Chevron Left
Back to Programming Mobile Applications for Android Handheld Systems: Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Mobile Applications for Android Handheld Systems: Part 1 by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
646 ratings
185 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the design and implementation of Android applications for mobile devices. You will develop an app from scratch, assuming a basic knowledge of Java, and learn how to set up Android Studio, work with various Activities and create simple user interfaces to make your apps run smoothly....

Top reviews

NS
Jun 26, 2018

Very well explained, though content could've been updated (considering code versions to keep up with new versions of Android where Permissions are required to be accepted during running the app).

DS
Sep 4, 2016

A great course to take because the useful and simple explanations made by prof. Porter. The course gives us the first steps to be android developers in a fun an simple way. Excellent Course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 179 Reviews for Programming Mobile Applications for Android Handheld Systems: Part 1

By Yunpeng L

Sep 27, 2020

Good course. Some of the content is a little outmoded.

By Nigele M

Dec 12, 2017

I wish the submission process was different.

By Ivan D

Aug 28, 2017

Great course, wish more labs were available.

By Marthinus M

Aug 8, 2017

Great course. Good overview on Android

By Sundram S

Aug 18, 2019

They provide conceptual material.

By Julian H

Oct 1, 2017

Great introduction to he basics.

By Harish C B

Aug 27, 2019

It was great experience for me.

By Deleted A

Oct 11, 2019

The course need to update.

By Ioannis V

Oct 12, 2016

Moves too fast though

By KANDARP B S

Apr 11, 2017

It's a good course by the standards of when it was made which, going by the overview, looks like 2014. the lectures are based on eclipse while the video teaches how to install android studio. Some of the examples are not compatible with Android studio and work only on eclipse. Being updated with the more recent material would've helped more. Having said that, the teaching style is really conducive to learning for newbies. It's a good introduction to the world of Android development.

By Tran P H H L

Dec 6, 2021

the course and it content is very good,the instructor accent very clear and easy to understand for me,but the assignment is out of date,the last update of the github repo since 7 years ago,can't import and make it run nowaday,how to complete the assignment if it doesn't run anymore or may be you have to build a new one from 0

By Christo P

May 27, 2016

Overall I think the course was good. This course requires you to do a lot of self study and research on every single topic. It only covers the very basic and core topics. I would have liked it to have more hands on or practical examples.

By Ervi B

Jun 10, 2016

I was very excited during Week 1 and Week 2 lectures. Then, the videos kept getting unclear and outdated. The assignment is not engaging. My interest dropped. The videos really need updates!

By Daniel S d C L

May 23, 2019

i Think it's a very good introduction to Android world, it is worh valued, only a bit old-fashioned, kind of 4-5 yeards

By Yuriy S ( T

Aug 22, 2018

not bad course, but i think its not enough information about Android OS, need to improve.

By Manasa R

Sep 14, 2016

I like this programme its very helpful and encouraging for me to do programming

By Hoa D

Nov 30, 2016

i like this

By Sergey A

Oct 31, 2017

Course automatic notification system informed me to finish assignments until XXXXXX date. Assignments were submitted in time, but, anyway, didn't grade.

Notification and checking systems needed to be revised, bugs need to be fixed.

I will never buy certificates in Coursera, because from this time no trust to this service.

The course is very good. But first assignments a difficult to be done, more learning materials needed.

Anyway, the most important thing I got is knowledge, that is priceless

By Mick C

Jul 23, 2016

I found this course lacking in providing sufficient coverage of the basics in the course videos and lacking a useful and directed reading list. I spent far too much time researching command syntax and using try and error to find what worked with the provided code.

Disappointing as topics covered are good.

By Ali A

Mar 31, 2017

the course is a bit outdated and I am finding it hard to stay motivated knowing there are other more recent courses. The topics I think are still relevant but the tools are not. I am looking for courses where there is hands on development that you follow with the instructor and I did not find this here.

By Anurag D

Sep 22, 2016

A basic course but not for the ones who don't know anything about java or android. Not made for the beginners. Also the submitting projects work is complicated and should be made more easier.

Not recommended for the starter.

By Krizia B

Jun 27, 2016

Very fast pace with no support. Be prepared to make countless online searches or to discuss solely with peers. Many drop out by the end of the course. Final Project is far too difficult for this course, because it did not prepare me at all. If you want to learn Android programming, I suggest you look elsewhere.

By Dave M

Apr 26, 2016

I was disappointed in the lack of explanation for the tools. Since everything depends on the IDE, and there was no instruction about the IDE, I found it difficult to do the labs. In the course of trying to, the IDE somehow managed to corrupt my hard drive. After that I pretty much lost interest in the course.

By Doug B

Apr 16, 2017

Online grader for labs is terribly buggy. Attempted submitting labs several occasions - all fail. Local builds work fine with apps working as expected and tests pass. The online builder gives very little feedback other than "BuidError". £40 wasted. Will not recommend and will never fall for it again. AVOID!

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2017

The content is very good and useful but way he talks it makes me fall asleep.