Chevron Left
Back to Age of Jefferson

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Age of Jefferson by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
396 ratings
132 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Top reviews

HM
Jul 24, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL
Jul 29, 2020

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 130 Reviews for Age of Jefferson

By Clifton L

Sep 21, 2015

Great Course

By Daiane

Jul 19, 2017

Very good!

By Chris G

Sep 23, 2015

Excellent!

By Jisha N

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent

By yuriy l

Jun 21, 2017

perfect

By Kristopher K

Jan 11, 2016

great!

By Robert T R

Nov 22, 2020

Easy.

By MengNan

Dec 3, 2015

good

By Kenneth J

Apr 25, 2016

g

By jean j

Oct 3, 2015

e

By Kerstin S

Oct 22, 2016

The course is really nicely done. Also for non-americans it is interesting even though a lot of background knowledge might be missing. But you have to be aware it is really more focused on the ideas of Jefferson and less on all the discussions and fights he had with his fellow statesmen at that time. I would have wished to learn also more about those.

By Steven M J M

Aug 16, 2015

Useful orientation for a good American who more or less slept through all of his American hx courses in his callow youth. I have a much better sense of the important (if controversal) role Jefferson played in forming the values and structure of the US.

By Jesper O

Dec 19, 2019

I don't think the Batman & Robin routine works well - Robin is annoying. Fascinating period of history and Mr Onuf presents it well. At times I find him a little too proud and he should leave out the naive digs at Greek and European culture.

By Jim C

Nov 29, 2016

My only recommendation would be to add more photos, maps, illustrations, etc to the lectures, instead of twenty minutes of the camera pointed at the professor. It would help keep the attention of the viewer, in my opinion.

By Robert M M

Oct 29, 2017

A really interesting journey through the life and principles of Jefferson. I particularly enjoyed some of the more obscure parts such as the architectural elements. Easy to follow with a documentary style presentation.

By Brann R

May 11, 2017

A very informative course. I discovered so much about Jefferson and his era in a well rounded manner which while highlighting his achievements also demonstrated his failings.

Well done!

By Blynn H

Sep 29, 2020

Impressive erudite presentation of an important individual in American history. This course gave me a greater appreciation of the life and times of Thomas Jefferson.

By Catherine S

Jun 16, 2016

I loved the tour of the campus. It fit the material and made it seem more like a college setting than watching lectures on a screen in a class room all the time.

By kouassi n c

Aug 24, 2017

très bon cours mais il n'y a pas de sous titres en français c'est un peu difficile e trouver une bonne traduction sinon il n'y a rien à signaler

By Dimitri P

Oct 17, 2015

A very enjoyable course, albeit with a few instances of leftward political leaning.

By Kent L

Aug 4, 2017

Good course learnt alot.

By jose L M

Sep 3, 2016

Excellent

By Mohd N K

Oct 24, 2015

Awesome.

By David F

Sep 18, 2015

I knew nothing about Jefferson before this course and nothing about his 'age' - not sure I am much the wiser about the latter after it! I enjoyed the tours round the historic sites and I thought the lecturer came over as warm and enthusiastic but it seemed he was preaching about a saint rather than giving a detached academic assessment of a historical figure and I found that it was hard to see the wood for the trees at times. Hagiographic might be an unkind description but it was certainly very respectful to the great man. I also liked the use of a student in cooperation with the lecturer.- he set the scene well and was a good interviewer.

By Jessica K

Mar 26, 2020

Informative, but video and lecture style is very outdated.