Chevron Left
Back to Basic Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Statistics by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
3,979 ratings
995 reviews

About the Course

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Top reviews

PG
Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
Jan 28, 2021

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 980 Reviews for Basic Statistics

By Sheela R

Dec 31, 2020

It was a big opportunity to learn in depth concept of Basic Statistics from Coursera course.

All the lectures are very easy to understand and it allowed to me learn fast and quick.

Thank you Coursera.

By eda b

Dec 29, 2020

I enjoyed so much during the course . examples that was given in videos are complement for understaning topics. In my opinion Everyone who are deficient for statistic must take course regardless.

By Rosa A B G

Apr 27, 2018

SO AMAZING

I was a little afraid of statistics before I took this course and I thought it might get boring or very dry, but with a professor that great this is hardly possible!

I really loved it!

By Gustavo M V

Jun 12, 2016

It's a great course to learn basic statistics.

The course structure is clear and well ordered, and the video lectures are friendly and well explained.

I'm pleased with the course.

Thanks people

By Kuei C T

Feb 7, 2016

This course is very beneficial to me.

It explains the theory very clearly and lively that we can easily learn the concepts.

Beside, R-lab helps me about the R language. This is very important.

By Xinyao Z

Sep 1, 2019

This course can be challenging, but it is indeed a very useful course if you do not have any knowledge about statistics. R assignment is also useful for it saves time for calculation.

By Mariana A F

May 10, 2019

I loved the course. I completed it in just 2 weeks and learnt everything I was supposed to learn in my basic college courses and didn't quite fully understood or had already forgotten

By Shuwen Y

Jul 9, 2016

great intro class to statistics. Love the animation, teaching style and R lab exercises. The first class in coursera that video content and quiz are relevant. Highly recommended!!!

By Tiantian Z

Feb 26, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The teaching is straight and useful. Examples are very interesting and related to our daily life. I wound recommend this course to my friend!

By Jasper K

Oct 7, 2016

As a student of the UvA I have followed multiple courses on statistics as the university, and this coursera course comes very close to the level of those courses. (For free!)

By Tom W

Apr 20, 2016

Well structured course with engaging examples. I found the tests really helped me practice and learn the material. I will certainly take other courses in this specialization.

By Linfeng C

Jun 20, 2020

This course is well designed and the examples make the concepts easier to understand. There are also plenty of opportunities to apply the knowledge in the quizzes and R lab.

By Olena P

Oct 16, 2016

Absolutely amazing course with good humour and great pictures. You will get knowledge of Basics of Statistics which will stay with you for a long time after passing an exam.

By Gabriel A F G

Aug 19, 2020

Este es un curso muy completo, no solo te enseña ciertos elementos básicos de la estadística, sino que complementa la teoría con ejercicios prácticos guiados en lenguaje R.

By Alexia

Aug 26, 2016

Very good class for beginners, everything is well explained and illustrated with examples. I highly recommend this course for those who want to understand statistics easily

By Brendan B

Aug 5, 2017

This was a really well designed and delivered intro course to statistics. The way they discussed statistics in association with everyday topics made it easy to comprehend.

By Nubia J L B

Jun 14, 2021

Excelente curso, temática muy interesante, tratado de manera precisa y con cierto toque divertido. Gracias por el esfuerzo que hacen para transmitir tanto conocimiento

By ARLIE J D

Nov 10, 2020

The tool is very nice. It provides statistical learnings and it hones really our analytical and organizational skills. I am grateful to this course in Basic Statistics.

By Bruno H

Oct 13, 2016

Excellent course, virtually all the lectures were taught based on practical examples, exactly the way statistics should be taught. 10 out of 10, no shadow of a doubt

By Eda S

Jun 22, 2016

It is really helpful to get an idea for statisctics. Examples, quizzes, assignments as well as R lab designed on according to content of class. There is no suprise.

By gaurav l

Feb 3, 2021

The course is really good.

i was a little bit familiar with statistics but after this course, everything became clear in my mind, and don,t have any confusion also.

By Suguna D

Oct 6, 2016

I have already given my feed back. Excellent. No words other than thanks, thanks, thanks to all who made me learn the basic statistics from your well learned team.

By Joanna K

Feb 16, 2017

The course helped me to check my knowledge from basic statistics. Teachers are great and explain difficult topics on some easy to understand examples. Thank you!

By Nathamayil N

Jun 4, 2020

Everything was explained in a lucid manner and I was able to understand things easily too. It cleared a lot of doubts and misconceptions that I had in my mind.

By Shuma G

Jul 24, 2017

I loved the course. The clear explanations, tough quizzes and cheerful attitude helped me invest and find joy in statistics. Now I want to learn more and more.