Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to American Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to American Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,720 ratings
874 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top reviews

AA
Sep 16, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT
Apr 9, 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filter by:

851 - 861 of 861 Reviews for An Introduction to American Law

By Rui S

Feb 27, 2017

Interesting course, but a bit too basic and superficial. Teachers were engaging though.

By Nghia L

May 26, 2021

Thank you for your course, I think it can provide more practical assignments though.

By Gregory L

Jun 27, 2018

Great basic overview. Evaluations a bit too easy/forgiving.

By Kristopher K

Jan 11, 2016

Great Instrutors.

Great examples for understanding.

By Tanmay B

Nov 30, 2015

Nice and necessary

By Alex F

Jul 22, 2017

This course would have been better if the speakers were to focus more on the distinctive features of American law. As a would-be lawyer, who studied common law in the UK and Hong Kong, I don't find this course particularly useful, as the so-called "distinctive" features of American law are actually very similar to that of the English common law.

By Michael K

Dec 13, 2015

Interesting at times but not all modules had the same level of focus on the particularities of American law, some were simply a summary of the law in that area in general without highlighting what was unique to American law in that area.

By Eduardo F

Sep 27, 2020

It was a superficial course. It doesn't teach any law about USA, just present the inicial thoughts.

By Kenneth L

Jan 13, 2018

I dropped this after the first week when the professor blatantly misrepresented the law on product liability with respect to firearms. I want to learn about the law, I don't need to be indoctrinated. Unfortunately Professor Allen is being turned loose on an unsuspecting student body and that is too bad.

By Joyce T

Jun 5, 2016

Unnecessarily stressful for a course I am auditing. It's sad, because the material is extremely interesting at the pace I can digest as opposed to the speed the course demands.

By María G M

Sep 14, 2020

It doesn't allow me to unenroll the course