Chevron Left
Back to The Arduino Platform and C Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Arduino Platform and C Programming by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
6,687 ratings
1,511 reviews

About the Course

The Arduino is an open-source computer hardware/software platform for building digital devices and interactive objects that can sense and control the physical world around them. In this class you will learn how the Arduino platform works in terms of the physical board and libraries and the IDE (integrated development environment). You will also learn about shields, which are smaller boards that plug into the main Arduino board to perform other functions such as sensing light, heat, GPS tracking, or providing a user interface display. The course will also cover programming the Arduino using C code and accessing the pins on the board via the software to control external devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Outline the composition of the Arduino development board 2. Describe what it means to program the board's firmware 3. Read board schematics 4. Install Arduino IDE 5. Describe what "shields" are and how they are used 6. Specify the role of libraries in the use of shields 7. Compile and run a program 8. Name C Variables and Types 9. Name common C operators 10. Use conditionals and loops 11. Explain functions, their definition and invocation 12. Explain the implications of global variables 13. Undertake the Arduino build process 14. Describe the role of the tools behind the IDE 15. Describe how to invoke functions in classes 16. Explain the structure of an Arduino sketch 17. Access the pins of the Arduino 18. Differentiate between digital and analog pin 19. Debug embedded software 20. Explain the importance of controllability and observability in the debugging process 21. Describe common debugging architectures for embedded systems 22. Explain how the UART Serial communication protocol works 23. Describe how the Arduino Serial library performs serial communication...

Top reviews

MR
Aug 8, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

MK
Aug 6, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

Filter by:

1376 - 1400 of 1,492 Reviews for The Arduino Platform and C Programming

By Bivashuk C

Jul 20, 2020

Nice

By P N R B S Y

Jun 4, 2020

Good

By ARJUN S

May 30, 2020

good

By Dixith K R

May 5, 2020

Good

By IDAMAKANTI P R

Apr 30, 2020

None

By CHAVAN V J

Feb 9, 2020

Good

By Meesala S

Dec 31, 2019

good

By Akundi S

Dec 25, 2019

Good

By PALLI C S

Dec 20, 2019

good

By Ajay B

Dec 14, 2019

nice

By Yashwant A

Sep 6, 2019

good

By ALI A A H

Sep 5, 2019

good

By Tapan B

Aug 26, 2019

Good

By yerramsetti s

Aug 24, 2018

good

By doraboya s s

May 11, 2018

GOOD

By Karthikeya s D

May 11, 2018

good

By Suresh K B

Mar 9, 2018

good

By anuranjan k

Jun 30, 2016

nice

By Parikshit R

Jun 28, 2020

nyc

By Jyoti V

Jun 14, 2020

.

By Lokesh

Jul 9, 2017

G

By Ken S

Nov 16, 2015

As I was taking this class, I often wondered who the target audience was. Although the class has no listed prerequisites, I noticed a lot of engineering jargon being used without ever defining what it meant. I'm not sure that non-technical people would get much out of the lectures. On the other hand, the lectures were mostly at a superficial level, so I'm not sure that technical people would get much out of them either. The only topic that got a (somewhat) deep dive was serial communication, and it wasn't clear why; users of the Arduino don't need to understand it any more or less than any other aspect of how an Arduino works.There were other issues. The programs we wrote had to be pasted into a submission form that removed all the carriage returns when you hit Save; I had to manually fix my program each time. Perhaps most frustratingly, you could follow the assignment instructions to the letter, but after you submitted you might find out that the grading criteria included other requirements. In one case people asked about it, and it turned out that the grading criteria were wrong, but they were never updated. My sense was that not much effort went into the creation of this course.

By Olga S

Oct 23, 2016

This is a good introduction course. But!

But, I don't think it's worth to pay 61 dollar for a couple of hours of lectures, that you can finish during 1 day.

I'm really disappointed with the fact, that it's not possible to go through quizes and assignments without payment. What if I can't pay right now, but will be able to pay at the end to receive my certificate? I should go through the course again and I will be late for all assignments, so will have to wait for another course session... Very-very inconvenient.

And, yep, coursera reduce the effect of learning with not providing quizes for those who are auditing only.

By Matthew S

Aug 8, 2016

It can be nice to walk through this process with a lecturer. Ian Harris does it well and knows the content well enough.

Most of this content however is given sufficiently in the pamphlet with the Arduino Uno Starter Kit. Some problems and applications above and beyond the starter kit's intro guide would be nice and appropriate for the course. Additionally, given that this is also supposed to be an intro to C, a bit more detail and some programmatic problem solving in C would have also added good value to the course.

By Himalsha D

Oct 15, 2020

In my view before selecting this course every user should have a arduino based experience otherwise maximum benefit can not be gained.Also if any user is looking to learn arduino programming , this is not the correct place because most of the time course is focused on theoritical information .So this is not sufficient to blow the world from arduino. Practical applications are not enough in this course but better to get some idea about arduino