Chevron Left
Back to Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils by University of Minnesota

4.9
stars
465 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an overview of essential oil therapy and current aromatherapy practices in clinical settings and gives you the skills to bring aromatherapy into your own practice. By the end of the course, you will be able to: a) explain what essential oils are to a patient and how they work; b) assess if an essential oil might be beneficial to a patient, considering patient preference and the research evidence, as well as any safety issues or contraindications; and c) suggest a protocol for use in a clinical setting. Continuing Education Credits This course has been designed to meet Minnesota Board of Nursing continuing education requirements for 15 contact hours and may be eligible for CE credit from other professional boards that allow self-documenting of continuing education activities. It is your responsibility to check with your regulatory board to confirm this course meets your local requirements and, if necessary, to provide them with the certificate of completion you get if you pay for and fulfill all the requirements of this course....

Top reviews

LM

Apr 20, 2021

Great course. I learned a lot and have become interested in incorporating the use of essential oils into my practice. I believe I have a good foundation upon which to build my knowledge and training.

AO

Apr 24, 2020

Excellent overview of aromatherapy and some of its major uses, safety considerations, and supporting evidence. I look forward to using what I learned in my clinical practice but also my daily life!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 190 Reviews for Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils

By Marian S

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent course! Highly recommend for anyone wanting to learn more about essential oils and aromatherapy. It was great for beginners and experienced users too. The pace and flow were spot on.

By Hannah M

Nov 4, 2019

This class was well organized and involved the perfect blend of listening and participation. It was a perfect introduction to essential oils especially for those working in clinical settings.

By Margaret C

Aug 24, 2019

Good course. Difficult to navigate back to review information already presented. It would be ehlpful to have a drop down for Week 1, Week 2 etc

By Rizlekica Z

Apr 15, 2020

This course was incredible! :) It taught me a lot, instructor was great, interesting and even though English isn't my mother tongue, I understood everything. This is awesome start for the topic about Aromatherapy. :)

If there will be an Aromatherapy second course, I'm certainly going to take that class asap.

By Terri L M

Jun 12, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have been using essential oils for many year but mostly when I take a de-stress bubble bath. I am happy I now know about phototoxic issues with some essential oils since I am often in the sun. I had no idea of this issue. My mother is 91 and I would like to use aromatherapy with her and now that I am more informed, I may offer her massage or inhalation suggestions. Thank you.

By Alyssa M O

Apr 25, 2020

Excellent overview of aromatherapy and some of its major uses, safety considerations, and supporting evidence. I look forward to using what I learned in my clinical practice but also my daily life!

By Paula S

Sep 6, 2021

I love the way Janet teaches throughout the course. Her explanations are clear, concise and very informative.

What I think is that most of what she shares is only kept in the voice of the videos, not on the slides. So the slides are not really a helpful in the course, and I think they ougt to be. It would be great if they could capture and summarize what Janet is talking about in each lecture. For instance, in order to take notes during the different lectures, I could not rely on the slides, I had to listen to the video many times, pause it, take my own notes, go back and listen again, an so on. So looking at the slides on the screen was actually not helpful. Jane's narrative was what I had to focus on and summarize it myself.

Another important point is this: I'd recommend the use of tables to summarize the information provided on EOs. For instance, for Week 4, a table with the EO names in rows and a columns to indicate (with a simple checkmark) if the oil is used to treat pain or anxiety, would be great. The same goes for Week 5 when dealing with nausea and fatigue. I had to draw those tables myself in my own notes, in order to be able to fix in my what each EO was good for. In a nutsell, bullet points on slides are quick to draft and share, but graphical information is way more useful for learning purposes.

Hope this feedback helps! It was a great course to take. I'll be making the most of it in my everyday practice :D.

By Susan F

Jul 23, 2019

I loved this course! I have been involved with EO's for many years, but only for my own use. I have always purchased them already blended and have not known how to blend them myself or different delivery methods. I am very happy to have learned all the things I learned from this course as I plan to volunteer at Hospice and I can use this alternative comfort care on patients if they decide they want it as another tool to help them. Thank you so much for this great course!!!!!

By Edzahi m

Feb 20, 2021

this course it worth studying contain almost all necessary information needed for aromatherapy treatment and if you prefer convectional medicine instead of allopathic medicine you can go for it .

By Rebecca W

Jul 8, 2019

Enjoyed the class, particularly the chemistry behind how essential oils interact with the body.

By Sasikarn B

May 25, 2020

The course is really good. All important knowledge that you can use in everyday life and provide to others. But there's no feedback from teacher,nor asking question. Only have student discussion group. This is the only thing i think should be improve.

By Ma T T I

Dec 8, 2020

It has been a very satisfying time to learn in this course. It allowed me to learn how to be more professional in approaching the use of essential oils in as a non-pharmacological adjunct to address health issues. It has given more confidence in helping those who are really interested in using aromatherapy as an assistance to their medical issues. The research results presented gave me a confidence boost to promote its use in a very safe way. As an engineer who is very conscious of safety I am highly encouraged to fiercely promote and advocate safe practices. And the certificate will certainly provide me with more authority to discuss its safe use. My deepest gratitude for this opportunity. I hope there is more advance course dealing with the chemistry of essential oils; biochemistry of essential oils?

By Magda C

Nov 2, 2022

Curso muito bom, dinamico, apresenta o que precisamos ver, com metodologia simples de compreender, sem perder na qualidade.

Fiz este curso para complementar um outro, presencial, e o resultado foi maravilhoso. Consegui juntar uma boa base de conhecimento, que me deixou mais tranquila para atuar de forma segura.

A base de referencias que este curso apresenta é incrível, e serve de consutas para sempre.

Só tenho a agradecer ao Coursera e a Janet.

By Giselle M

Jun 7, 2020

Janet Tomaino is an educator in the broadest sense of the word. She conducts the course with the perfect balance between softness, objectivity and generosity of content, so that at the end of the course, the student is very confident about the content learned. I am very grateful for providing guidance on how to implement an aromatherapy program in an institution.

By Lesa M

Apr 21, 2021

Great course. I learned a lot and have become interested in incorporating the use of essential oils into my practice. I believe I have a good foundation upon which to build my knowledge and training.

By Chie M

Oct 2, 2019

Every video lessons were easy to understand for me, beginner of aromatherapy. I learned a lot about aromatherapy that will help with my and my family's healthcare. Thank you very much!!

By Kellen M

Mar 4, 2022

O curso é muito bom, especialmente pelo conhecimento compartilhado sobre a experiência e vivência em aromaterapia clínica por profissionais de saúde de outro país, nesse caso EUA.

By Leonila A K

Sep 17, 2020

Thank you so much for this great opportunity offered to us from DOST Philippine and special thanks to my professor for her expertise Janet Tomaino, DNP and Coursera management.

By 刘岳鹏

Oct 10, 2019

I think i got basic knewledge and uesful technique about aromatherapy in clinic and i can’t wait to practice them in my real life. Thanks.

By Dominic G

Jun 26, 2019

Great introduction, various area of the subject covered. Even first time EO users may learn more than scratching on YouTube.

By Anne-Claire L

Sep 22, 2020

A wonderful course, truly. I learnt and integrated way more than I thought I would. Many thanks to the Coursera Community!

By Sajmi A

Oct 26, 2021

very helpfulhelpfulhelpfulhelpfulhelpful

By Barbara B

Feb 9, 2021

I found this course interesting and the instructor seems very enthusiastic about this field of study. I wish more universities in the United States could catch up on this area of study. I learned a great amount of information. Anyone taking this course should put the appropriate time into learning this material if they are serious about pursuing a career where they will use this information. There was important safety information and instructions on correct use of the essential oils. There were research studies to look at to follow the evidence. This instructor was wonderful and the course was well organized and thorough!

By Tomas D

Apr 2, 2024

The curriculum delves into the science behind aromatherapy while emphasizing its clinical relevance. Interactive discussions foster collaboration among participants, enriching the learning experience. Emphasis on safety and ethical considerations ensures responsible use of essential oils. The course's accessibility and user-friendly interface enhance the learning journey. Overall, it's a transformative experience recommended for both seasoned practitioners and newcomers to aromatherapy. The Professor was also very nice and constructive/well structured in her speech and lectures.

By strahl v

Jul 25, 2020

I liked the way the course is planned. The efforts of the Professors are to be appreciated to great extent. before taking the course i am from among those group of people who have heard about aromatherapy and know nothing about the therapy. the use of essential oils were slowly injected and the pharmacological effects were explained with great care. the case studies were at the extreme end. they explained the application part. thank you course era and a very big thank to the Professor/ Tutor of the course.