Chevron Left
Back to Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.6
281 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

Top reviews

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

XL

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 72 Reviews for Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications

By Robert F

Jan 28, 2019

This course is mostly just an advertisement for the particular tools created by the CGE. It would have benefited from deeper explanations of the algorithms at many points. It didn't really build skills, though I am certainly more aware of the breadth of their online tools now.

By Kumar v

Mar 17, 2019

Course contains relevant application based material. It was quite helpful.

By Marwa M M B

Aug 19, 2017

It is totally beneficial course for those who are working in epidemiology, however; I was expected to learn different tools for species and microbial communities identification.

By Sören W

Jan 07, 2019

It is basically a commercial for their tools. Not much content to learn.

By Douglas A H

Dec 29, 2017

I quite liked the instructors, but after the first few lessons, the course essentially becomes an advertisement/user manual for their university's (admittedly free) online software tools.

By WAI K L

Nov 27, 2018

Great course that help student to understand the application for non computing scientist.

By Jana M

Dec 15, 2018

Great course, but very challenging. You need to be advanced in biology to do this course.

By Kira K

Dec 04, 2018

This is a great class presenting a user-friendly web tool CGE pipeline that is ready to help all researches with their bioinformatics data. It can even build phylogenetic trees!

And I loved a small detective game at the end of the course when we needed to process unknown bacteria sequences to see if it was a real outbreak and what antibiotics were able to stop it!

A lot of thanks to the team!

By MUTSHIENE D E

Mar 29, 2019

Great and very insightful course. It really shed light on many aspects on whole genome sequencing

By A A A E

Jan 08, 2019

applications

By Nimat U

Oct 20, 2018

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

By Josue D C C

Oct 03, 2018

Excelente curso, brinda una gran cantidad de herramientas muy útiles para realizar investigación.

By Luis E H F

Oct 28, 2018

It's a great course and it's not so difficult

By Ahmed E A e

Oct 31, 2018

It isa fantastic course to spend your time

By Hamza A D

Nov 09, 2018

I like this course very much! The instructors were really helpful in getting their point across.

By Audrey V

Nov 21, 2018

I only just begin taking part in it and all I can say is I am enjoying it even though I am a bit behind schedule and my first attempt was 60%, I will try again and aim high with better understanding. Thank you for the opportunity and the financial aid that was approved for me to attend the course. I am determined to do my best. What I also like is the clear teaching or lecturing manner of all the presenters of the course.

By David M M

Apr 11, 2018

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

By Marc B F

May 02, 2018

The tools provided are very interesting and easy to use

By Moayad M A

Aug 21, 2017

very easy and interactive

By Mustafa R C

Jan 06, 2018

Very good, Thanks DTU

By Carlos H C

Nov 20, 2017

A clear and very didactic course on the tools that DTU offers to analyze genomes. Thanks for the classes!

By Valeria O M

Jun 03, 2018

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

By Valourstar M

Nov 15, 2017

developing skills in sequencing techniques

By Bologa A M

Mar 25, 2018

very useful. thanks a lot.

By Rafael P

Jun 03, 2018

Great Course!, congratulations!