Chevron Left
Back to Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

3.9
stars
244 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

Learn to use tools from the Bioconductor project to perform analysis of genomic data. This is the fifth course in the Genomic Big Data Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

GK

Aug 28, 2019

Before you can run, you must learn to walk.\n\nKasper's well paced tutorials will give you confidence using the tools you need for genomic study.

MA

Mar 12, 2016

Excellent introduction to Bioconductor. Thanks to the team. However, absence of inputs from TA or Instructor was felt in the discussion.

Filter by:

26 - 44 of 44 Reviews for Bioconductor for Genomic Data Science

By Marc B

May 13, 2020

Pretty good class. Thanks a lot! One downside: Understanding what we are doing for the exames from a biology perspective was pretty hard. We switched datasets very often (meaning also a lot of waiting for downloads...) and getting the meaning of the answers was somestimes quite tough.

By sandeep s

Dec 05, 2016

The course is tough and needs lots of practice and time to handle the stuff explained in this course. In my opinion the stuff should be split into 2 courses (partA and partB) with detailed explanation of every covered topic.

By Alberto T

Jan 30, 2016

Four stars because the content is good. Not five stars because the english is not so good and for a non-english expert it can be difficult to understand, and the subtitle contains quite often errors.

By Ji-Young K

Aug 31, 2016

I think it is a good class overall but the pace is fast and the resources that can help you is lacking. This will be good for someone who already kind of understands bioconductor.

By Thodoris S

May 02, 2018

Good course, although some previous experience with R is required and that was not clearly stated beforehand. Moreover it would be better to have a more introductory course to R.

By Qiyao Z

May 21, 2018

It's very helpful in learning genomic data science. I think it's a little difficult in the beginning. The instructor have some accent, which made me even harder to get into it.

By Essi K

Apr 16, 2018

A great introduction to Bioconductor! The course is very hands-on, so be ready to use R extensively.

By Tahira M

Jun 12, 2020

A great initiative taken by Johns Hopkins University.

By Sourav S

Sep 04, 2016

A nice course to introduce Bioconductor to students

By Shivani S

Aug 02, 2017

I'm going to take this again! hard one.

By Alex Z

Jul 14, 2017

pretty good

By Ming L

Dec 05, 2017

good

By Elizabeth D

Apr 18, 2018

So far findng the course nice as it covers the basics. I am new to programing and bioinformatics so I am finding it ok. However, would like more of an explanation iwith regards to both the biology and bioinformatics.

By Benson N M

Dec 21, 2016

The quizzes were engaging but i think it requires some knowledge in use R for data science. Though i learned a lot. Thanks again.

By Sael M A

Aug 07, 2018

Need to be simplified. Personally, I understood the lectures notes better than lectures videos.

By tawanda n

Dec 13, 2019

The content should be more recent and should allow for the use of other OS like ubuntu.

By Jacob A

Apr 18, 2017

very difficult course if you are new to R. Otherwise an okay course

By María E P R

Jul 30, 2017

A very basic course you need to learn by yourself a lot

By Janani S

Jul 01, 2020

This course was extremely hard to follow, especially for R novices and Bioconductor beginners. As a novice myself, I found that while I eventually got acclimatized to Dr. Hansen's speaking style, his pace and the amount of information covered through the course was far more than I had initially believed. I was only able to complete the course through a multitude of sources, including the Coursera weekly help forums and the various Bioconductor forums. If you would truly like to learn Bioconductor and implement it effectively, I would advise that you take a comprehensive R class as well as a brief introduction to Bioconductor before delving into this complex and high-level course.