Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatic Methods I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods I by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,294 ratings
300 reviews

About the Course

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 11, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED
Apr 26, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 294 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods I

By Waseem A A

May 2, 2020

Vey well-designed, very informative, and interesting. One of the best online courses about Bioinformatics.

By Roberto I L C

Aug 17, 2019

Amazing and well explained course...Lot of themes and information, some easy/difficult quizzes questions.

By Muhammad Z M

Jun 29, 2018

thanku so much for this course really the mentor nicholas is a great teacher and i have enjoy the course.

By Muhammad F

Jul 6, 2020

I m a bioinformatician, this course helped me acquire better skills and understanding of bioinformatics.

By G. P

Jun 20, 2017

I can understand each and everything clearly, really a good course for basic learners in Bioinformatics.

By Aswini P V

Aug 4, 2020

Thanks for this Cousera. Kindly , offer some more free course , in order to feed poor classed student.

By Mesut O

Oct 27, 2018

Assessments were stressful. I felt that I've learned the some fundamentals of Computational Biology

By Mim A

Jan 19, 2016

It was very well taught, I very much enjoyed taking this course and I appreciate producers efforts.

By Cindy

Oct 8, 2015

Set such a solid foundation for beginners to start their research career using bioinformatic tools!

By Nairomberg C P J

Aug 19, 2020

Amazing way to learn about the basic tools on bioinformatics analysis of sequences. Best regards!

By Premanand

Dec 22, 2017

Very useful beginner course for Biologists who want to use Bioinformatics tools in their research

By yihua w

Apr 6, 2016

quiz questions are well explained so much that I could follow easily! Good examples for learning!

By Juan P H V

Sep 22, 2020

Excelente curso de Bioinformática, un recurso muy ideal para el estudio genético de organismos

By Edgar A D P

Aug 22, 2020

Complete and thoroughly explained. Recommended for those who seek to work with plant genomics.

By Kiara M F L

Oct 22, 2020

Muy buen curso, cualquier duda que tengas puedes revisar el foro y el profesor la contestará.

By Celine A

Sep 19, 2020

Well structured, detailed and easy to follow course. The quizzes match the notions explained.

By Alexa M

Jan 9, 2016

It was an excellent course! Very well explained and paced. Thank you, very much, Dr. Provart.

By Michael E L

Jul 28, 2017

Fantastic first intro course into Bioinformatics and greatly look forward to the second one.

By André N A G

Jul 2, 2017

Thats a amazing course and I pretend to play and study again the videos. Congrats and thanks

By Ivan P B T

Nov 4, 2020

Definitely a very good Bioinformatics course! Looking forward for Bioinformatic Methods II

By Swaroop S

Aug 22, 2015

The step where traditional biology end, bioinformatics starts...There is no doubt in that.

By Cèlia A S

Feb 1, 2020

Very good introduction to Bioinformatics. Applied and perfectly explained. THANK YOU :)

By osama k

Sep 11, 2017

a perfect course given by a perfect professor, thanks prof. Provart and thanks Coursera

By Elif K

Nov 23, 2015

It is really useful and informative course to learn the basis of bioinformatic methods.

By Maristela P P

Nov 8, 2015

I like the classes!

It was hard but it worth all your effort.

See you on the next class!