Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
stars
821 ratings
237 reviews

About the Course

Hi and welcome to this course! Would you like to learn about the latest valuation methods that may help you to make better business decisions? Then 'Advanced Valuation and Strategy – M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital' by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you! This course is helpful for executives that need to value complete strategies and for all students interested in corporate finance and strategy. We present the latest tools and show you how to apply them! We will revolutionize your way of decision making, by extending static techniques from corporate finance with dynamic methods to quantify strategic thinking. Traditionally, we assess the attractiveness of an investment as a mature business, where future cash flows mainly result from past decisions. But, in an ever-changing world, strategic decisions determine the firm’s long-term success and market value. Yet managers often have to consider these long-term implications using intuition and experience alone, with little guidance from structured, quantitative analysis. Our treatment goes far beyond the use of standard valuation analysis. We introduce the expanded NPV, which brings together DCF, real options, and game theory. Thinking in terms of options, games, and adaptive strategies may help managers address strategic questions such as: How do you value a leveraged buyout? How can you value a high-tech venture with negative cash flows? When should you invest in new ventures in stages? How can you incorporate rival bidders in the analysis? The tools we provide can improve your decisions in business and in daily life. * Who is this class for? We hope that our course appeals to (graduate) students in finance, economics, and business, as well as to high-ranking professionals and a general audience. This course is particularly interesting for venture capitalists, private equity investors, investment bankers, CEOs, CFOs, and those who aspire these affiliations. We offer this MOOC at 3 levels: 1.Executive Summary: This 1-week module provides critical insights into the principles of corporate valuation and strategy. This is accessible for time-constrained executives and the general audience without any prior knowledge. 2. Student Level: This level involves an understanding of the technical details. This level requires basic knowledge of concepts in corporate finance, e.g., the time value of money, financial statement analysis, capital structure, and the relation between risk and returns. Learners of this level can skip week 1. 3. Honors Level (honors certificate): This level is challenging, engaging, and compelling to an intellectually rigorous student....

Top reviews

AS
May 18, 2020

Boosts your up-to-date understanding of how strategy and valuation come together. It helped me better understand my PE clients' buy & build strategies from a growth option valuation perspective.

TF
Feb 27, 2020

Demanding at times but overall one of the better courses that make you think before you have to answer. I also enjoyed the ability to do some extra work if you are into honorable certificate.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 233 Reviews for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

By Eustace S

Feb 29, 2020

I found the course quite insightful but got a little trouble with the terminologies. Nonetheless additional research and reading contributed to better understanding of the course material.

The key to the learning was the exercises /quizzes and the insights provided in the answers.

Overall a very good programme.

By Loïc L

Feb 26, 2021

Thank you very much to Han and its team ! The course is quite complete and easy to follow and understand. The tools provided to learn are wide and adapted. Hope you ara going to develop other courses according to strategy, valuation and corporate finance in general. Congrats for this successful program !

By Ali M

Oct 5, 2018

The course provides great insights into corporate finance and strategy. The concepts are explained in a well detailed way. Additionally, through its interactive character, the course is a fun way to learn about valuations and startegy in the context of M&A and private equity/venture capital.

By Chandra A

Jul 30, 2019

This course is really useful and gives you an expanded view of Business Valuation. I think this knowledge would be necessary if you're projecting yourself to work as an Investment Analyst. This will also be useful in the long run if you're in the position of strategic decision making.

By Kevin V

Oct 5, 2018

This course gave me a clear overview of valuation & strategy and how it is used in practice. Furthermore, the topics of real option valuation and game theory were very interesting.

If you are still thinking about taking this course, stop thinking and just do it! You will not regret it.

By Iago S

Mar 1, 2021

Great course to expand you tools in valuating projects under uncertainty. The program is not comprehensive in a way to give you a full basis and complete confidence in how to use all the tools provided, but is a great theoretical and practical bottom line to start building upon.

By Sreekumar P

Sep 21, 2019

The course was very informative and eye opener for me. As I am not from finance background it was an uphill task for me to understand the terns and concepts. Thank you for the course. If you could have excel sheet templates for all topics it would be a great help.

By Mahmoud R F P

Jan 6, 2020

I believe this course is the most useful one within online educational sources of finance and valuation subject. Indeed, it includes Real Options Theory and Game Theory which you can find them just in the most prestigious universities with expensive tuition fees.

By Douglas S

Mar 17, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot of new concepts and the format was such I had to work to understand in depth to pass the certificate tests. The instructor, Professor Han Smit was very engaging and explained the concepts very well

Would recommend this course

By Saiprakash R

Apr 12, 2020

I absolutely loved the course. It was well laid out and the quizzes were not exactly easy either. Loved the professor's teachings on video. Made me understand the basics perfectly. Would love to take more courses from the Prof and the school. 5 Stars!

By Ruben d J M

Oct 20, 2020

Awesome course! Recommend that you have a strong background in finance prior to taking it though as these are indeed some advanced strategies. Great content, learned a lot, and will definitely be using these new skills moving forward!

By Mohamed A

Sep 21, 2018

Well laid out course. High quality videos, challenging quizzes and interesting reading materials. Feel confident that I can apply the majority of the content taught on this course in my future career within the financial world!

By Anne R

Jul 11, 2020

Excellent course.

In some cases some elements are not clear and I wish it was possible to get the possibility to get some further details, however it may not be compatible with the essence of a MOCC

Anyway thank you

By Marco O

Jul 4, 2019

I think could be valuable for this course, incorporate some exercises in excel or other spreadsheets to have a better comprehension and to get the lesson on pdf for reviewing the course before the quizzes.

By Cheryl S

Mar 1, 2020

Very comprehensive and well-taught. I learned a tremendous amount of valuable material, and the content was about as challenging as in my MBA courses. This is honestly the best online course I've taken.

By Krista S

Mar 29, 2021

Interesting course on valuation methods. It is an advanced course so basic valuation and calculation skills are required.

The graded test are pretty difficult. The video's explain it all.

By HİDAYET M

Nov 16, 2020

Çok güzel ve anlaşılabilir kurs ve sunumdu. Çok teşekkürler Profesör Hans Smith. Kendimi geliştirme fırsatı verdiğiniz için çok teşekkür ederim.

Hidayet Mat

E-posta: hm0655@yahoo.com

By Han

Sep 20, 2018

Excellent course. This course brings together the best insights from strategy and corporate finance. Highly recommended for corporate strategists and M&A professionals.

By Giovanni L P d M

Sep 3, 2020

Curso muito bom para dar uma noção bem forte de valuation, além de ser muito útil para se aprender a avaliar opções de investimento em cenários com muita volatilidade.

By Rik

Jan 24, 2021

Excellent course. Well written and challenging at times. Does a very good job at linking strategy with valuation, which should in practice naturally always be linked.

By Béla B

Oct 4, 2018

Great and clear video's on the study material. Very energetic teacher who's enthousiasm was passed on to me to work even harder to score a good grade for the subject!

By Alexandro O B

Feb 20, 2021

provides a great learning experience. was difficult for someone who does not have a finance background but did learn a lot of new and interesting things.

By Guilherme C

Jun 29, 2020

Highly recommended! For those who just have the basics in valuation, like me, It will demand extra study and research... Investopedia helped me a lot ;)

By Benjamin D

Apr 7, 2020

Very challenging in the beginning as a 3rd year student, but extremely insightful as you study further within the course. Thoroughly enjoyed it!