Chevron Left
Back to Bioinformatic Methods I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bioinformatic Methods I by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
1,252 ratings
290 reviews

About the Course

Large-scale biology projects such as the sequencing of the human genome and gene expression surveys using RNA-seq, microarrays and other technologies have created a wealth of data for biologists. However, the challenge facing scientists is analyzing and even accessing these data to extract useful information pertaining to the system being studied. This course focuses on employing existing bioinformatic resources – mainly web-based programs and databases – to access the wealth of data to answer questions relevant to the average biologist, and is highly hands-on. Topics covered include multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, gene expression data analysis, and protein interaction networks, in two separate parts. The first part, Bioinformatic Methods I (this one), deals with databases, Blast, multiple sequence alignments, phylogenetics, selection analysis and metagenomics. The second part, Bioinformatic Methods II, covers motif searching, protein-protein interactions, structural bioinformatics, gene expression data analysis, and cis-element predictions. This pair of courses is useful to any student considering graduate school in the biological sciences, as well as students considering molecular medicine. Both provide an overview of the many different bioinformatic tools that are out there. These courses are based on one taught at the University of Toronto to upper-level undergraduates who have some understanding of basic molecular biology. If you're not familiar with this, something like https://learn.saylor.org/course/bio101 might be helpful. No programming is required for this course. Bioinformatic Methods I is regularly updated, and was completely updated for January 2020....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 12, 2020

This course is very well organized, easy to understand, and explained everything steps by step which will help to grasp the concept easily. If you are a beginner like me, you should take this course.

ED

Apr 27, 2017

Great course. All lectures provide a biological context for the tools you learn in the labs. The labs themselves provide a great introduction to the many tools available for bioinformatic analysis.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 285 Reviews for Bioinformatic Methods I

By Manal A

Jun 22, 2020

A very informative course and it was fun going through all the softwares. I got to learn many basic skills of bioinformatics in a simple way.

By Ji-Young K

Oct 03, 2016

Awesome course. The lectures are good and the lab portion is great. The lab really helps understanding how to use online tools and resources.

By SHARON K

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. I have lot of experiments that now I can use it in my research. Very simply explained and interesting labs.

By Lerry D P S

May 25, 2020

It is awesome! I got a new knowledge in bioinformatic. I recommended this course for everyone just for to know the basic. Just explore it.

By Sara L O

Jul 06, 2020

I truly recommend this course because in the labs you can practice all the theory you have learn and I really like the methodology .

By Nicholas Y

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent course to explore the basics and fundamentals for multiple bioinformatics data type analysis. Great job still updating it.

By Gonzalo V M

Oct 26, 2019

El curso me parecio bastante bueno, se entendió la mayoría de los conceptos, es un buen curso para introducirse en la bioinformatica

By D S

Jan 13, 2016

Good campaign for abolishing illiteracy.

It would be good to update answers for the final quiz (BLAST search and phylogenetic assay).

By Mohamed A E S S

Apr 04, 2019

It is a very great course that help me to learn more about that field of science and i hope to continue with more advanced levels

By Shamsunnahar M

Sep 17, 2019

I had a very basic knowledge but this course help me to understand the use of all parameters and what is the objective for this.

By Sael M A

Dec 05, 2017

Great course fro beginners, highly recommended for people who are going to have some bioinformatic aspects in their projects.

By Wambui K

Nov 14, 2018

The course was excellent. The labs give a practical feel of what Bioinformatics is. Great work. Looking forward to Part II.

By Roman P

Nov 04, 2018

bioinformatics guide for practical work, great observation of last common use programs and clear explanation of methods

By Januzakova G T

Sep 01, 2020

Thank you very much for this course! This course was extremely interesting !

I enriched my knowledge in Bioinformatics.

By omar w

Aug 17, 2019

this course's lab is really amazing the only thing id recommend is to increase the number of questions in weekly tests

By Suhas G

Nov 06, 2016

A very well structured course with graded difficulty and accurate instructions. Throughly enjoyed being a part of it.

By Cristian V Z

Mar 14, 2016

Great and indepth introduction for those interested in learning bioinformatics. Next stop: Bioinformatic Methods II

By Ivana R

Jun 21, 2017

All lectures are well explained and in proper construction. Lab discussions help to internalize the material well.

By Anna T

Aug 24, 2020

Instructions for the assignments are very straightforward, which helped a lot to build my skill step by step.

By Roman S

Jan 08, 2017

It was a relevant course teaching basic bioinformatics. the course was well-structured and not hard-to follow

By Shreya P

Sep 30, 2020

Very well explained all the topics..

Plus it is great to attend those quiz after completing one week cource.

By Negar P

Sep 14, 2015

It is very useful and helpful. Thank you very much Coursera and special thanks to dear Dr. Nicholas Provart.

By Md. M R B

Aug 14, 2020

If you have a keen interest in Bioinformatics then this course is for you and trust me this course is best.

By Waseem A A

May 02, 2020

Vey well-designed, very informative, and interesting. One of the best online courses about Bioinformatics.

By Roberto I L C

Aug 18, 2019

Amazing and well explained course...Lot of themes and information, some easy/difficult quizzes questions.