Chevron Left
Back to Crowdfunding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Crowdfunding by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
392 ratings

About the Course

Crowdfunding, the practice of raising small amounts of money from large numbers of people, has enabled people around the world to start new businesses, fund initiatives, and raise money for themselves and others. Yet, not all crowdfunding efforts reach their desired goal. Why do some succeed, while others fail? This course will reveal the science behind successful crowdfunding, drawing on data from hundreds of thousands of campaigns. You’ll learn different types of crowdfunding approaches, and receive detailed advice on what to do (and what not to do) when crowdfunding. You’ll also have the unique opportunity to go behind-the-scenes with key players in the field with exclusive interviews from the founder of Indiegogo to successful campaign creators, to get the information you need to set your crowdfunding initiative up for success....

Top reviews

AC

May 6, 2021

Professor Mollick was extremely engaging, there was an outstanding amount of content, and I really liked the fact that he interviewed people who work for the top companies involved in crowdfunding!

DS

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent course. It covered relevant and vital crowdfunding topics. The interviews from successful business owners provided insight and value. I welcome a more advance course in the future.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 135 Reviews for Crowdfunding

By PRABHASH S

Apr 20, 2022

The course is beneficial to all those who want to learn about crowdfunding. People going for crowdfunding are recommended for this course where they can learn various aspects that need to be kept in mind and what they need to avoid.

By Maksim M

Apr 5, 2020

This is my first course so I don't have enough experience for rating the course, but I'm very satisfied. Course introduce me into crowdfunding and deepen my knowledge. Now I'm highly motivated to continue with learning in this area.

By Amos N

Apr 19, 2020

This is eye opening course and its application are easy. I took the course to understand how crowdfunding process works and I wish to apply these principles on the start up I am working on. Thanks guys!

By Swathi R

May 4, 2020

Very helpful, with many pointers.

Just that the transcript needs to be reviewed and updated - too many mistakes.

Also, one too many interviews; can be cut down completely or atleat shortened.

By Diego C R

May 31, 2022

Great course to get to know the fundamentals of crowfunding and get to hear some exprienced people in the matter.

Course could be even better if it were slightly more practice-oriented.

By Renato C

Jun 27, 2023

Highly informative course! Gain extensive knowledge about how crowdfunding works. Covering fundamental theory, statistics, and my favorite, expert insights. Excellent course!

By Ariel A

Sep 21, 2021

The course was informative. It was presented in a manner that was simple to follow and understand, which I think helped a lot in my retention of information.

By Subramanya R V

May 14, 2020

Pretty good. The course serves as a means to understand how crowdfunding works and why it is an effective method to raise capital especially for startups.

By Luka

Mar 18, 2019

Very nice, but it would be better if there is more practical prati with Business plan and so on

By Nicholas M

Aug 13, 2020

Very interesting for someone looking to do crowdfunding that isn't Equity Crowdfunding

By Tatiana P

Dec 13, 2017

Great insights! Would like to hear more about how different platforms function.

By Marie-Jose

May 9, 2022

useful information, data-fact based tips on what to expect about crowdfunding

By Dario M

Apr 3, 2022

Very complete for people who want to start there activities in crowdfunding.

By Enrique J S A

Dec 11, 2019

This course shows you the basics of crowdfunding, very interesting.

By Julius G

Mar 31, 2018

Very interesting course, with a lot of useful insight and data.

By Esca B

May 26, 2022

Possibly needs updating as some info seemed a but okd

By Leonardo S

Apr 26, 2018

An easy and interesting course. A bit outdated

By Jose R

Jul 30, 2021

Good but very simple

By enrique a r

Jan 19, 2019

thanks!!

By Filothea F

Mar 16, 2020

Useful.

By David G

Dec 28, 2020

.

By Michael H

Jun 25, 2022

It is a low key course. More suited to semi-commercial crowdfunding rather than patronage crowdfunding which I am interested in. It definitely gives a lot of weight to Kickstarter rather than a general overview of the area.

I have done much more indepth courses on coursera and futurelearn about a variety of topics. The prepared material did have some minor errors.

So was it of value to me ? I do think that it did give me some reasonable ideas to consider for the fundraiser that I am engaged in so I would agree that this is a good lightweight introduction to the area.

By Mike Y W

Sep 4, 2018

I enjoyed the professors warm smile and enthusiasm during the fairly short video lectures, and the interviews were not only relevant (mainly industry insiders) but they gave a good idea of what to expect when crowdfunding. Quizzes were way too easy. The course focuses on the results and conclusions/thoughts from the professor's survey, and doesn't really offer anything else, which is why I'm deducting a star since the course fee is a bit high. There's also no final exam or some sort of peer-based assignment, so I'm taking another star off for that.

By עומרי ב

Feb 1, 2022

the course was kind of basic. from the headline "crowdfounding" i thout that the course will incloud some tips in it about how to get real investors to your "project" , but it was still nice course to have.

all the course was around kickstarter and indigogo - it was nice but not iclound some "real"

Insights to take with ypu to the long run

anyway i finish the course

thanks a lot for the time you invest in it