Chevron Left
Back to The Arduino Platform and C Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Arduino Platform and C Programming by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
6,597 ratings
1,498 reviews

About the Course

The Arduino is an open-source computer hardware/software platform for building digital devices and interactive objects that can sense and control the physical world around them. In this class you will learn how the Arduino platform works in terms of the physical board and libraries and the IDE (integrated development environment). You will also learn about shields, which are smaller boards that plug into the main Arduino board to perform other functions such as sensing light, heat, GPS tracking, or providing a user interface display. The course will also cover programming the Arduino using C code and accessing the pins on the board via the software to control external devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Outline the composition of the Arduino development board 2. Describe what it means to program the board's firmware 3. Read board schematics 4. Install Arduino IDE 5. Describe what "shields" are and how they are used 6. Specify the role of libraries in the use of shields 7. Compile and run a program 8. Name C Variables and Types 9. Name common C operators 10. Use conditionals and loops 11. Explain functions, their definition and invocation 12. Explain the implications of global variables 13. Undertake the Arduino build process 14. Describe the role of the tools behind the IDE 15. Describe how to invoke functions in classes 16. Explain the structure of an Arduino sketch 17. Access the pins of the Arduino 18. Differentiate between digital and analog pin 19. Debug embedded software 20. Explain the importance of controllability and observability in the debugging process 21. Describe common debugging architectures for embedded systems 22. Explain how the UART Serial communication protocol works 23. Describe how the Arduino Serial library performs serial communication...

Top reviews

MR
Aug 8, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

MK
Aug 6, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

Filter by:

1401 - 1425 of 1,479 Reviews for The Arduino Platform and C Programming

By AKSHATA S

Mar 16, 2021

the course should have discussion forums. and instructor doesn't explain how to connect using tinkercad and run the code. Only links are given.

By Geet D

Feb 1, 2016

It was good but according to me it had a paucity of arduino programming for which i enrolled . However it was still helpful and i enjoyed it .

By Teo P

Dec 23, 2016

Generally a good course about the very basics of hardware. It also has a nice introduction to the very basics of C Programming.

By Guy G

Sep 13, 2016

The professor seems pretty nice and the class is great but even quizzes/answers and assignments are only available for payment

By Varun M e

Jan 26, 2021

I expected the course to last more which I mean needs to be elaborated and things should have gone more in-depth.

By Bruno J d C

Aug 16, 2016

O curso é bom. Faltam exemplos práticos. O único que têm é bom pra quem nunca teve contato com eletrônica.

By Siddhi C M

May 27, 2020

The concept taught to us through videos didn't quite match with the type of questions asked in the quiz.

By Sarda a k

Jul 3, 2020

I think the lecturer could have given more examples and could have shown practicals of what was taught.

By Sarath K

Aug 26, 2020

you are not explaining some of the technical terms,it is hard to understand for beginners

By Manikanta n

Oct 22, 2015

expected more programs to be taught and more experiments to be shown, disappointing

By Seon H

Apr 29, 2021

There was almost no C programming. It was a trivial course. I learned nothing new.

By Doug E

Mar 19, 2020

A bit too basic when it came to exercises, but a decent introduction to the topic.

By Omar R R

Jun 24, 2018

It is a good course but would be better to be able to contact the professor

By Priyank S

Oct 26, 2015

No practical at least till the end of this course in this specialization

By Md A I S

Jun 26, 2020

u should better focus on prectical coding insted of showing us function

By Abhishek W

Sep 14, 2020

This course is very good for beginners in Arduino and C programming.

By Alex S

Jul 28, 2019

Need visual examples like more images, animations and diagrams.

By Oren O

May 8, 2020

Had to google quite a bit... but the lecture put me on course.

By Mouni R

Jan 14, 2020

Pretty high level, C programming instruction was horrendous.

By Sahan J

Oct 15, 2020

Thory 99%

Practical 1%

Add some practicals to this course

By Tomas S

Sep 19, 2016

Basic progamimg understanding / interacting with Arduino

By Shivam T

May 25, 2016

Good , but not very detailed for programming the Arduino

By Manish k

May 3, 2020

It is quite good.it Is really beneficial for me.

Thanks

By Abdallah h e m

Jul 6, 2020

he should develope him self in teaching c programming

By ozgur a

Mar 13, 2021

it is very basic, there is not much about detail.