Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to American Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Introduction to American Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
3,894 ratings
926 reviews

About the Course

This course will give you a glimpse into six different areas of American law: Tort Law, Contract Law, Property, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, and Civil Procedure. You will gain insight into the complexities and dilemmas that arise from the application of law in different settings, and what is distinctive about American approaches....

Top reviews

AA
Sep 16, 2018

I enjoyed this course and it helped me to understand the basic parts of American Law. My only suggestion is to provide even more cases as examples to demonstrate the doctrines and statutes. Thank you.

AT
Apr 9, 2020

A great first step on understanding the basic principles of American Law, providing an insight into impact on the systems we encounter on a daily basis and how these systems have developed over time.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 915 Reviews for An Introduction to American Law

By Diana H

Aug 1, 2021

U​n curso muy completo que abarca todas las bases. Muy interesante y recomendado. Soy abogada en otro pais y me parecio una completa introduccion al derecho anglosajon

By Stephanie M

May 18, 2020

Great introduction to the American legal system, very well taught. I appreciate that it was taught by distinguished law professors that specialize in the given system.

By Melissa H

Apr 20, 2021

I live in northern Canada but have always been intrigued by the American justice system. This course thirsted my quench to learn more. For now! Thank you, professors.

By Ariel P

Jan 4, 2021

I am overly pleased how well this course has taught me in very thoughtful and organized manner. Thank you to all the professors and to the University of Pennsylvania!

By Sinead H

May 7, 2020

Great introduction to Law, I really enjoyed this and I felt like I learned something important. The instructors were great too. 100 percent worth the time and effort!

By Jorge F P M

Sep 8, 2020

Excellent course. I am a lawyer in Guatemala, but they did not teach me in the simple way that legal institutions have explained in this course. totally recommended.

By Patrick H

Nov 26, 2020

This course provides a quick introduction to major areas of American law. It is a very good starting place for beginners who wish to get up to speed very quickly.

By Horiana S

Nov 5, 2017

Great course, pragmatic and well design. I mostly appreciate the quizzes during videos as they tested your attention and made sure you got the main idea correctly.

By José A Á M

Oct 15, 2020

It was a very good course, maybe I would like to learn a little bit more about contracts, civil procedure and torts, but as an introduction was very interesting!!

By Gabriella M L

Feb 5, 2020

It was my pleasure to learn about the American law.All professors are very knowledgeable and very well know they topics.I really enjoyed all .Thank you very much!

By Desta’nae W

Sep 16, 2021

​It helped me realize just what I will be getting myself into when I go to law school. I definitely recommend for those who want to go into law as their career.

By Yulia A

Apr 12, 2020

A good introduction for very beginners, however, you get to learn more from the course if you have been previously exposed to other systems of law. Recommended.

By Snehal P

Mar 31, 2020

All the videos were of good technical quality. The length and technical quality of the videos was optimal. All the lectures were enjoyable and well presented.

By Jamile C

Sep 18, 2020

I loved the course. It is a very complete course, rich in details and teachings. I learned a lot of new things and I will definitely take it to life. Thankful.

By Maricatherine M

Jul 25, 2020

Fantastic!!! I am a Paralegal and I have a Bachelors degree in Criminal Justice. This a great course and I would recommend to anyone! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Errol F D

May 18, 2020

Great introductory course to American Law. I enjoyed the course - both the content, the organization and the delivery by the various professors. Many thanks.

By Salih D

Jan 30, 2020

thank you teachers . you guide me to great space and educate me a lot subjects it will help me in my job as a security .

Im advice every one to get this course

By Clifford P K

Jun 10, 2019

Really excellent introduction to American law. There were great readings that went along with the course too. Top notch professors and videos- I learned a lot.

By Frank O

May 15, 2021

Lectures were very informative and covered essential elements expected of an introductory course. The references for additional reading are also very helpful.

By Kayla C

Jan 13, 2018

This was a wonderful course to take during my 1L year in law school. It helps narrow down vocabulary words and important concepts of each doctrine. Thank you!

By Liz N

Aug 17, 2017

I am an aspiring law student and this course has given me an insightful, but simple overview of the law world. It will help me narrow my focus for law school.

By Rachel M

Aug 9, 2020

I took this course to introduce myself to American Law as a prospective law student. I was not expecting this free course to be so extensive ! Great stuff !

By Hayley A

Feb 15, 2021

All professors included in this course were awesome. Great overview of broad concepts. Also, all lectures were well timed and well rehearsed. Great course!

By J. v d M

Feb 6, 2021

I'm a first year law student in the Netherlands and really enjoyed learning a little about the American system too. Would definitely recommend this course!

By Daniel M

Jul 4, 2017

A great course providing an overview of the foundational elements of the American Legal system. I would highly recommend to anyone considering law school.