Chevron Left
Back to Applied Data Science Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Data Science Capstone by IBM

4.7
1,582 ratings
142 reviews

About the Course

This capstone project course will give you a taste of what data scientists go through in real life when working with data. You will learn about location data and different location data providers, such as Foursquare. You will learn how to make RESTful API calls to the Foursquare API to retrieve data about venues in different neighborhoods around the world. You will also learn how to be creative in situations where data are not readily available by scraping web data and parsing HTML code. You will utilize Python and its pandas library to manipulate data, which will help you refine your skills for exploring and analyzing data. Finally, you will be required to use the Folium library to great maps of geospatial data and to communicate your results and findings. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

TH

Jul 10, 2019

This is a great course and lots of fun. But it is a big commitment and you need to take it seriously. To get the most out of this course you will need to spend at least 30 hours doing it.

YS

Jul 10, 2019

This course is instructive and challenging at the same time. Now I do wish I know a bit more about python and pandas before I jump in this course. But in the end I managed to get through.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 144 Reviews for Applied Data Science Capstone

By vignaux

Sep 07, 2018

Great Course. Practice and learning deep

By CARLOS W A

Oct 17, 2018

I really feel that I learned a lot in this capstone although I know we have a long way to go. The course helped me keep my motivation up to keep learning Data Science

By trancongthanh

Oct 18, 2018

Excellent course! Thanks!

By sherryz

Oct 08, 2018

Very Challenging assignments, which I can learn a lot from

By Jimut B P

Sep 22, 2018

wonderful!

By Georgiy M

Sep 27, 2018

The most interesting course from IBM ML courses scope. Due to tons of practice and interesting labs. Thanks, Alex.

By Leke O

Oct 01, 2018

Great Hands-on experience using real world data.

By Aman S

Oct 22, 2018

Excellent Course for students looking for advanced and practical knowledge of data science

By Rajkumar N

Oct 22, 2018

Very good learning and the hands on lad is a wonderful experience. Thanks!!!

By Mahmood H

Apr 15, 2019

The Capstone projects were fun. Sometimes hard, but mostly fun!

By Ganesh P

Apr 03, 2019

good course

By PV R K

May 02, 2019

very informative

By MANIK G

Apr 21, 2019

well designed, good for beginners and for who have basic knowledge

By Himanshu S

Apr 25, 2019

Really good course for Data Science and ML interested students.

By Tareq A

Apr 27, 2019

It's a high technical course includes new professional and market need tools. In addition to that it review the previous courses tools and used to build our final capstone project.

Thank you, IBM, Thank you, Coursera, Thank you, all Instructors and students who participate in the discussion of courses forum.

By 朱晓琳

Apr 28, 2019

This capstone project is challenge and fun. You are going to use what you have learned to complete an anlysis of a topic. What is more meaningful thing is that you can learn from others by reading their report and code.

By Nhan T N

Apr 14, 2019

The capstone project combines a variety of skills such as web scraping, data processing, data visualization, machine learning and business analysis.

By Srinivas M B

May 13, 2019

This Course is excellent and it gives Data Science,Methodology,python programming,Machine learning algorithims,Labs Excercises,Assignments and finally Capstone Project is worth to gain very good skills and knowledge.With this course I gained very strong skills and am now very confident in this Data Scientist field. Thank You Coursera and IBM for this course.

By Anas K

May 11, 2019

such an amazing courses

By Chris G

Apr 07, 2019

Challenging course that allowed you to apply all that you learned. Forced to learn multiple APIs to complete final project.

By Janki K

Apr 08, 2019

Great experience doing Assignment!!

Thank you for opportunity

By Maneesh H D

Apr 09, 2019

Really good and fun to go thru the complete lifecycle of a data science assignment

By Galib H K

Apr 10, 2019

The Capstone project was great. It helped me to get some hands-on experiment on data Science. Just one thing, the project should be more open and the restriction of using Foursquare API should not be there. Overall, great course really!

By Alexey R

May 22, 2019

A worthy finale! The capstone problem statement encourages creativity and requires good understanding of various parts of the specialization.

By Tang K T

May 13, 2019

Excellent courses with intensive training!