Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
3,914 ratings
985 reviews

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

PG
Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
Jan 28, 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 971 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Sina M

Apr 18, 2020

Tutors explain the basic of statistics in a simple way. The only issue is sometimes they need to use more examples to make a better understanding of some specific parts of statistics.

By Jonas N

Aug 31, 2017

Good course with hands-on examples. Liked the balance between theory and practice. Good that one got to practice in R, even though the syntax was bit of a headache from time to time.

By Rafael d M B

Jul 13, 2020

The first two modules are great. The other ones, not really. The knowledge about probability could be better thaught, since it is just formulas, formulas, formulas e little concept.

By Xun Y

Dec 10, 2016

This course covers the basic knowledge of statistics and probability but skips the mathematical details behind the theory. Great for beginners but not perfect for advanced users.

By Ashley R

Mar 24, 2020

The videos were excellent! R-Lab is awful and the feedback on what needs to be done to correct the error was less than great. But the instructors and videos were excellent.

By Graeme C

Sep 7, 2018

lectures are excelent, better than I had as an undergraduate at university! The tests and the R modules are a bit infuriating... FYI, it helps to do the R modules first!

By Michael K

Nov 15, 2017

This is a great beginners course. It sets down the foundations quite nicely with minimal jargon. Would definitely recommend for anyone starting their statistics journey.

By Fabian G

Mar 9, 2016

Most of the parts were interesting and clear... some cumbersome and slow pace with the other professor. Not sure if the diapers and shit-painting were the best examples.

By Prashanth S H

Jun 30, 2021

Very good course. Excellent examples, quiz. and learning from the R tool exercises. An advice is to go through the R tool exercises in the same order as the course.

By Shreyans B

Jun 27, 2020

Enroll only if you already know R. Also, the R Lab assignments are trash. The probability topics are not so well explained but the statistics part is good enough

By SURESH M

Feb 24, 2019

Thank you for training course, this course very useful. your course informative and interactive which gave us practices and examples all are most important.

By Dorothy L M

May 2, 2016

Great class, but I wish there were more practice problems. Statistics is a very important concept to learn for any field, and I highly recommend this class.

By Sandeep L

Jan 23, 2019

First 3 modules are very good. Going from basic statistics to basic probability. 4th module onward it is not basic anymore. I would split it into 2 parts.

By Donald M

Apr 14, 2018

Very good course covering the basics of statistics and the r statistical software. Most of it very well explained with helpful examples, would recommend.

By SathishKumar P

Apr 1, 2019

Content of course is well explained through videos. The questions in the assignment make us to solve the problems to answer the questions was useful

By Wilkinson M

Nov 13, 2016

Love the lectures and the way everything is organized in the course, however the information or instructions provided by the labs seem incomplete.

By Suvinava B

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course with good videos. Videos were very interesting and engaging. The example video at the end of each week was very helpful.

By Hiro

Jun 19, 2018

good starting course for probability and statistics. Ideally for the people who have left school and wanted to pick up math thingy again.

By Jose R

May 18, 2019

A nice course, I really learned. I think some of the themes should be more explained, specifically themes corresponding to week 3 and 4.

By Nik E

Oct 31, 2018

Very enjoyable course with some great, relatable examples. I found the probability modules (3&4) very tough but got there in the end.

By Ioana D

Feb 10, 2017

Very helpful for beginners, the examples are very well chosen to help you understand the meaning of all the mathematical formulas.

By LiangRui

May 23, 2020

The concepts are well explained, the learning path well researched and above everything the R labs were ideal for the beginners.

By Sara B

Oct 31, 2017

Clear explanations, very useful indeed.

It helps you you get familiar with basic statistical concepts and to begin to use R.

By Weston M

Apr 27, 2021

It was pretty solid. Wouldn't necessarily recommend the course specifically, but I definitely wouldn't recommend against it

By Luciano M T

Jan 19, 2017

It's everything I needed to keep running with Data Scientist Specialization preparing.

Thank you so much for your support!