B

May 2, 2020

Overall a good course to learn about the analysis of WGS and with real examples.

Though a bit outdated as of 2020 as this is being replaced by metagenomics pipelines, Nonetheless it forms the basis to understand WGS analysis.

By Adeyemi S

Feb 20, 2019

Please, improvements on the bioinformatic tools and the zipped files will be appreciated, i had little difficulty opening and accessing them on my andriod device, however overall, the course was enlightening

By AMAL E

Apr 20, 2020

Thank you very much for this course. I have learned new knowledge. Typing is a little bit new for me but I managed to understand the tools and how to use them. Looking forward to the new course by your team.

By Carol H

Apr 1, 2019

The information presented was very good in terms of content. Sometimes the accent of the tutors was difficult to follow and the English translation of the text for the presentations were not always accurate.

By Ifrah J

May 23, 2020

Overall course was really great. It had covered all the necessary aspects. Only suggestion is to elaborate SNPs section in more detail, it was difficult to interpret. Thank you so much for such effort.

By Francisco J F S

Feb 13, 2022

Hay conceptos que no se explican y son difíciles de comprender. Además, algunas herramientas no son explicadas en su totalidad y pueden haber momentos de confusión. Aún así, buen curso, recomendado

By Gabriela R S B

Feb 15, 2021

I really learned the basics and the tools presented in this course; thanks!. I have one suggestion, can you include more theoretical and essential information on the topics before giving the tools.

By Ulla J C

Jan 14, 2020

Please correct the text as there are many mistakes. It it simply not being typed correctly to what the teachers are actually saying. Otherwise I think it was a good course. I enjoyed it. Thanks :)

By JORGE E M V

Aug 22, 2020

It is a very good course, easy to follow, needs to be updated with respect to some details of the bioinformatic tools presented with the changes of version of the tools through time.

By Muhaimen A

Mar 22, 2022

This course was very informative and videos were very engaging. As a soil microbiologist this course provides you an introduction to tools which are being used in epidemiology.

By Sayan P

Oct 1, 2018

This course helped me a lot in determining bacterial typing. Just one question, in some quizzes I got some answers wrong so is there any way of knowing the right answer.

By Tuan N

Apr 20, 2021

The course provides some basic ideas about sequencing and assembling in a fairly easy to understand manner. However, the parts of phylogenic trees are badly explained.

By Md. M H

May 23, 2020

It's a very nice course for the beginner to know different tools and their applications. I am feeling happy to receive it and I can understand the genome sequence.

By Zaharat O K

Sep 10, 2021

My knowledge of Whole Genome Sequencing has been basically from theory classes, but this course offered the opportunity to interpret some results practically.

By SHAMSUDIN A

Jan 13, 2018

A very interesting course. Simple and easy to follow. I learnt so much from the course. It has increased my desire to learn more about bacterial genomics.

By Deleted A

Jun 23, 2019

Very well done. Unfortunately some tools are now partially different or not active (such as batch submission), but it is a nice course.

By Nicole H

Sep 25, 2020

Nice Introduction to the topic with a very practical example in the end that brings together all the things you learn in the course.

By S. M N Z

Jul 21, 2020

Ms. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon has heavy accent and it's difficult to understand. But enjoyed the whole course. Learned a lot.