Chevron Left
Back to Crowdfunding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Crowdfunding by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
392 ratings

About the Course

Crowdfunding, the practice of raising small amounts of money from large numbers of people, has enabled people around the world to start new businesses, fund initiatives, and raise money for themselves and others. Yet, not all crowdfunding efforts reach their desired goal. Why do some succeed, while others fail? This course will reveal the science behind successful crowdfunding, drawing on data from hundreds of thousands of campaigns. You’ll learn different types of crowdfunding approaches, and receive detailed advice on what to do (and what not to do) when crowdfunding. You’ll also have the unique opportunity to go behind-the-scenes with key players in the field with exclusive interviews from the founder of Indiegogo to successful campaign creators, to get the information you need to set your crowdfunding initiative up for success....

Top reviews

AC

May 6, 2021

Professor Mollick was extremely engaging, there was an outstanding amount of content, and I really liked the fact that he interviewed people who work for the top companies involved in crowdfunding!

DS

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent course. It covered relevant and vital crowdfunding topics. The interviews from successful business owners provided insight and value. I welcome a more advance course in the future.

Filter by:

126 - 135 of 135 Reviews for Crowdfunding

By Andrea F

Feb 12, 2020

It was useful to have some first hand data and advice but most of it is not helping to build a (successful) campaign, provided it is possible to do that. On the other hand, it is above all to help realise that CF is not the panacea for all evils and, in my case, it was rather dissuasive from a career in this sector. Thanks a lot

By MaryKate S

Mar 22, 2020

I feel as if this course is set for people trying to sell a product. If you are interested in crowdfunding for non-profits, you may not find the better part of this course useful.

By Tuan L A

Aug 7, 2020

It's interesting knowledge but no easy to apply in practice. If the course can provide an project training, it will be more useful and practical.

By Paul P

Apr 28, 2020

It’s a good course but not very deep or meaty - some good insights but not great value for the price.

By Jamil C

Mar 5, 2024

Bueno pero le falta desarrollo en la expansión de conocimientos

By Emilio F F

Jan 20, 2022

Good information but a little outdated

By Derek S

Feb 27, 2018

pretty cursory.

By Joaquín L

Jan 1, 2022

Basic

By Serge L

Dec 15, 2018

The Crowdfunding course is primarily focused on Project based crowdfunding and does not discuss charity-base crowdfunding; it spends little time on equity crowdfunding. In the beginning, the professor talks about 4 types of crowdfunding and states that he will only focus on the 3 (Project, Equity, and Charity). However, the bulk of the course focuses on Kickstarter type crowdfunding. If you want to know how to implement a successful Kickstarter or Indiegogo then the course can be helpful. If you want to learn how to create a successful charity crowdfunding campaign then the course offers no insight.

By Akhil C

Jun 3, 2020

I personally did not liked this course. Don't get me wrong, I am developing skills in Coursera since much long. A better was for this course could be by including a proper way for helping people developing a crowdfunding project. Like different peer reviews for the type of crowdfunding project we are going to initiate then the description which we are going to write and at last the rewards which are funders are going to get.

Coursera has been a very important part of my life by actually helping me do things. Like in the course Resume making, they just don't tell about how to make a resume but instead help us like we are in college and with the help of peer reviews, we have our own completed project at the end of the course. Hope this review of mine helps.