Chevron Left
Back to The Arduino Platform and C Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Arduino Platform and C Programming by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
6,385 ratings
1,441 reviews

About the Course

The Arduino is an open-source computer hardware/software platform for building digital devices and interactive objects that can sense and control the physical world around them. In this class you will learn how the Arduino platform works in terms of the physical board and libraries and the IDE (integrated development environment). You will also learn about shields, which are smaller boards that plug into the main Arduino board to perform other functions such as sensing light, heat, GPS tracking, or providing a user interface display. The course will also cover programming the Arduino using C code and accessing the pins on the board via the software to control external devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Outline the composition of the Arduino development board 2. Describe what it means to program the board's firmware 3. Read board schematics 4. Install Arduino IDE 5. Describe what "shields" are and how they are used 6. Specify the role of libraries in the use of shields 7. Compile and run a program 8. Name C Variables and Types 9. Name common C operators 10. Use conditionals and loops 11. Explain functions, their definition and invocation 12. Explain the implications of global variables 13. Undertake the Arduino build process 14. Describe the role of the tools behind the IDE 15. Describe how to invoke functions in classes 16. Explain the structure of an Arduino sketch 17. Access the pins of the Arduino 18. Differentiate between digital and analog pin 19. Debug embedded software 20. Explain the importance of controllability and observability in the debugging process 21. Describe common debugging architectures for embedded systems 22. Explain how the UART Serial communication protocol works 23. Describe how the Arduino Serial library performs serial communication...

Top reviews

MR
Aug 8, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

MK
Aug 6, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

Filter by:

1401 - 1420 of 1,420 Reviews for The Arduino Platform and C Programming

By Flávio H P d O

Mar 9, 2017

So superficial

By Rushant T

Apr 3, 2021

Good

By Ashish s

Jun 7, 2020

Good

By Sherif E M

Aug 27, 2020

In my honest opinion, 90% of this course content was totally irrelevant. The instructor focuses heavily on explaining stuff rather than how to do stuff. Furthermore, course title says "The arduino platform and C programming" but actually the course gives no sufficient attention to C nor arduino itself. Instead, it focused heavily on concepts that are not at all important to a programmer learning arduino and embedded systems in general such as UART, how data is sent serially and the steps towards creation of a hex file. In addition, no attention was given at all to actual arduino coding and not even a single relevant task was given.

By Alexander I

Jan 25, 2016

The course is almost about nothing. It seems to me that the teacher didn't make enough preparations and make a lot of mistakes during the couse. After 8 weeks of Arduino-related courses I've got almost nothing new besides first 2 chapters of Arduino Starter Kit book.

By Paul G

Nov 11, 2019

A truly terrible introduction to C. If you can't already program in C, know the difference between C and C++ or even know why you shouldn't call it C/C++ then you will struggle.

All the information is free and better presented in other places. Avoid.

By Pablo B L

Jan 31, 2016

Deberían avisar que no se pueden subir para calificar los cuestionarios ni las tareas sin pagar. Esto en la semana 1, ya veremos si hay más sorpresas en las siguientes. Gracias.

By Douglas O

Apr 22, 2017

All this peer grading nonsense is garbage. If we are gonna pay 63$ a month of something we can at least get the proper grading system included.

By Chaudhari N D

Mar 19, 2020

in this course we cannot learn more about the IOT only theory I think that I waste my money in this specialization

By Birhanu G

Aug 2, 2020

i can not take this course due to I have not the board for assignments and projects you will offer in the course.

By Mohit B

May 10, 2020

No practical and hands-on knowledge, the course content is so less and very very limited. I learnt nothing at all

By Debra K

May 9, 2016

If I am auditing this class why can't the quizzes be free also?

What happened to free Coursera?

By Raymond C

Aug 3, 2016

Linking programming language to hardware sucks. Do not waste time on this course.

By Julián c r

Feb 14, 2016

no me gusta q no vengan subtitulos en español

deberian hacer el doblaje en español

By Axelle D L

May 9, 2016

C'est beaucoup trop théorique à mon goût. On n'apprend rien de réellement utile

By Khan S H

Nov 6, 2015

This course is too short and have little real time example .

By Gerry F

Nov 25, 2015

No forum, what are you thinking!

By RZIK A

May 24, 2020

this course is so complecated

By Deleted A

Jan 6, 2021

beginner not internediate

By Renato M

Oct 22, 2016

Startinng it now