Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.6
stars
881 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

Hi and welcome to this course! Would you like to learn about the latest valuation methods that may help you to make better business decisions? Then 'Advanced Valuation and Strategy – M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital' by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you! This course is helpful for executives that need to value complete strategies and for all students interested in corporate finance and strategy. We present the latest tools and show you how to apply them! We will revolutionize your way of decision making, by extending static techniques from corporate finance with dynamic methods to quantify strategic thinking. Traditionally, we assess the attractiveness of an investment as a mature business, where future cash flows mainly result from past decisions. But, in an ever-changing world, strategic decisions determine the firm’s long-term success and market value. Yet managers often have to consider these long-term implications using intuition and experience alone, with little guidance from structured, quantitative analysis. Our treatment goes far beyond the use of standard valuation analysis. We introduce the expanded NPV, which brings together DCF, real options, and game theory. Thinking in terms of options, games, and adaptive strategies may help managers address strategic questions such as: How do you value a leveraged buyout? How can you value a high-tech venture with negative cash flows? When should you invest in new ventures in stages? How can you incorporate rival bidders in the analysis? The tools we provide can improve your decisions in business and in daily life. * Who is this class for? We hope that our course appeals to (graduate) students in finance, economics, and business, as well as to high-ranking professionals and a general audience. This course is particularly interesting for venture capitalists, private equity investors, investment bankers, CEOs, CFOs, and those who aspire these affiliations. We offer this MOOC at 3 levels: 1.Executive Summary: This 1-week module provides critical insights into the principles of corporate valuation and strategy. This is accessible for time-constrained executives and the general audience without any prior knowledge. 2. Student Level: This level involves an understanding of the technical details. This level requires basic knowledge of concepts in corporate finance, e.g., the time value of money, financial statement analysis, capital structure, and the relation between risk and returns. Learners of this level can skip week 1. 3. Honors Level (honors certificate): This level is challenging, engaging, and compelling to an intellectually rigorous student....

Top reviews

AS
May 18, 2020

Boosts your up-to-date understanding of how strategy and valuation come together. It helped me better understand my PE clients' buy & build strategies from a growth option valuation perspective.

TF
Feb 27, 2020

Demanding at times but overall one of the better courses that make you think before you have to answer. I also enjoyed the ability to do some extra work if you are into honorable certificate.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 254 Reviews for Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

By Giovanni L P d M

Sep 3, 2020

Curso muito bom para dar uma noção bem forte de valuation, além de ser muito útil para se aprender a avaliar opções de investimento em cenários com muita volatilidade.

By Rik

Jan 24, 2021

Excellent course. Well written and challenging at times. Does a very good job at linking strategy with valuation, which should in practice naturally always be linked.

By Béla B

Oct 4, 2018

Great and clear video's on the study material. Very energetic teacher who's enthousiasm was passed on to me to work even harder to score a good grade for the subject!

By Alexandro O B

Feb 20, 2021

provides a great learning experience. was difficult for someone who does not have a finance background but did learn a lot of new and interesting things.

By Guilherme C

Jun 29, 2020

Highly recommended! For those who just have the basics in valuation, like me, It will demand extra study and research... Investopedia helped me a lot ;)

By Benjamin D

Apr 7, 2020

Very challenging in the beginning as a 3rd year student, but extremely insightful as you study further within the course. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

By Marco P

Jan 31, 2021

Tough for beginners or semi-beginners on accounting, but a clear value. It gives you great perspective on real company evaluation.

By Sidhant M

Aug 24, 2020

This is a really immersive and tough course. The need to have a bit of a background is absolutely mandatory. Good luck with this.

By Lars v R

Sep 20, 2018

Very nice structured course! The videos with slides are working very well for studying. Please don't make the exam too hard :-).

By Sven P

Jun 15, 2020

Great in-depth insights on valuation and strategy. The information provided is very clear and usefull for real life approaches.

By Miguel A H

May 13, 2020

A very challenging course with a very interesting focus for people who want to refresh and learn different valuation methods.

By SERGIO E P A

Aug 15, 2020

Thanks for all! It's a great opportunity to learn more about valuation, strategy, theory games and critical thinking skills.

By Saksham J

Mar 26, 2020

Excellent course content along with a challenging sets of assignments that actually made me practice the content thoroughly.

By Jesica A

Oct 31, 2020

High level course. It was hard (I didn't have previous knowledge), but it was worth it. Now I feel more secure. Thanks.

By Serge P

Apr 26, 2020

Very instructive, I feel more confident with game theory, and expanded net present value for growth strategic options

By Nuri G Ç

Feb 15, 2021

Wonderful course. I really enjoyed about taking this course. Special thanks to Han Smith. He is so cute and genious.

By Hedi B T

Sep 7, 2020

training support (videos, readings and tests) interesting and easy to handle. The training content is very valuable

By Shivam C

May 28, 2020

Best course for Valuation techniques. Study material, videos and content is very well designed. Thank you coursera.

By Daniel L

Aug 4, 2019

This is rigorous programme has enabled me to apply the concepts taught immediately into my current job. Thank you!

By Akshat S

Sep 4, 2020

great learning. Slightly difficult but "A rock that perseveres under heat and pressure soon becomes a diamond."

By Hayden Z

May 14, 2020

Very clear structure. The best slides I've ever seen that illustrates valuation methods. Thank you very much.

By Scott S

Jul 16, 2020

I liked the course a lot. It was an interesting application of valuation, real options, and game theory.

By Ziloy C

Oct 18, 2018

Great course with thorough explanations on the vital elements of state of the art valuation techniques.

By Mahdi S

Jan 30, 2021

Great course. Not bothering with the basics and the details of valuation but covering all in the quiz.