Chevron Left
Back to Crowdfunding

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Crowdfunding by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
125 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

Crowdfunding, the practice of raising small amounts of money from large numbers of people, has enabled people around the world to start new businesses, fund initiatives, and raise money for themselves and others. Yet, not all crowdfunding efforts reach their desired goal. Why do some succeed, while others fail? This course will reveal the science behind successful crowdfunding, drawing on data from hundreds of thousands of campaigns. You’ll learn different types of crowdfunding approaches, and receive detailed advice on what to do (and what not to do) when crowdfunding. You’ll also have the unique opportunity to go behind-the-scenes with key players in the field with exclusive interviews from the founder of Indiegogo to successful campaign creators, to get the information you need to set your crowdfunding initiative up for success....

Top reviews

AH

Dec 09, 2017

Great course to get the nuts and bolts of crowd funding, info about leading crowdfunding platforms, how to avoid pitfalls during the campaigns.

TR

Oct 06, 2018

Highly recommended for anyone that wants to use crowdfunding to get capital for their idea or product. The delivery model is priceless!..

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 37 Reviews for Crowdfunding

By Mary N

Dec 07, 2017

Pretty cool course - great intro into different kinds of crowdfunding with solid lectures and fantastic interviews with the folks from said platforms and those who actually got successful projects funded. Would love for there to be more in depth courses on each of the types of crowdfunding on this platform (or even a Capstone hands-on crowdfunding project class).

By Massimiliano G

Feb 01, 2018

Very interesting and useful to deepen the surface knowledges of Crowdfunding, clarifying its fundamental aspects. The course is developed intellegently alternating lectures and interviews, that makes the course easier to follow and more enjoyable. The teacher looks competent and interested himself in learning and finding more new aspects of a subject that he himself proves to be passionate about, transmitting that passion and transforming it in student's interest. The topics are often not explored very much, but nevertheless they are faced with seriousness and not superficially, giving a concrete idea of every aspect, question and problem you're going to face before, during and after your crowdfunding campaign. Thank you!

By Maik A

Feb 04, 2019

Great introduction to the very topic of crowdfunding. Helpful videos in theory and practice.

By Eduardo C

Jul 11, 2018

Es un curso muy completo, lleno de opiniones de gente que ha realizado campañas de crowdfunding y han sido existosas. Lo recomiendo ampliamente, sin embargo exhorto a los estudiantes de este curso a seguirse preparando, buscando diferentes bibliografías para obtener una visión más robusta sobre el mundo del crowdfunding, más aún cuando las campañas sean realizadas en países fuera de los estados unidos donde el crowdfunding tiene años funcionando.

By Wael E H

Feb 23, 2018

Grate prof and course

By Rahul D

Dec 28, 2017

Prof Ethan Mollick shared the fundamentals of crowd funding in an excellent way and interviews/lessons from people who have experienced crowdfunding platforms themselves added to the learning experience.

By Herbert S d L

Mar 05, 2018

Great course. I took it to improve skills in crowdfunding and found it very usefull.

By Francisco J R

Feb 08, 2018

Sugerencias a tener muy en cuenta e interesantes entrevistas.

By Annus R

Mar 09, 2018

Very knowledgeable indeed.

By Richard A M

Feb 20, 2018

The course was valuable as it gave an idea of the nature of crowdfunding that just looking at a cf page could not.

By John P

Jul 05, 2018

Excellent course on the getting started and understanding mechanics of crowdfunding. Great interviews. Thank you.

By Georgios T

Dec 18, 2017

Very interesting.

By Andrey Z

May 17, 2018

The material was very useful.

Many practices and statistics. Great thanks to Professor Mollick

By Maureen R S U

Feb 23, 2018

Love this Course! Very Simple to understand!

By Jorge G

Jun 16, 2018

Muy buen curso, buenas investigaciones, muy útil para la actualidad.

By AJENG N

Apr 23, 2018

this very interesting for me to know about crowdfunding and very clever their statement

By Tonny R

Oct 06, 2018

Highly recommended for anyone that wants to use crowdfunding to get capital for their idea or product. The delivery model is priceless!..

By Baghdad L

Oct 07, 2018

very insightful

By Sk R I

Oct 06, 2018

It is very help full for crowdfunding startup.

By Linda K M V

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent course to know all the state-of-art of crowfunding, what it is, who it is for, what you get with this, how you have to prepare yourself, how to succeed, what to avoid. I will go back many times to review the topics I have studied here because they are really important in crowfunding. Very useful videos, research and interviews. I like how the Professor Mollick gives the lectures because he is catching with his teaching methodology.

By Huynh H T

Apr 17, 2019

G

o

o

d

!

By Douglas S

Jul 16, 2019

Great Course!!

By Ann E

Aug 18, 2019

Excellent course! Lots of valuable insights. Think I'll be doing a crowdfunding this winter.

Thank you very much.

By Donna D

Oct 28, 2019

I have been studying crowdfunding on my own by listening to podcasts and Youtube and reviewing campaigns. However, this course provided additional hard facts and research information that I had never heard before while it validated other information that I had already learned.

By Karen E L W

Oct 13, 2019

I found this very helpful with respect to planning my next crowd funded idea. I am currently writing a book of which i have wrote rough draft to chapter 6 and may use Kickstarter or may not but found the insiders that work for these platforms and successfully funded people very informative . I will use the knowledge I gained from this course to dig deep in deciding if this is the route I will take to fund the publishing of my book.