Chevron Left
Back to Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
stars
848 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top reviews

AP
Jul 19, 2020

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
Jun 9, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 232 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

By Mustafa R C

Jan 6, 2018

Very good, Thanks DTU

By Revathy B

May 26, 2020

really informative

By Hajar F A

Apr 23, 2020

Really appreciate!

By Shanmukha A P

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent course

By Christian A

Jun 6, 2020

Easy to follow

By Bertram K

Aug 2, 2020

Great Course!

By A A A E

Jan 8, 2019

applications

By shuva s

Apr 9, 2018

Learnt a lot

By Bavani L

Jun 4, 2020

Nice good

By Abhinandan C

Nov 16, 2017

Great One

By Dr M

Sep 25, 2020

nice

By BANSI S

Jul 31, 2020

.

By Priya S

Nov 5, 2019

-

By Signe A M

Nov 22, 2019

The course is an introduction to the Technical University of Denmark's (DTU) open access genomic tools only. Do not expect to learn about tools from other publishers.

Some of the questions for the quizzes were not covered by the video material, you either have to make educated guesses or find the information somewhere else. There is a long wait time for many of the tools, so remember to put in your e-mail address and do not expect to complete a quiz within the same day.

I preferred Rolf's lectures, they were short and well explained.

Overall I think it was a nice course for refreshing my memory but I don't believe this course is applicable outside university or similar research institutions (i.e. not so relevant if you need to integrate WGS at your workplace).

By Robert G

Aug 19, 2017

This course provides a first hand view of whole genome sequencing (at the contig level anyway) as well as providing the concepts and tools for characterizing and typing bacteria and their associated plasmids. The course reviews the concepts and introduces the tools needed for determining species, type, and association between strains of bacteria. This course is directed toward microbiologists who wish to learn about using whole genome methods to type bacteria. However, anyone can learn the biology behind these methods

By Maria S

Jan 5, 2018

Very good overview of the different CGE tools available for analysis of WGS bacterial genome data. Although it partly feels like pure advertisement of the tools and the videos describing usage of the different tools are very repetitive, overall the course gives a good insight. However, the instructors could put a bit more effort in answering the more complex quetions asked in the forum ins

By Mihaela M

Jul 16, 2020

I found the topic really interesting! Instructors were great and the practical tasks were pretty useful! However, as a complete beginner in studying bacteria outbreaks, I would have loved an intro, explaining a little more about outbreaks, as well as some basic terminology, which would have made the course self-contained. Overall pretty good though! :)

By Deleted A

Jan 24, 2019

Such a good course which gives an overview to some of the bioinformatic tools that can be employed in genome sequencing. I'm glad I enrolled for this course because it has enlightened me of the other part of molecular biology I didn't know so much about.

So thanks to all the instructors that dedicated their time to provide us with new knowledge.

By Adrián L F

Apr 27, 2018

Es un curso bastante fácil para entender las herramientas bioinformáticas que tenemos actualmente para interpretar el genoma bacteriano. Curso muy recomendable para farmacéuticos, biólogos, médicos, enfermeros, biólogos sanitarios y demás componentes de las Ciencias de la Salud e incluso otras carreras científicas como Ciencias Ambientales.

By Michael O S

Oct 24, 2019

Course was great! Practical hands-on knowledge about what it's like to be a microbial bioinformatician (minus coding the tools themselves). One thing I wish they had touched more deeply upon is how WGS itself works, which I was kind of expecting. But I'd say I got enough out of it to merit the price! Thank you!

By Angela K T C

Oct 15, 2020

The teachings are good and practical. Also the quizzes wherein you download an unknown sample then you'll run it in CGE and find out the results. However, there are parts in the course (i.e. CSI phylogeny) that does not include interpretation of results. Overall, this course is so good and I learned a lot.

By Ali P

Jun 6, 2020

It's a good work created by young scientists, but there are some points need to be improved like providing a manuscript containing a short explanation/ discribtion for every online tool in CGE server to use it as a reference for samples analysis and results interpretation while answering the quizzes.

By Shalmali K

Jun 7, 2020

Course is very simple to understand and follow. Simple exercises through out help learn the tools easily and also are able to apply all at the end. I found the CSI analysis and phylogenetic tree formation particularly little tough so little more explanation about that should be given in the video.

By Jaspreet S P

Feb 1, 2020

The course was a great kick-starter for me. Kudos to the whole team. But the course was more focused on the tools made by the university. It would have been awesome if they have explained the ins and outs of the theory and back end process they are teaching along with their tools usage.

By Moshiur R

May 30, 2020

The speakers tried very hard to explain every details of each tools and processes. they literally made it very easy to understand the process and the manner of how to execute them. I just wish the videos were a little more faster. Great course, great teachers.

Thank you.