Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatic Methods I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods I by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,256 ratings
294 reviews

About the Course

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 288 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods I

By Patrick O

Nov 29, 2017

Great course for learning about current analysis methods and wonderful way to discover the amount of information you can extract from a DNA or protein sequence. Good explaining and summarizing of important bioinformatic content for begginers

By Maria C C

Jul 09, 2017

I enjoy this course, it will be very helpfull for my academic project and give new ideas of studies. I have some difficulties to follow the steps in the few labs exercises, but it does not comprimise the whole course.

By Prashanta A

Jul 24, 2020

There should be a lab review after each lab.If the 'Selection Pressure' segment was a bit more simple, it would be easier to understand. Discussion on other databases like TAIR,,FlyBase etc should be included.

By Nour S

Oct 03, 2015

A thorough course for beginners with very interesting labs! I was pleasantly surprised with how much and how easily I learned bioinformatics skills with this course. Well done!

By DANG T

May 01, 2020

This is a great course, It helps me know more knowledge.

But it is very difficult to understand. To need the method to help students easily.

Thanks will run so much ..

By Anne-Karina P

Oct 13, 2015

There was a lot of stuff I could immediately use for my work. some of the other stuff was good to know to better understand what can be done behind the scene.

By Thomas B

Oct 10, 2016

Very good starting point or restarting point for working with sequence data as a compuational biologist. Very clear course with good lab sessions.

By Carlos P L

Aug 01, 2018

Creo que es un curso interesante para introducirse y empezar a ver lo que es la bioinformática y la utilidad práctica que puede llegar a tener

By Huseyn G

Jun 20, 2017

The course teaches to work with nice public databases and tools. The teaching can definitely get better adding more examples to the lecture.

By Apurva A M

Sep 19, 2017

It is a good beginners' course, but I think you must provide some reading materials for experimental techniques discussed during lectures.

By Corrin M

Jun 18, 2020

The lab format was sometimes a little hard to follow, but overall I think this was a very informative course and I enjoyed it.

By Rui W

Sep 21, 2018

Highly simplified introduction of bioinformatic methods which is easy to understand even for beginners.

By Roberto P

Apr 20, 2017

Very nice, I would have liked to go deeper in NGS and RNA seq but is good as starter, I recommend it!

By Guangyuan L

Jul 24, 2019

an introductory course, but if you wanna delve into detail, you need to spend way more time on it

By Katherine B

Oct 16, 2017

Was a great course for beginners and those wanting a refresher on bioinformatic concepts.

By Rohit C

Jun 04, 2020

Good course for anyone looking to get an in depth understanding of bioinformatics tools!

By Carlos M G V

Mar 01, 2017

Nice course, useful to know the most common tools used to do Bioinformatics

By Javier M C

Sep 05, 2016

A very interesting course and a great starting point towards bioinformatics

By PEEYUSH Y

Apr 08, 2017

It is a very nice course for beginners. I learnt a lot from it. Thank you!

By PINKIE C

Jun 14, 2020

More practical videos should be added.. For attending lab questions

By Yu Y

Apr 22, 2017

The teacher is boring but he conveys all information clearly.

By Azadeh M

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent material and explained well by the professor!

By Willan M

Apr 03, 2016

Muy bueno para aprender las bases de la bioinformatica

By Nicolas S

Aug 31, 2015

As a biochemist, it is a nice refresher for me !

By SANKALAN D

May 04, 2020

Great Course for learning basic Bioinformatics.