Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
4,162 ratings

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

AD

Jun 27, 2022

Instructors have provided concise explanations of the concepts. There are many examples considered that make statistics easier to understand! Also, the illustrations are fancy. I enjoyed every video!

PG

Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 1,025 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Shreya G

Feb 11, 2016

It's wonderful how teacher have broken down each and every concept. Examples helps in clearing the concept well.

By Sherif N M A E

Mar 3, 2019

The terminologies make it a bit hard to understand for foreign students but the hands-on with R is really good.

By Gaurav M

Oct 15, 2016

There should be some case study to feel real time scenario. As far as the content is concern its perfect.

Thanks

By Megan W

Oct 23, 2017

Challenging, (for someone who has never taken statistics!) but this course was well done and very helpful

By Salvatore C

Feb 19, 2017

Nice and well done. Teachers are very clear in explaining concepts and examples are useful and helpful.

By Saloni G

Sep 13, 2020

this course was really helpful and informative for my studies. learning R was extremely helpful too.

By JYOTIRMAI G

May 18, 2020

It was good learning and experience with the R-lab tools.Got some idea about it as it was new to me.

By kshirod s

Jan 4, 2020

Probability chapter content needs to be improved as it is pretty much abstract & hard to understand.

By Deleted A

Jun 7, 2017

Great class. Would be helpful if there were explanations for incorrect quiz and final exam answers.

By Matthew �

Feb 15, 2021

In the lab, you could get the right answer but not get credit, because you did it a different way.

By Ricardo H S d S C

Jan 1, 2017

I liked the course, nonetheless I liked we had previous exercises to prepare to each evaluation.

By Robert J

Aug 4, 2020

sometimes too fast, sometimes too slow

instructors were clear

R tutorials a little less clear

By Lim F F

Sep 22, 2018

Have struggled in this course but learned the basics of statistics, thanks for the lessons..

By Ravitej

Jul 20, 2017

Very nice, thanks a lot to trainers who helped me to get a brief idea on Basic statistics

By Anand L

Aug 2, 2020

The probability chapters could have been explained much more clearly with better examples

By Vibhor B

Oct 22, 2020

Decent learning experience. Would help if the quiz answers contain explanations too

By Altaf G

Jan 24, 2017

Great introduction to statistics presented in a very interesting and engaging way.

By MASKE S H

Sep 16, 2020

Very Hard, But It's made in such a way that you can't leave without completing.

By Piyachart C

Jun 6, 2020

Good describes about statistics but It's good if subtitle has Thai language

By Esraa S

Apr 19, 2016

I would give five stars BUT

I wish that it isn't a must to finish R program.

By Valentino A

Feb 12, 2016

Good to get the intuition behind the theory, but it is a high level course.

By Paula C

Jul 5, 2020

Very good! hope they gave us more practice exercises previous to quices !!

By Michael M

Sep 11, 2016

The explanations in the videos were very helpful. A very useful course.

By Sneha G

Mar 6, 2017

Was a useful course for people wanting to learn statistical concepts!

By Younyil K

Mar 25, 2016

Good course, but it seems there are some errors in the quiz and labs