Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatic Methods I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods I by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,390 ratings
325 reviews

About the Course

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2021....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 11, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED
Apr 26, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 318 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods I

By Pedro M

Sep 26, 2017

Great course

By Edgar J H M

Mar 24, 2021

Excelente!!

By Juliana B d C

Sep 20, 2020

otimo curso

By Rabbi h

May 18, 2020

good course

By Akanksha d

Jan 31, 2017

very useful

By José P C I

Aug 30, 2015

Excellent.

By Daniel F V G

Feb 1, 2021

Excellent

By DIPALI P V

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent

By NEHA S

Jun 12, 2020

Thank you

By chengkaizhu

Jul 28, 2017

excellent

By Hosain A

Sep 30, 2016

thank you

By Reem A

Oct 6, 2015

I like it

By Pedro

Sep 23, 2020

MUY BIEN

By Jarel E M T

Oct 26, 2016

Awesome!

By Luis P R

Jan 12, 2018

Great!!

By PRAKASH R

Nov 27, 2020

super

By Shayan s

May 7, 2019

great

By MAHAMADOU A N

Jul 15, 2017

Nice!

By Bollavaram P R

Nov 21, 2020

good

By KADIM S S M

May 16, 2020

good

By Khaled A M D B

Jan 13, 2020

THAN

By Peter N

May 8, 2020

The very last assignment wouldn't work for me, for the final question. Total bummer. I was doing everything according to instructions and even checking but it wouldn't work. Don't feel like explaining but the conversion to mega just was faulty, and the instructor's instructions to fix the problem didn't help either.

Also, one of the questions in the final assignment was nowhere in the reading.

But overall a nice intro and not too difficult.

By Aniruddha V

Nov 1, 2016

A short and sweet, to-the-point course. This course helped me in getting a hang of some of the most widely used softwares and techniques required for bioinformatics. Only issue-some of the questions in certain quizzes have been assigned wrong choices as the answer, which led to a lot of confusion. They just wouldnt accept the right answer, so you are forced to mark the wrong ones and proceed.

By Sourav P

Jul 11, 2017

It Was A Very Interesting Course For My First Introduction To Bioinformatics. It Changed My Views That Biological Discoveries Only Involves Working In A Laboratory With Chemicals And Biological Samples.

It Felt Really Interesting That Even In Biology We Can Use Computer Software's To Generate Results Which Are Of Immense Importance To Scientists & Researchers.

By Daniel O

Jul 24, 2017

A nice introduction to bioinformatic methods. I learned some useful skills from this course that I'll be able to implement in my future research. I would recommend that people who take the course do some reading outside of the course material as sometimes the lectures skim over things with an expectation that you know it all.