Chevron Left
Back to Age of Cathedrals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Age of Cathedrals by Yale University

4.7
stars
315 ratings
110 reviews

About the Course

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Top reviews

CL

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

DO

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 110 Reviews for Age of Cathedrals

By Karoliina R

Nov 07, 2019

Very interesting material!

By MARIA V S G

Aug 21, 2020

Great Course, loved it!!!

By Ivan V

Jun 12, 2020

Maravilloso curso.

MEX

By Masliakova A

Jun 02, 2019

Thank You very much!

By Omolayole B E

Jul 12, 2020

really great course

By fernando J t c

May 13, 2020

Excelente curso.

By Carla L E C

Oct 04, 2019

great learning !

By Ashley M H

Mar 09, 2018

So interesting!

By Adelugba O A

Jul 06, 2020

Amazing course

By MªJesús F M

Mar 08, 2019

Great course.

By José E

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent!!

By Cristina L

Jan 29, 2018

Amazing!

By francisco v r

Sep 06, 2020

nice

By Claudette D

Aug 27, 2019

T

By Leonie K

Jan 14, 2018

.

By Harry M

Jul 25, 2020

The "Age of Cathedrals" course was a very good introduction to Gothic architecture in general and Gothic cathedrals in particular. The professor obviously knows his subject matter and was mostly able to convey the material in an interesting manner. However, there was less personal interaction than there could have been. These were simply well thought out, well prepared and well delivered lectured but the presentations lacked spark and enthusiasm and humor....Which is not as much a criticism as a statement of fact. Considering that Notre Dame in Paris has been decimated by a fire, the course needs to update the course to at least mention that Notre Dame, as we knew it, is no longer. Even a reference to a well constructed video on the Notre Dame fire on the National Geographic Channel would help bring this course up to the present.

By Debbie B

May 15, 2020

I enjoyed the material and learned quite a bit about this time period. I am sure the developers of this particular course do not read the reviews. BUT would someone tell the developers, apparently not for the first time, that the essay question for Week 7 does not have anything to do with the course materials for that week. It is a waste of time to write an essay to a question that has already been asked.

By Kate S

Dec 25, 2017

Great course! I really enjoyed the first 3 weeks and the detailed information on the history of cathedrals and how they were built. Instead of so much interpretation of stained glass windows, panel by panel and scene by scene, I would've appreciated a comparison of different cathedrals in different parts of Europe. But over all a good foundation for history-oriented travelers to France!

By João C B

Jul 21, 2020

I liked the course and enjoyed many chapiters of it. But, I think that the Urban Phenomena's week could focus on more interesting topics than Peter Abelard and sexual behavior - why not, for example, St. Thomas Aquinas, or the guild's system? The suggested readings are not very specific too: entire works with hundreds of pages.

By Catherine S

Apr 16, 2018

A little heavy on French history, but very interesting. I’m not a fan of peer reviews, and this has plenty of them, but at least the grades were a combination of quizzes and peer reviews.

By Andres T B B

Jun 03, 2020

Un curso IDEAL para quien está fascinado por el período gótico y desea conocer más profundamente de la época y de sus construcciones y su vida

By Stanislava F

Nov 29, 2017

Very interesting, but I would prefer more animated lectures and more details about the structure, since it is very important

By Jo N

Feb 23, 2018

A most enjoyable course - I've learned a lot, some of which I never really wanted to know.

By jordi o j

Apr 23, 2018

learnt a lot of things about medieval cathedrals, specially from saint Louis life.

By Alexandra C C

Jun 13, 2018

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!