Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatic Methods I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods I by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,437 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2021....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 11, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED
Apr 26, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 327 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods I

By Roman P

Nov 4, 2018

bioinformatics guide for practical work, great observation of last common use programs and clear explanation of methods

By Gulnaz D

Sep 1, 2020

Thank you very much for this course! This course was extremely interesting !

I enriched my knowledge in Bioinformatics.

By omar w

Aug 17, 2019

this course's lab is really amazing the only thing id recommend is to increase the number of questions in weekly tests

By Suhas G

Nov 6, 2016

A very well structured course with graded difficulty and accurate instructions. Throughly enjoyed being a part of it.

By Cristi V

Mar 14, 2016

Great and indepth introduction for those interested in learning bioinformatics. Next stop: Bioinformatic Methods II

By Ivana R

Jun 21, 2017

All lectures are well explained and in proper construction. Lab discussions help to internalize the material well.

By Atakan z N

Dec 15, 2020

I learned how to analyze by using bioinformatics data with taxonomy. My perspective has changed with new programs

By Anna A

Aug 24, 2020

Instructions for the assignments are very straightforward, which helped a lot to build my skill step by step.

By Roman S

Jan 8, 2017

It was a relevant course teaching basic bioinformatics. the course was well-structured and not hard-to follow

By Shreya P

Sep 30, 2020

Very well explained all the topics..

Plus it is great to attend those quiz after completing one week cource.

By Negar P

Sep 14, 2015

It is very useful and helpful. Thank you very much Coursera and special thanks to dear Dr. Nicholas Provart.

By Md. M R B

Aug 14, 2020

If you have a keen interest in Bioinformatics then this course is for you and trust me this course is best.

By Waseem A A

May 2, 2020

Vey well-designed, very informative, and interesting. One of the best online courses about Bioinformatics.

By Roberto I L C

Aug 17, 2019

Amazing and well explained course...Lot of themes and information, some easy/difficult quizzes questions.

By Muhammad Z M

Jun 29, 2018

thanku so much for this course really the mentor nicholas is a great teacher and i have enjoy the course.

By Muhammad F N

Jul 6, 2020

I m a bioinformatician, this course helped me acquire better skills and understanding of bioinformatics.

By G. P

Jun 20, 2017

I can understand each and everything clearly, really a good course for basic learners in Bioinformatics.

By Aswini P V

Aug 4, 2020

Thanks for this Cousera. Kindly , offer some more free course , in order to feed poor classed student.

By Mesut O

Oct 27, 2018

Assessments were stressful. I felt that I've learned the some fundamentals of Computational Biology

By Mim A

Jan 19, 2016

It was very well taught, I very much enjoyed taking this course and I appreciate producers efforts.

By Cindy

Oct 8, 2015

Set such a solid foundation for beginners to start their research career using bioinformatic tools!

By Nairomberg C P J

Aug 19, 2020

Amazing way to learn about the basic tools on bioinformatics analysis of sequences. Best regards!

By Premanand

Dec 22, 2017

Very useful beginner course for Biologists who want to use Bioinformatics tools in their research

By yihua w

Apr 6, 2016

quiz questions are well explained so much that I could follow easily! Good examples for learning!

By Juan P H V

Sep 22, 2020

Excelente curso de Bioinformática, un recurso muy ideal para el estudio genético de organismos