Chevron Left
Back to Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils by University of Minnesota

4.9
stars
467 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an overview of essential oil therapy and current aromatherapy practices in clinical settings and gives you the skills to bring aromatherapy into your own practice. By the end of the course, you will be able to: a) explain what essential oils are to a patient and how they work; b) assess if an essential oil might be beneficial to a patient, considering patient preference and the research evidence, as well as any safety issues or contraindications; and c) suggest a protocol for use in a clinical setting. Continuing Education Credits This course has been designed to meet Minnesota Board of Nursing continuing education requirements for 15 contact hours and may be eligible for CE credit from other professional boards that allow self-documenting of continuing education activities. It is your responsibility to check with your regulatory board to confirm this course meets your local requirements and, if necessary, to provide them with the certificate of completion you get if you pay for and fulfill all the requirements of this course....

Top reviews

TF

Invalid date

The course is a good overview of the beginning of aromatherapy. Good resources for the monographs and basic introduction of the commonly used essential oils.

SK

Invalid date

This course was well presented by the instructor; it covered all the relevant topics that I believe are vital to understanding Essential oils and the broad field of aromatherapy.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 191 Reviews for Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils

By Osama H M

Apr 26, 2022

This course is a distinct part of the journey of learning alternative medicine. I am one of the dealers with essential oils for a long time, as I work in the field of tourism in my country, Egypt. We are distinguished by the production of essential oils and we have specialized exhibitions that we visit with our tourist groups. After this course, I can add a distinct amount of information About essential oils for our tour groups I enjoyed and benefited greatly during the trip of this course. Thank you all

By Salvatore B

Dec 28, 2020

While I do not work in a clinical setting, I found this course highly useful as an essential oils user. I was made better aware of the safety precautions one must follow, as well as the clinically studied benefits to using EOs. The instructor has a kind and calm demeanour, and presents the information in a clear and accessible way. I plan to keep all my course notes for future use. After completing this course, I feel more confident recommending certain essential oils to friends and family.

By Adam P

Sep 28, 2022

Pretty good introductory course to aromatherapy - I think the authors really picked up the essentials needed to start practicing + a numerous ways to advance the knowledge // as I intend to use aromatherapy and EOs as really an adjunct to my current Acupressure + Reiki practice its really good beginning step and Iam just going to continue with 3 recommended books and I believe that will give me all the information I need to have for my course.

5* - without any debate.

By Stephanie R

Jul 27, 2020

The course was well laid out and the content was easily understood and explained in a way that did not require the student to have a specific health/medical background. The course was user friendly and the instructor was very good at presenting the content weekly and relating it back to content already learned. I enjoyed the PDF 'handouts' as well, as they helped to solidify the course content in a form that we could look back and read while listening to the lectures.

By Nicole J B

May 25, 2020

This was a fantastic and useful introduction to clinical aromatherapy that has inspired me to learn more! The course is well-structured and well-presented, and very easy to navigate and understand. The course presents just enough information to make me feel like I understand how I might use the oils discussed in class - but also showed me that there is a lot more to understand about aromatherapy, and I am eager to explore it all! Thank-you!

By WEE F C

Dec 10, 2022

For those who are interested in complementary medicine or integrative medicine, this is a great course to go into. It is good for those who are practising to refresh their learning and application and it is great for new comers who want to know about aromatherapy. Excellent teaching by the Professors and excellent resources given for future references in your practice.

By Monika E

Aug 3, 2023

I feel incredibly fortunate to have embarked on this extraordinary Aromatherapy course guided by such a dedicated teacher who not only possesses vast knowledge but also an unwavering commitment to sustainability. This journey has been an eye-opening experience that goes beyond the magical world of essential oils.

By Cintia M N

Oct 22, 2020

"Aromatherapy:clinical use of essential oils" was very didatic and instructivelly prepared. The lecture papers and references given were very helpful for constructing a responsible way of puting aromatherapy in practice with safety and ethics. So I would like to thank everyone involved in the course elaboration.

By Mary S

Oct 4, 2020

I enjoyed this course a lot! and would recommend it to anyone who is exploring or wants to know more about essential oils.

I just wanted there to be more information about ingestion of EO's from medical & clinical point of view to cover all of my questions as there's a lot of diverse information on the internet.

By Kara R

Aug 8, 2022

This is such a great introduction to aromatherapy! I learned things I should've known years ago working with essential oils! I loved learning some of the science behind my favorite oils, and some contraindications I never realized before. This will be very helpful producing herbal medicines for my clients!

By Marina M

Feb 28, 2021

The course provided valuable information which I have already put into use in an acute care hospital setting with excellent reception from patients and observed benefits. I also appreciated the flexibility as I am working full-time and also taking Biochemistry. I would highly recommend this course!

By Amanda C

Feb 8, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It's both given me a healthy respect for the potency of essential oils and exercising caution when using them, at the same time an appreciation of just how beneficial they can be. I'll use them but make sure I read up and have my monographs at hand first! Thank you

By CLAUDIA G

Aug 5, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The instructor was great and she gave a very detailed introduction to the SAFE use of essential oils. I found it easy to follow, with logical sequence of the materials. I value the wide selection of scientific evidence included in the references of the course.

By Eugenia B B M

Sep 30, 2022

Es un curso completo y muy bueno para personales de salud interesados en medicina alternativa coadyutante a la medicina tradicional. Recomiendo ampliamente este curso para cualquier personal de salud que quiera mejorar su práctica profesional, ayudar a sus pacientes en su recuperación.

By Carrie M

Mar 30, 2024

The program was very informative on the use and safety of essential oils. It would be great for a beginner and as a refresher for an aromatherapy practitioner. The instructor was easy to listen to and the information was given in a format easy to understand. I enjoyed this program.

By Natalia T O

Dec 3, 2020

Wonderful! I have put into practice several of the methods learned in the course and the results are incredible. I highly recommend this course not only for the clinical setting but also for people in general who want to know a little more about this world of essential oils.

By DEVANK S

May 24, 2020

I've learned so many new things about essential oils and their therapeutic properties and uses.

It is one of the best online courses I've attended and I thank University of Minnesota and Coursera for giving such a deal to students who are interested in learning something new.

By Alberto V

Aug 22, 2020

What I can highlight in the course is the great past knowledge, with ethics and security. Thanks to this course I will be able to help myself and my community of Fibromyalgia sufferers in my city. Coursera's work goes beyond education, it is social transformation.

By pauline B

Jun 3, 2020

Good course, with not too many essential oils to remember, and not too rare or expensive ones. Highlights are the main types of application / diffusion, the main things EO can be used in a hospital. Videos were helpful, and halfway 'tests' were nice to stay focused.

By SureshKumar

Sep 28, 2020

This course has explained me everything in detail about Essential Oils, applications, and policies. Now I can apply all these for my personal use as well as in clinical setting. Thank you so much Prof. Janet Tomaino, and University of Minnesota and Coursera

By Marina M

Nov 1, 2020

A very interesting course, it covered from the basics to more specific information and it brought several contents. It really is worthwhile, regardless if you are a person in the health area or if you want knowledge for a personal nature only.

By Ranae A

Jul 8, 2020

Very informative! The teacher was clearly knowledgable on the topic and able to share her personal experience that was meaningful to learning. It was just the right amount of work to gain good information for a basic level of aromatherapy!

By Alfiya S

Nov 23, 2020

"Aromatherapy: Clinical Use of Essential Oils" includes high quality information (about Essential Oils and safe use EO, how to implement EO in your work, how drawing up a policy of using EO). This course isvery interesting and helpful.

By Mirela V

Aug 24, 2021

For centuries, aromatic plants have been used for their therapeutic benefits. Aromatherapy is both the art and the science of using plant-derived and naturally extracted aromatic oils to promote physical and psychological well-being.

By maria e g h

Sep 13, 2020

me encanto el curso excelente aprender uso y recomendaciones y así poder seleccionar los mejores aceites y garantizar que el consumo es el correcto me encantaría extender este aprendizaje sobre este tema mas que nada profundizar